We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place, but if you're a "clean freak", might not be the place for you.”
Review of Mountaineer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly place, but if you're a "clean freak", might not be the place for you.”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My husband and I stayed here recently on a ski weekend. The location is great - within walking distance from Mount Snow & the Snow Barn. The owners were excellent hosts. They made a point of meeting everyone and asking if there was anything anyone needed. There is a common area with a TV and a cozy common area with a fireplace and comfortable seating. It sets the stage for a wonderful time meeting other guests, which we really enjoyed. There aren't TVs in most of the rooms, (not a problem for us). The cons were the general cleanliness and not so comfortable beds. Some of it may be due to "end of season", but the place could use a good scrub.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tilldeathdousski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Pros:
-Great common areas, the food was good (though we only had breakfast as dinner was not being served the weekend we were there).
-Great location, walking distance of Carinthia and the Snow Barn.
-Super friendly Innkeeper, very laid back atmosphere.
-BYOB
-Good water pressure in the shower.
-Friendly staff
-Free WiFi

Cons:
-Extremely uncomfortable beds! Very hard, old bedding.
-Tiny rooms
-We could hear the conversations of people across the hall and next door. Paper thin walls...
-The lights on the outside of the Inn were so bright, and our curtains so thin, that it was like day time at night :(
-Again, old bedding. Honestly, our room made me feel like we were at camp. Not what you want after a day on the mountain...
-Overly hot! We had to keep the window open. Very hot and dry.
-The dining room staff dressed in sweats and enormous t-shirts. This looked unprofessional and like they had just rolled out of bed. Not appealing.
-The WiFi kept slowing down, stopping our Netflix movie we were watching online. Annoying when there are no tvs in the rooms and you just want to chill and watch a movie before heading out.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3tails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

NORTH CENTRAL PA
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Service was very good. The Inn Keepers were very pleasant and made time for conversation as I recalled my last stay's here in the 1960's. Updates to the facility since then are appropriate, yet the charm of the Inn and the large common area remains intact. The breakfast was very good and hearty not dainty. The owners, the food and the great common area that draws people together are why I like this place.
The room was clean, simple and basic, not at all fancy. That worked for me and I'm sure contributed to the competetive pricing. We will return. Might even bring some family.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROADSTERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The ambience of this old lodge added to a wonderful ski week at Mt. Snow. Having skied for over 30 years, we were taken back to the ski lodge of earlier times.
On either side of the lobby were three levels. On one end were the corridors leading to the plain, cozy rooms - no phones, TVs, hairdriers. On the other end, the lower level had a room with a pool table, an old upright piano, guest fridge and microwave and a large bar area with fireplace. The middle level was the dining room that overlooked the back lawn, covered with snow, and the large hot-tub. The top level was a living area, another fireplace, and a grand piano that the owner played every evening before dinner. The week we were there he focused on early Broadway composers.
Three meals were included in our program, a large breakfast to order, lunch brought to the mountain, and wonderful dinners - our choice of two entrees made at the morning breakfast. The food was excellent and the staff of young international students was so pleasant.
We enjoyed the week, the skiing, the lodge, staff and the meals.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayhawkjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We stayed at the Mountaineer for 5 days with a ski group. We actually took over the entire inn. If you want a Vermont country inn experience, this is the place to go. If you like upscale hotels with a lot of amenities, this is not for you. The rooms are very small and there is no TV, hairdryer, or alarm clock. However, since we were skiing we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Internet service was very unpredictable. On the plus side, the Inn provided a hearty breakfast and dinner. We were given choices at both meals, and each day a vegetarian dish was an option. The common areas were very nice with two fireplaces, two pianos, a pool table, hot tub, sauna and large screen TV. The innkeepers, Ned and Royal were very friendly and accommodating. The staff was also very courteous. I think the fact that we were with a group made this a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySunshineMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Well, besides the mice in the common area of the Inn(where the TV is), the paper-thin walls(everyone can hear everyone else), and the fact our room never got cleaned from Friday to Sunday, I guess it was okay. The breakfasts were very good and both staff members we had contact with were very polite and friendly. Great location for those who went to the Oktoberfest at the base of Mount Snow and I'd imagine for skiers in the Winter, but we wouldn't stay here again. The room was spartan with NO amenities whatsoever except a bed and lights. If room security is a concern for you, don't stay here as the room locks are very flimsy.

Think this will be our one and only trip to Vermont.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit2Actual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2007

Overall, we had a great time here. Upon arrival our kids were a little put off by the agedness of the room and its lack of a TV, but that was all the more reason to love it! In the end, our kids ages 9-13 loved it here. They met new friends playing pool and watching the community TV. We moms loved it for its 14 person outdoor hot tub, delicious hot breakfasts, candlelit dinners, fireplaces and the Moover bus to the mountain. Very convenient, friendly, quiet and enjoyable. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out and find a place of their own to enjoy a book, a game or some TV.

  • Liked — Breakfast, Family-friendliness, Relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Heat too high. Only way to control was by opening the window in zero degree weather.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpeDiem0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
126 reviews
2.6 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
162 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#8 of 12 in Dover
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Property: Mountaineer Inn
Address: 270 Handle Rd, Dover, VT 05356-9730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountaineer has all the trappings of an authentic ski lodge with friendly, attentive service, delicious meals and an excellent location. Walk to Mount Snow's lifts, trails, events and Snow Barn or take the MOOver door-to-slopes (winter & Tough Mudder). 25 charming, uniquely decorated guestrooms each with private bath, await your arrival. Included with your stay is a hearty Vermont country breakfast. Delicious 4-course dinners are optional and we accommodate children and special diets. The fireplaced BYOB bar has a pool table and large-screen TV; enjoy a soothing sauna, or spend quiet time in the library. A 14-person outdoor hot tub provides a relaxing massage. Our large living room with its immense fireplace is a cozy place to gather to re-live the thrills and spills of a day on the slopes, links or trails. Welcome reception for all guests. All rooms have a 42" HDTV. Summertime finds guests enjoying our 64' heated lap pool surrounded by lovely gardens and gazebo. Lift & Lodging, Golf Getaway and Knitting Retreat packages available. Groups and reunions welcome; kids 2-12 free except winter weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Dover
Mountaineer Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing