We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Weekend!!!”
Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deerhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and I chose the Deerhill Inn after searching for the prefect place to have our destination wedding. Ariane and Scott took wonderful care of us and made the planning process a breeze. They cartered to our needs and made us feel like honored guests from the moment we arrived.The Inn is spacious and cozy,the rooms are large and well appointed. Breakfast was a treat and the restaurant served excellent dinner options in the evening. If you are searching for a place for a destination wedding or just for a weekend getaway this is the place! Can't say thank you enough to the Deerhill Inn owners and staff for taking such good care of us on our special weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovednb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Deerhill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Excited about skiing two more days before saying farewell to this winter, we booked a wine, dine and ski package at the Deerhill Inn. Arriving, we found the festively lit building just a few hundred yards up a hillside above Rt. 100 only a couple of miles south of Mt. Snow. Our room was the Sugar Maple with westward views that captured a fantastic sunset over Haystack Mountain and Mt. Snow. It was also equipped with a gas fired fireplace, a jetted soaking tub and a queen four poster bed. Cookies, mints and bottled water met us on our arrival. There was also cable TV, strong wi-fi, a video disc and music player with CDs.
Each morning the breakfast chef prepared terrific hot meals with fresh fruit and juice. The one dinner we had at the Inn seated by the fire was over-the-top delicious. The menu offered great choices with a very nice wine list. Romance was definitely in the air, as the gentleman at the next table took the opportunity to propose marriage to his companion. Which I found amazing, since earlier in the day at the Inn, I met another young couple checking in for their honeymoon.
Throughout our three night stay, we found innkeepers Scott & Ariane very attentive and caring to every need. We whole heatedly recommend the Deerhill Inn for your sojourn to the VT countryside.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We went to Vermont to see the snow for my wife's birthday. We stayed at the Inn a few nights and found it to be charming, warm and equipped with everything. The restaurant was delicious and designed a special menu for us for a special Birthday dinner. Breakfast was also delicious. Ariel, the Inn keeper was on everything and very informative. We will be back and recommend highly!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My Wife and I recently stayed here for my Birthday in Jan. and this Inn was the Best place to stay. They have thought of everything and we're never put out if we asked for something which was rare. Great Food in the rstaurant also...The Chef Excelenet made all my favorite foods and designed a menu around it for my Birthday Dinner...it was AMAZING!!! Breakfast is also very good. The grounds are beautiful,rooms excellent and very warm..we had a room with a fire Place...so nice. ALL Staff very accomidating and pleasant..Vermont is very laid back and relaxing and romantic. Hotel VERY clean...no complaints..stay here! Sophia the dog is an added Treat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We were lucky enought to stay at the Deerhill Inn for 4 nights over the New Year's Eve weekend. The inn was cozy, warm and inviting. We stayed in the Dahlia Room, which was immaculate and clean. The bed was a little soft for our liking, but everything else in the room was just like home. The bathroom and oversized tub were incredibly clean, and housekeeping straightened our room while we were at breakfast every morning. Breakfast in the dining room (and our room) was just delicious, fresh fruit, muffins with jams, coffees, teas, and a specialty omelette or french toast was just yummy. The main rooms were cozy, with comfortable couches and fireplaces. The little bar was great to just grab a quick soda or glass of wine/cocktail. Adriane and Scott were wonderful inn keepers and truly made us feel at home and welcoming during our stay. It was just a perfect romantic getaway for our first trip together. We cant wait to return again soon!

Room Tip: I would ask which rooms are further from the main living areas to ensure a little more privacy and q...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I had the pleasure to visit the Deer Hill for the first time and found it to be welcoming and quite comfortable. The spacious rooms are delightfully furnished with especially comfortable beds, dressers/desks, and extensive closets. Meals are excellent, especially the dinners, and I hope to return to try out the new creations of the Inn's chef. No chance of going bored, with plenty of activities, including an excellent library, board games, innumerable local outdoor attractions (skiing and hiking being the standouts), and reliable, fast Internet access. Scott and Ariane are so attentive and always available to resolve issues or just ensure a wonderful stay. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConozcoElMundo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a wonderful spot for a singular getaway or group gathering. We chose this Inn to celebrate the birthdays of two of our group who had just turned 70. We were four couples,old friends, looking for a place to share a time together and enjoy good food and good company. Deerhill was not a disappointment in any category. The rooms were tastefully decorated, most with fireplaces, and the menu provided a variety of interesting appetizers,entrees,and deserts. We recommend the price fixe 4 course dinner at $95/couple-a great bargain. Breakfast is included in your room rate. The common areas downstairs and up are extremely comfortable and afford a homey atmosphere in which to gather for drinks,snacks and conversation. Don't miss the cookies. Owners Scott and Ariane made our visit all the more enjoyable. We'd like to visit again when the pool is open and the gardens are in bloom.

Room Tip: Rooms/Suites in the main part of the Inn overlook the garden areas and some have small comfortable d...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo-Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
20.2 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
336 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
267 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
407 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £116 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover
Deerhill Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing