We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Bears Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Old Red Mill(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Wilmington)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Stratton Mountain)
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Brattleboro(Brattleboro)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stratton Mountain Resort(Stratton Mountain)
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
32
34
6
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
34
6
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaroline and stevewonderful ownersmount snoweggs any stylefriendly place to staypancakescooked breakfasta wonderful stayfree wifiski weekendno frillsbreakfast was includedcommon areasfeel right at homepool tablemakes you feelmotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Big Bears Lodge does a fantastic job at giving you everything you need for a ski weekend--comfortable sleeping quarters, common areas to read, write, watch TV, play games, and enjoy a meal.

My breakfast was perfect--blueberry muffins made from scratch, creamy scrambled eggs, with a side of bacon( all made to order)and choices of coffee and tea, served in a proper dining room.

The fireplace made the living room warm and cozy, and was a nice place to relax after the day on the slopes. There were also several large reading rooms and a game room. And when it was time to retire for the night, my bed had fresh linens, and clean towels.

My stay is inspiring me to bring up a hiking group in the spring to stay at Big Bears as its centrally located, has places indoor to gather the group, is comfortable, and is run by trustworth folks.

The decor is more traditional, so those looking for a modern look, should look elsewhere--good luck finding it in Wilmington, VT. And it is a lodge, so sleep with your ear plugs so you won't hear the neighbors coming home.

My only suggestion is that they should have the TV on in the living room in the afternoon, as it would make the room itself more inviting for folks...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConstantlyLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This place is a through back to 1950!!! Needs a major over haul . Arrived late to find the door from the outside is nailed shut and only access is through the long hallway and down stairs. Breakfast? 1st morning I was told I was late for breakfast at 9:01 am by the rude owner Steve 2nd morning made sure I made it on time. What a joke. A single pancake with Aunt Jemima syrup and get your own coffee from a half empty carafe. Eat at Dot's of Dover down the road !!! It is a bed. Very expensive bed! The owners are rude and need to go back the charm school back in merry old England.

Room Tip: find another place
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard5744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearslodge, Owner at Big Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Gerard
It is not normally good policy for a property to respond to a negative review with anything but an apology and some kind of explanation as to how the property can make the guests stay a much improved experience in the future.
However, in this case we will make an exception.
Going by your behavior while you stayed with us we cannot say that we were surprised to receive a negative review from you.
I will concede just one point from your review and that is that some parts of the building could do with an update and this is something that we have been working on since we purchased the property in 2007. We have refurbished over 50% of the rooms and have a continuing program of refurbishment.
Now as for the other issues you had we will address each one in turn.
The exterior doors are locked and bolted during the winter months for a very good reason. This is that every room would have constantly wet carpets from all the snow being dragged in on guests feet. This would very quickly lead to issues with mold. We restrict access to going through the main entrance as this has a tiled floor with mats that absorb the water from the soles of shoes as guests walk across them.
Your original booking was for an earlier date but due to some kind of issue you had you asked us if we could move the reservation. Even though it was short notice and you were well within the timeframe where we could have refused to move your reservation without a financial penalty we moved your reservation without a question. Your room was on the ground floor which does involve going down some stairs after walking a total of 120ft down a corridor. Now if you had some physical impairment I would understand your complaint but you and your 23 year old son did not appear to be impaired in any way. In fact you were so unimpaired that you managed to use the bedroom window as a means to leave the room. The reason we know that you did this was because you had locked the deadbolt on the interior door and had to come and ask at reception to be let back into the room after you had been skiing all day. When we asked you about using the window you blatantly lied to us saying that you had used the door. It is however, physically impossible to leave the room and leave the deadbolt on without using the window as a means of egress. To compound the lie when I (Steve) let you back in the room your son was trying to kick his way in through the exterior door. When I opened the window to tell him to stop I clearly heard your son say "let's just rip the ****ing screen off". Even after catching your son red-handed you and your son were still trying to tell us that you had not used the window. At this point I was asking you to pack up your stuff and leave but you managed to talk me into letting you stay. I since regret that decision!
As to your second complaint about the breakfast time. I believe that you are very much mistaken about the time of the first morning as it was Caroline that told you that breakfast was over and had been for 40 minutes as it was 9:40 am not 9:01 as you claim. We do have a breakfast time between 7:30 and 9:00am but most mornings we are still serving breakfast up to about 9:15 due to late comers. We will still serve people who arrive just after 9 am but by 9:40 the grill has been switched off for too long to be able to cook anything and it takes at least 15 minutes to get it back up to temperature. We think that an hour and a half is sufficient time for all our guests to get breakfast. I also cannot fathom how you can complain about the breakfast, it is not like you are paying for it as IT IS COMPLIMENTARY. The vast majority find enough on the menu to satiate them.
Lastly I am afraid our English charm is reserved for those that treat both us and our property with RESPECT.
Steve and Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The first clue we'd made a mistake was the empty parking lot. The other more obvious indicators was the unfriendly welcome at check-in followed by the lack of cleanliness in the room, 1960's motif, a bathroom full of mold, and bedding that stunk and needed to be thrown in the trash.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearslodge, Owner at Big Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hello Harleyman1
We have looked through our reservation records for both December 2013 and January 2014 but have been unable to find a reservation from anyone from Florida. We have therefore been unable to determine which room you are referring to. We have inspected every bathroom but have been unable to find any that have the mold problem that you reported. We have also asked our housekeeper who has assured us that all bed linens are laundered daily by our laundry company. The comforters etc are also regularly laundered. We have performed random checks on this and found that this is indeed the case and we have been unable to find any bedding that is in the condition you have mentioned.
We can also not understand your comments on the cleanliness of the room as we pride ourselves in just how meticulous our housekeeping staff are and we often get good comments on the cleanliness of our property. We do admit that some rooms are becoming due for refurbishment and since we took over this lodge 7 years ago we have been updating rooms as and when the funds have become available. So far over 50% of the guest rooms have been updated. We can only assume that you were in one of the rooms that is on our refurbishment list.
As for your comment on the 'unfriendly' welcome you received we are at a loss as to this as either Caroline or myself greet every guest that arrives during our normal check-in times and we are both well aware that it is not good business to have that kind of attitude. I would also like to add that an empty parking lot is not necessarily a reflection of the property or its owners. Someone has to be the first to arrive for check-in and during quiet periods there may only be one or two rooms occupied.
We would like to investigate this further so if you could please contact us and tell us which room you stayed in we would really appreciate it.
Steve and Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Returned or our 2nd year ski weekend with 4 young children. Not disappointed with the personal service and patience with our family. Basic, clean rooms, no frills with couple large lounging rooms that we all enjoyed. Perfect for a family weekend,

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank smallgroupsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Amenities are non-guaranteed. Falsely advertised hot tub - as it was not functional for our stay. It really ruined the experience as I booked this lodge specifically for the comfort of lounging by the hot tub after a long day of boarding. When brought to the owners attention, no courtesy or care was shown in the slightest. Disappointing to say the least.

Room Tip: Call ahead.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews