We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would give them 4 stars if it was properly heated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I visited the Inn in a Livingsocial weekend ski escape to Mount Snow with some friends. The offer was pretty cheap so we were not expecting much. There's a BYOB policy and they don't make any fuss.

The good:
we were pleasantly surprised, the inn is very beautiful, with nice grounds, a couple common areas to chill out and 2 hot tubs. The room was nice and very clean, with trunk beds that looked pretty new and a wonderful bathroom with a jacuzzi and great water pressure. The included breakfast was also good (eggs, bacon, croissants, pancakes)

The not-so-great:
the included buffet dinner and lunch were not very good. The a la carte dinner was slow (one of the tables waited for an hour and a half) and pretty bad. There's a dog, she didn't bother me, she is very nice, clean and sweet but some people didn't like her wandering around the dining area and asking for food.

The unforgivable:
All the above would have been OK, because the inn is clean and beautiful and they really let you hang around freely and are quite nice, but when it's well below freezing outside, you need a warm place to come back to. This was not the case. The first night none of us could sleep because it was too cold in the room. Next day, we told the owner, who came to our room (which was very cold) and said that the thermostat was set @ 68ºF and we couldn't change it. He said some stuff about we paying a price that didn't let him heat up the place, because he would loose money or something. He also said that we had all the available blankets and he couldn't give us any extra.
Well, you just can't go to a ski lodge were you need to sleep in you ski clothes and keep you Winter coat on while you have dinner.
It's a real pity because all the rest was great, just this one CRUCIAL detail spoiled the weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed here while visiting Mount Snow which is only a couple minutes away. It was a very enjoyable and cozy place! The rooms were just what I expected. Not very big, but comfortable and clean. I'm sure there are many different sized rooms in the place but since I went on a Living Social deal we all had preset room assignments. The innkeepers Sandy and Kevin are very friendly and know a lot about the area and skiing/snowboarding. The food was good too! Would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justmythoughts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the Four Seasons Inn on a living social deal this past weekend and it was great. We stayed in king size room which was clean and the bed was comfortable. The innkeeper Sandy was a wealth of knowledge on where to go and what to do and was very generous in accommodating us. The cook Kevin was also very helpful. Great place for a get away to the snow if you like a place with a homely feel, great people and pet friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seeatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Wow, there is nothing not to like about this place. We felt like we were totally at home. Everyone is so nice (Sandy and Kevin) but Mya (the dog) is totally adorable. I have stayed at many places in Vermont, but this place i plan to stay at again in the very near future. I'm from NYC and it feels good to get out of the city from time to time; this place was very cozy and warm you almost don't want to go home. I enjoyed it and I will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Just tell them what your looking for! We were 2 people (not a couple) and we were able to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just got back from a great stay at the Four Seasons Inn in Dover, VT. We had a living social deal so did not pay full price but we felt that we got a solid value for what we paid. The hotel only had four other guests while we stayed and it was not heavily staffed during our stay. However, this added to a homey feel where we felt like we were staying with friends/ relatives as opposed to any old hotel. We arrived late so they left a key for us to let ourselves into our room, no questions asked. In fact, that was the only check in process. We had one of the suites which was very nice and cosy with a balcony, good sized space, fire place, and four poster bed. The only complaint of the room would be the mattress was not very comfortable. However, the space was very clean and well stocked and quiet for our stay. We ate two complimentary breakfasts and one dinner in the Hunt's Club restaurant and all meals were superb. The waitstaff was very friendly, welcomed questions, gave suggestions, and spent time helping us plan our trip. The breakfast and dinner both had great selection and despite not having a large crowd, they had everything in stock. The dining area was both "vermont classy" and felt like your own dining room at the same time. The owner's dog Leila was the sweetest thing and greeted you at every meal but did not beg, bark, or steal to bother the guests. We got great directions and recommendations of activities from the staff and had a great trip to Vermont. At the end, we just left the key with the staff on duty, paid the tax fees, and we were on our way. This is a great place if you want an enjoyable stay in a quality place but prefer a homey, personal touch in the process!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaityK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed here on a Living Social deal. I was really excited that they were dog friendly. The Inn itself is clean and tastefully decorated. Being we had our dog with us we had to upgrade to a suite room - they are the only dog frienly rooms, which was an additional cost. Our suite was very nice and it had a jacuzzi tub which took a while to fill but an added little luxury. They have gas fireplaces in the rooms but were not serviced to be used yet. The room was heated but a little ambiance would have been nice. There is a restaurant on site and I have to say the food was absolutely delicious! The deal we had came with a discount on the meal, otherwise it was priced on a higher end for the area. It still would have been worth it without the coupon as it was one of the best meals I have had. Everything was fresh. They have a BYOB policy and were very accomodating with that. They provide breakfast, which was also delicious, but there were only 3 things to choose from and they were the same both days (eggs, omlet or french toast). They have a kennel on site that could be great but the weekend we were there it was dirty (dried up dog waste on the floors) - it is included in the suite cost, we chose to keep our dog with us in our room at night or in the car during meals. Hopefully this was an isolated incident because it could be really great. There is also a fenced in outdoor run which is large. The only reason we did not use this is it was raining very hard when we got there and it was a little muddy. As others mentioned below they do not have someone sitting at the door when you arrive. Checking in may take a little searching. The place is really very nice and could be improved on in some areas. I definately would have been very dissapointed if I paid the full price for the room. I am sure they have a lot more traffic in the area in the winter during ski season so maybe they have more staff on. All of the staff were very nice, once you found them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalalilyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laylaVermont, Owner at Layla's Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Thank you for your review . We are still a young company really 14 months old . It is always nice to see where we could improve and thank you . We will make note of this and move forward , only to better serve our guests. Regards Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Schuylerville, NY
1.0 star rating
10/9/2012

If you see this as a living social deal, run as fast as you can. We booked a two night stay and when we arrived we were greeted with an unpleasant odor. There was only one person working that evening. He was the front desk clerk, cook and waiter. As it was late when we checked in, we put our bags in the room and decided to have dinner at the inn.

Our room was very plain and it did not even appear that our bed had been made. The room also had an unpleasant odor and was quite cold and other than the dingy bed spread, which we knew we would not sleep with, there was only one very thin blanket. Having a $20 credit for dinner, around 7pm, I opted for the tuna and my husband had the Caesar salad. At $24, the tuna was barely an appetizer portion atop a handful of greens and topped with soy sauce with a faint wasabi flavor, which was quite salty. The owner's dog was roaming the dim dining room putting his mouth on the table of the other guests, all of whom had to also endure the long wait for service from the same guy who was their chef for the night. The one employee was struggling in his attempt to manage the kitchen and living room. When we inquired about the complimentary breakfast, we told the options would be French toast, eggs or omelette. I asked if they had oatmeal as I don't eat eggs and I was told they had oatmeal and they might be able to look in the back for it. After retiring to our room, my husband went down to ask for an addictional blanket. There was no one to be found in the place after 9 pm. The room was so cold it was difficult to sleep, especially when you can hear the dog barking at 3 am.

The next morning for breakfast we were served coffee that looked and tasted like weak tea. Served in a glass mug, you could see through the coffee. Not good. The oatmeal was nothing more than packaged, sweetened instant oatmeal. After leaving in search of real coffee, my husband and I decided to cut our loses and we left to spend the second night of our get away in a hotel in another town.

The thought of spending one more night at the Four Seasons was simply too repulsive. I would also mention that the fresh cut flowers promised in the package were absent from our room. We didn't bother to ask for the promised maple syrup, either. Just not worth it. Worn down, old, weary, drabby, smelly, poorly staffed and operated and just not worth the price of admission.

Run, don't walk from this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laylaVermont, Owner at Layla's Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

I must apologize for your unpleasent stay here . My only question is that you do not show up on any of our manifest or Living Socials manifest. A for booking with us or for purchasing a voucher. As to your completely negitive review it is always helpful to us to know the customer , that makes it a valid review and not one that goes so strongly against the past ones . Once again my apologies to you , Regards Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
18.8 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layla's Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layla's Riverside Lodge

Address: 145 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-9703 (Formerly The Four Seasons Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £190 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Layla's Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Layla's Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layla's Riverside Lodge Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing