We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deerhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recent visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Deerhill Inn has a special charm, stunning views and excellent food. Our stay was quite delightful. We were made very welcome and had a memorable stay as a result. I would thoroughly recommend a visit for anyone wishing to stay n that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tudor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
236
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I returned to the Inn for a quick 3 night getaway in Sept.2013. Amazingly, It was even better this time! Ariane and Scott welcomed us with open arms . They made us feel right "at home". The food was delicious and the views are spectacular!The Inn itself is cozy and it also has beautiful rooms and landscaping. We can't wait to go back for a visit!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Annex have a beautiful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTG5348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a difficult start to our stay with very inconsiderate and noisy neighbors in the adjacent room. However Ariane and Scott immediately upgraded our room to one with a spectacular view over to the hills. The accommodation and food is excellent and the young chef produced high quality regional food. Breakfasts are spectacular. Scott was particularly knowledgable and helpful about giving us a driving route that enabled us to fully explore the surrounding area. This is what we hoped a New England inn would be like and we recommend it without any reservations.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I have been returning to the Inn a couple of times a year since we got married at the Deerhill Inn in 2011. Our wedding in itself was absolute perfection but that's a whole other story. We so look forward to our weekends here. The breakfasts are my favorite part of the day while my husband drools all day anticipating their divine dinner menu. We have stayed in 5 of their rooms and have loved each one for their unique, comfortable and cozy charm. The Innkeepers we consider our friends and they make us feel so at home. We love everything about the Deerhill Inn and will be visiting for years to come. Absolute Perfection!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a long overdue review in the making and as I am thinking about fall, i am thinking about the Deerhill Inn. While, the inn is open all year round, we stayed here last fall and our experience was a nice kick-off to the season. We stayed in the lovely Delphinum room, included, was a comfy bed, fireplace, and access to a private deck! Some of the highlights of our stay were the delicious meals at the inn, where they have full restaurant service. The breakfasts included were to die for and the dinner was exceptional as it was romantic. The inn also offers special packages like massages, wine + cheese delivered to your room, and much more! Last but not least, the other highlight of our trip, involve the innkeepers Scott and Ariane. Scott and Ariane were the perfect hosts. They were both so friendly, welcoming, knowledgeable, and I liked how they went around to each table whether it be breakfast or dinner to make sure you were having a good time. They were never far from reach, always available, and both have such a nice way about them. Scott and Ariane truly want you to have a good experience and seemed to do anything to make that happen. We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Deerhill Inn and we hope to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Last year in mid-August we spent a weekend at the charming Deerhill Inn and came away with such wonderful memories of our experience there. So when we decided to return again this year, my husband and I were both secretly apprehensive that we would be disappointed, that it couldn't be that good a second time. Well, we were wrong! It was just as lovely!

My top favorite things about the Deerhill Inn:

1. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room with a view of the mountains.
Every morning, a full home-cooked breakfast is included in the price of the room. Special omelets, French toast, warm muffins, delicious coffee. The inn is located part way up a hill, so the views are spectacular. And did I mention the hummingbirds outside the window?

2. Ariane and Scott, the owners couldn't be nicer! Charming, funny, helpful. And their little dog, Sophie is adorable. They made us feel so welcome.

3. Homemade cookies. Waiting for us in our room when we checked in. I ate them all immediately. Then discovered a large plate of the same cookies next to the fresh coffee pot in the dining area.

4. Sitting on our balcony looking at the beautiful gardens and feeling like we are in Provence. There is a beautiful swimming pool tucked away behind the gardens. Heavenly.

5. Peacefulness. So hard to find these days, but a weekend at the Deerhill is an opportunity to decompress and relax. (They do have free wifi for those of us who aren't totally ready to let it all go.)

6. The homey interior. Walk through the comfortable living room and up the stairs, turn right and there is a quiet sitting area where you could finally start to write your novel. Turn left and there are guest rooms tucked in down the hall. Everywhere is an interesting passageway to another part of the building. And the owners like to support local artists. There are paintings and other hand-made things for sale throughout the common areas.

7. Green. Everywhere. The surrounding area is lush and green and wonderful! Perhaps in winter, I would say "white."

If you have an opportunity to visit this area of Vermont, definitely try to book a room at this special place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cravatteverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have found this lovely inn to be the best by far in the Mt. Snow area and it's now a favorite getaway destination in its own right any season of the year. The innkeepers provide very gracious, charming hospitality and their staff is very accommodating as well. Lovely rooms and sitting areas, many with fireplaces, are very comfortable and relaxing. This place has great mountain views, pretty grounds, and a lovely pool. And the food is wonderful!! Delicious full breakfasts every day. We always enjoy a very special dinner in the restaurant during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfish692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#8 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Property: Deerhill Inn
Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover
Deerhill Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing