We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The WORST” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The WORST”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Beyond disappointing. Run-down, dirty, rooms are small, "breakfast" was marginal .....plain bagels, pre-packaged danish and muffins and individual packaged servings of fruit cocktail. Yuck. The staff is friendly and nice, but that is the best thing about this place...besides the shuttle to Mt Snow, which is convenient. The beds have BROKEN box-springs and sleeping there is like sleeping in a bowl. They knew about the poor condition of the bedding in our room a month earlier, according to the very sweet guy at the desk, but never did ANYTHING about it, except rent the room for 30 more days. It is probably still not fixed. Go to Stratton.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MominCT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    34
    63
    29
    30
See reviews for
60
32
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Dover
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Snow Lake Lodge has made many improvements over the last year and has put in all new furniture, bedding, bathrooms, carpeting and paint. They have also improved the public areas as well.. Yes this is an older property but I have found it to be clean and have an excellent staff at their front desk.

Room Tip: They have some excellent larger rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermonttours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Check in was easy they had lift tickets and keys available within moments of saying our name. We got our deal through Travel Zoo and it worked out perfectly. Our only gripes are walls are paper thin and the beds and pillows could use an update. Rooms are extremely small but since you are at the mountain all day this wasn't a real concern for us. The breakfast was great as was the location to the mountain. We would def. stay here again for an overnight or two but not more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Pretty good deal for overall package. Stayed during late February from Sunday - Wednesday w/ 3 day lift tickets for 2 people & total came out to $530. Lift tickets if purchased alone are $75-85 a day!

Friendly & accommodating staff. Parking right outside lodge. Mt. Snow only a 5 min drive or use the moover shuttle. You also get free vouchers to leave your skis/snowboards overnite at the mountain so make sure you get them at the hotel 1st so you don't have to lug your gear back.

Pick the room w/ mountain views. Rooms are pretty basic & some are on the older side & can use some renovating. I booked a room w/ a mountain view & wound up in a room w/o a view. Bed was also lop-sided...staff was able to put us into a preferred room but what if it was full???

Breakfast was basic: bagels, english muffin, OJ, cereal, muffins, bread, great coffee tho - green mountain roasters.

Close to restaurants nearby. Recommend the Last Chair

Overall decent value. Nothing fancy.

Room Tip: Mountain view, away from the elevator, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fliter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Extremely disappointing hotel. Run-down, dirty, rooms are extremely small, bugs/insects in the rooms. Breakfast was digusting.....pre-pack cereal, stale bagels and packaged fruit. These folks had the nerve to charge $170 per night for this wonderful experience. Staff is friendly and nice, but that is the best thing I can say about this place.....of, I forgot the shuttle to Mt Snow is also convenient. This place need to be taken down and fully rebuilt if it has any chance to give Mt Snow a chance to compete with Stratton and Okemo. Go to those place instead for a better overall experience. West Dover has no character and very limited restaurant choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is an economy hotel with small rooms, dated finishes and noisy hallways. But its worth it for the great view of the ski mountain from the outdoor jacuzzi and especially looking out from the room in the morning. Anyway, after a hard day of skiing I can sleep through almost anything.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ilkkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Myself and two friends stayed here for mount snow's college week. We found a deal from snosearch.com for $300 a person for 5 lift tickets and 5 nights. For being a cheap old lodge near a ski resort, we were pleasantly surprised with what we found. We needed a refrigerator for someone with dietary issues in our group, but the double we booked didn't have one. They gave us a free upgrade to a very nice suite with a King bedroom and pullout sofa. Joel and George at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The pullout bed sheets were not made, and they came up to change the them right away. The indoor hot hub is huge, and the sauna is clean but there are large windows from the bar, and the patrons are sometimes inclined to stare at the bathers in a creepy fashion. The outdoor hot tub is a great place to relax and look at the mountain after a day on the slopes. The maids were very through and pleasant. They even folded clothes laying around. The double bed rooms were rather small. Pretty decent continental breakfast. The Moover shuttle stops at SLL and can take you to the mountain and surrounding areas. Bottom line: Great staff and service make up for it being a kind of antiquated hotel.
PS- If you are traveling as a family with kids or really mind noise, don't go during college ski week. It will be loud.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AL13210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
10.4 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#10 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Property: Snow Lake Lodge
Address: 7 Snow Lake Road, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Snow Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Dover
Mount Snow Snow Lake Lodge Hotel
Snow Lake West Dover
Snow Lake Lodge Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing