We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location with basic necessities”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dover
New Milford, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Location with basic necessities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

This place was about what I expected. It had a great location, a convenient shuttle service to Mount Snow, a bar/pub restaurant, a so so continental breakfast, and was showing signs of age. They advertise that they have renovated their rooms. We booked 4 rooms, only 1 was renovated (room 200). Our mattress had seen better days. Was I disappointed- no. Again, for the price I paid, it was what I expected and met all of our basic needs. Would I stay here again?
Yep. The room, although in need of updating, was clean.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flarasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts about Snow Lake Lodge. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your stay at Snow Lake Lodge, with one exception - the mattress. We are hoping to replace all the mattresses in the near future. All 92 rooms were renovated in 2010 (new flooring, bathroom fixtures/tile and more). The mattresses were not replaced in 2010. We hope that you will visit Mount Snow and Snow Lake Lodge again. Many guests return for the reasonable prices, base area location and great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    34
    64
    29
    30
See reviews for
60
33
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Pros: Inexpensive, very close to Mt Snow, 5 minute ride on free shuttle bus, good continental breakfast included with good coffee (per my coffee dringking spouse), wonderful friendly staff, small indoor and outdoor hot tub, outdoor pool (summer only), on site bar with fireplace and pool table, clean room bathrooms, warm rooms with baseboard heating.

Cons: Hotel built in 1962 & looks like never rennovated since. Exposed heating pipes in hallways and bedrooms. Dormatory feel to rooms, with drab stained carpets, tired furnishings, creaky floors, thin walls that allowed you to hear conversations in adjacent rooms and hallways. Wierd room layout requiring a right angle turn immediately after entering room door. Small short beds (NOT queens) with sagging mattresses and clean but old sheets and beadspreads. Tube style TV. Room had desk but no chair.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneerdonna, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Of the 'cons' that you listed, most cannot be addressed without completely rebuilding the hotel. Snow Lake Lodge was built in 1962. It was most recently renovated in 2010. There are some exposed heating pipes in hallways and bedrooms. The rooms are small, and most have 2 full size beds, not queens. In many cases, there is no room for a desk. Unfortunately we cannot change the thickness of the walls or angles of the room entry. I will pass your comments about the stained carpets to our management and housekeeping staff, as that can certainly be addressed. We hope the friendliness of the staff, good continental breakfast, reasonable pricing and short shuttle ride to the lifts will make you a return guest of Snow Lake Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

The resort is located on a lake at the base of Mount Snow ski area. It is about a 3 or 4 minute drive to the base of the mountain and the Grand Summit Lodge

The Snow Lake Lodge is old – I’m not sure when built, but definitely could use an overhaul. You have to trek up two flights of stairs to get to the lobby. Lobby is large, and a bit outdated.
There is a restaurant / bar off the lobby – I never saw more than 4 or 5 people in it. Not overly inviting.

Room – Could barely get through the door to the room and into the room due to the way it was constructed. There were two beds in the room. Decor was a couple of decades out of date. One straight back chair in the room, no desk. TV was in about a 21 inch tube style.
Bed was fairly comfortable – surprisingly so. The bedspread, sheets and blanket were lower quality.

Heat was a baseboard along the wall. Wall AC unit. Phone – good old push button phone – again, at least 15 or 20 years old. Made me think of when I was a kid before electronics.
Bathroom – it was clean. Sink was a small cabinet with very little counter space. Tub was clean & the shower worked well.

Breakfast is served in a large room on the ground level. Not much to rave about. Bunch of round tables, some with table cloths, some without. The food left a lot to be desired there was Coffee, juice, small Danish, muffins, bread, bagels & english muffins with a toaster. Some cereal & that was about it. Good thing about it – the coffee was good and it was free.
There is wifi in the common areas & some rooms. My room wifi was great. I was able to video chat with my family while there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneerdonna, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Snow Lake Lodge was built in 1962. It has had many upgrades in the past few years including new carpeting, bathroom fixtures and flooring as recently as Fall 2010. Walt's Pub was actually completely re-done just a year ago. WiFi was added years ago, but you are correct that the rooms do not have flat screen TVs. Snow Lake Lodge has many loyal fans who return again and again, for the history, nostalgic charm and low prices. I hope you will return to Mount Snow again. Perhaps you would like to try the Grand Summit Hotel which is a much newer, full service hotel at the foot of the lifts and trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had a disappointing stay here. We wanted the proximity to the mountain, but didn't want to spend the $500/night at the grand summit hotel over MLK weekend. The proximity was awesome, with the shuttle and the ski check. The staff was very nice and responsive (the reason for the 2 rating and not 1). The facilities were so old - the bed felt like it was around since the 70s with no springs left and the walls were paper thin that we heard each hallway conversation in detail (and we were by the elevator so we heard many). it was disappointing not be able to get a good night's sleep...which is all we really expected from the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyluxurytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneerdonna, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about the Snow Lake Lodge. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay. Snow Lake Lodge has many loyal fans who come back over and over again. Staying at an older, more basic ski lodge is not for everyone. If you plan to return to Mount Snow, which we hope you will, but you do not want to stay at the Snow Lake Lodge and the Grand Summit Hotel is out of your price range, please try one of our base area or slopeside condominiums or one of the many area inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I have been going to Mt. Snow for years and decided to stay at the Snow Lake Lodge for New Years weekend because of its proximity to the Snow Barn and the mountain. I stayed there once before a few years ago and remember it being pretty average. Unfortunately, not much has changed since. We got a deal for the room/lift tickets through the Mt. Snow website so I can't complain about the price or the location. There's a shuttle that picks you up from the hotel and drops you off/picks you up right at the mountain which is extremely convenient. They also have a pretty decent breakfast for the price (coffee, tea, bagels, toast, cereal, oatmeal). I noticed that the photo for the hotel shows a very nice looking bar but don't expect that exact bar at Walt's Pub - the one in the pic is where the breakfast area is and it's not being used for anything. We didn't go to the hotel pub but it was dead when we walked by there at night.

The hotel itself is really old and dingy. You use a massive key to open the door and there is no other lock besides the main one. The carpets are stained, the rooms are TINY (with super low ceilings - I'm 5'2 and could basically touch it) and the tvs are from the 70s/80s. The bathrooms must have been renovated somewhat recently but the showers ran out of hot water relatively quickly if you shower before dinner. Very thin walls, paper thin and gross bed covers, itchy towels - you are definitely NOT paying for the amenities here. The staff at the front desk weren't very friendly. The guy who checked us in complained that he hadn't been able to go snowboarding all week even though it had snowed and it was a holiday weekend. I feel for you, dude, but I don't need to feel guilty that you are working if I'm paying to stay at your hotel.

I'm really torn about giving the hotel a 2 vs.3 rating. For the amount of time we spent in the room, it's really a good deal for the location and price. But, how hard would it be to spruce up the linens and clean the carpet once in awhile? I would probably come back here but definitely would not be too excited about the hotel part of my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneerdonna, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Snow Lake Lodge. The hotel is a basic ski lodge at the base of Mount Snow with a shuttle to the lifts - but it is not for everyone. It was built in 1962 and has undergone many upgrades over the years, including new carpet, wall coverings, bathroom fixtures and flooring in the fall of 2010. That said, it is still a 50 year old ski lodge. The houskeeping staff is very dedicated to keeping the property as clean as possible. I will pass your comments along to them and to the hotel manager. You are absolutely correct about the front desk personnel - they should not be talking to guests about not being able to go snowboarding. They are there to do everything possible to make our guests comfortable so they enjoy their stay. We hope to see you back at Mount Snow again, whether at Snow Lake Lodge or another property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Used to stay here 20 years ago with ski group. Maybe my memories have faded but I seem to remember it being much better. Rooms very small - beds are really large singles - not queen size. Outdated and TV does not work very well. Looks like new motel like bathrooms were recently put in. Plenty of hot water. Walls, floor very thin - due to old wood construction. Indoor and outdoor hot tubs but not enough for number of people in the hotel in the ski season. Come early or late. Restaurant in basement - pretty depressing. Large groups mostly - buffet style. Food OK in the evening. Breakfast - seemed to be two types going on with a staff member policing. Groups who had paid for it got hot breakfast - eggs, bacon and potatoes - then there was also the bread, muffins. Those not with a group only got the bread it looked like. It was OK breakfast but not great. Coffee good however. Elevators extremely slow so a lot of walking up and down stairs. staff friendly however. Overall, it was OK for a weekend with a group, but would not chose it for myself.

Room Tip: Maybe top floor - no overhead noise. But then you have those stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyork025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneerdonna, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Snow Lake Lodge. I will share your compliment about the friendly staff with the manager. The continental breakfast included in the winter rates at Snow Lake Lodge consists of muffins/danish/toast, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffe/tea. If there is a large group in the hotel, it is possible that they arranged for a hot breakfast. Snow Lake Lodge is our basic, economy accommodations at Mount Snow and it is an older ski lodge; however it did receive a face lift 2 years ago including updating the bathroom fixtures and flooring. The majority of the rooms have 2 full size beds (double beds); we do not promote them as queen beds. I will pass the concerns about the elevator onto the managment and maintenance personnel; perhaps they can address slowness issues you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Just spent MLK weekend and everything was wonderful. The rooms were small but the beds comfortable & clean. the breakfast buffet was excellent. boiled eggs, bagels, cereal, coffee tea. oj... the staff were helpful AND the location was excellent. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneerdonna, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you very much for posting your thoughts about the Snow Lake Lodge. I will pass them on to the staff of the hotel. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
10.4 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#8 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Property: Snow Lake Lodge
Address: 7 Snow Lake Road, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Snow Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Dover
Mount Snow Snow Lake Lodge Hotel
Snow Lake West Dover
Snow Lake Lodge Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing