We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay! Place is warm, comfortable, and wonderful owners!”
Review of Big Bears Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Bears Lodge
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay! Place is warm, comfortable, and wonderful owners!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This place was incredible, and the owners, Steve and Caroline, were extremely generous and they interacted with their guests.They went out of their way to entertain us and give us exactly what we need. Every time we visit Mount Snow, we will always stay here, and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The breakfast is amazing too; they made wonderful eggs, pancakes, bacon, and muffins all served in a very clean and beautiful dining room. Their fireplace room is very cozy, and it makes a perfect place to relax after skiing. I was very impressed. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Great location, and you can always walk to the close restaurants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    33
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
23
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This has been our 4th year at the Big Bear Lodge of a 35 years of coming up to Vermont for the club. The lodge is a great location right across from the mountain the rooms are big to a good size. Our club brings 15 to 25 people and have always been happy with everything.
We have stayed at most of the lodges at the mountain the big bear is in the top 3 for our club.
As for being a couple staying there it's not a hide away it's a ski lodge. big TV room Big quite room Bar and game room.
The owners have always gone out of there way to do anything we needed to help make our trip a great one every year, Thanks guys
A Pa ski club

Room Tip: The rooms farther down the hall are bigger and the down stairs rooms are very big and quieter If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Big Bears Lodge does a fantastic job at giving you everything you need for a ski weekend--comfortable sleeping quarters, common areas to read, write, watch TV, play games, and enjoy a meal.

My breakfast was perfect--blueberry muffins made from scratch, creamy scrambled eggs, with a side of bacon( all made to order)and choices of coffee and tea, served in a proper dining room.

The fireplace made the living room warm and cozy, and was a nice place to relax after the day on the slopes. There were also several large reading rooms and a game room. And when it was time to retire for the night, my bed had fresh linens, and clean towels.

My stay is inspiring me to bring up a hiking group in the spring to stay at Big Bears as its centrally located, has places indoor to gather the group, is comfortable, and is run by trustworth folks.

The decor is more traditional, so those looking for a modern look, should look elsewhere--good luck finding it in Wilmington, VT. And it is a lodge, so sleep with your ear plugs so you won't hear the neighbors coming home.

My only suggestion is that they should have the TV on in the living room in the afternoon, as it would make the room itself more inviting for folks...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstantlyLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sound Beach, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This place is a through back to 1950!!! Needs a major over haul . Arrived late to find the door from the outside is nailed shut and only access is through the long hallway and down stairs. Breakfast? 1st morning I was told I was late for breakfast at 9:01 am by the rude owner Steve 2nd morning made sure I made it on time. What a joke. A single pancake with Aunt Jemima syrup and get your own coffee from a half empty carafe. Eat at Dot's of Dover down the road !!! It is a bed. Very expensive bed! The owners are rude and need to go back the charm school back in merry old England.

Room Tip: find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard5744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearslodge, Owner at Big Bears Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Gerard
It is not normally good policy for a property to respond to a negative review with anything but an apology and some kind of explanation as to how the property can make the guests stay a much improved experience in the future.
However, in this case we will make an exception.
Going by your behavior while you stayed with us we cannot say that we were surprised to receive a negative review from you.
I will concede just one point from your review and that is that some parts of the building could do with an update and this is something that we have been working on since we purchased the property in 2007. We have refurbished over 50% of the rooms and have a continuing program of refurbishment.
Now as for the other issues you had we will address each one in turn.
The exterior doors are locked and bolted during the winter months for a very good reason. This is that every room would have constantly wet carpets from all the snow being dragged in on guests feet. This would very quickly lead to issues with mold. We restrict access to going through the main entrance as this has a tiled floor with mats that absorb the water from the soles of shoes as guests walk across them.
Your original booking was for an earlier date but due to some kind of issue you had you asked us if we could move the reservation. Even though it was short notice and you were well within the timeframe where we could have refused to move your reservation without a financial penalty we moved your reservation without a question. Your room was on the ground floor which does involve going down some stairs after walking a total of 120ft down a corridor. Now if you had some physical impairment I would understand your complaint but you and your 23 year old son did not appear to be impaired in any way. In fact you were so unimpaired that you managed to use the bedroom window as a means to leave the room. The reason we know that you did this was because you had locked the deadbolt on the interior door and had to come and ask at reception to be let back into the room after you had been skiing all day. When we asked you about using the window you blatantly lied to us saying that you had used the door. It is however, physically impossible to leave the room and leave the deadbolt on without using the window as a means of egress. To compound the lie when I (Steve) let you back in the room your son was trying to kick his way in through the exterior door. When I opened the window to tell him to stop I clearly heard your son say "let's just rip the ****ing screen off". Even after catching your son red-handed you and your son were still trying to tell us that you had not used the window. At this point I was asking you to pack up your stuff and leave but you managed to talk me into letting you stay. I since regret that decision!
As to your second complaint about the breakfast time. I believe that you are very much mistaken about the time of the first morning as it was Caroline that told you that breakfast was over and had been for 40 minutes as it was 9:40 am not 9:01 as you claim. We do have a breakfast time between 7:30 and 9:00am but most mornings we are still serving breakfast up to about 9:15 due to late comers. We will still serve people who arrive just after 9 am but by 9:40 the grill has been switched off for too long to be able to cook anything and it takes at least 15 minutes to get it back up to temperature. We think that an hour and a half is sufficient time for all our guests to get breakfast. I also cannot fathom how you can complain about the breakfast, it is not like you are paying for it as IT IS COMPLIMENTARY. The vast majority find enough on the menu to satiate them.
Lastly I am afraid our English charm is reserved for those that treat both us and our property with RESPECT.
Steve and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The first clue we'd made a mistake was the empty parking lot. The other more obvious indicators was the unfriendly welcome at check-in followed by the lack of cleanliness in the room, 1960's motif, a bathroom full of mold, and bedding that stunk and needed to be thrown in the trash.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearslodge, Owner at Big Bears Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello Harleyman1
We have looked through our reservation records for both December 2013 and January 2014 but have been unable to find a reservation from anyone from Florida. We have therefore been unable to determine which room you are referring to. We have inspected every bathroom but have been unable to find any that have the mold problem that you reported. We have also asked our housekeeper who has assured us that all bed linens are laundered daily by our laundry company. The comforters etc are also regularly laundered. We have performed random checks on this and found that this is indeed the case and we have been unable to find any bedding that is in the condition you have mentioned.
We can also not understand your comments on the cleanliness of the room as we pride ourselves in just how meticulous our housekeeping staff are and we often get good comments on the cleanliness of our property. We do admit that some rooms are becoming due for refurbishment and since we took over this lodge 7 years ago we have been updating rooms as and when the funds have become available. So far over 50% of the guest rooms have been updated. We can only assume that you were in one of the rooms that is on our refurbishment list.
As for your comment on the 'unfriendly' welcome you received we are at a loss as to this as either Caroline or myself greet every guest that arrives during our normal check-in times and we are both well aware that it is not good business to have that kind of attitude. I would also like to add that an empty parking lot is not necessarily a reflection of the property or its owners. Someone has to be the first to arrive for check-in and during quiet periods there may only be one or two rooms occupied.
We would like to investigate this further so if you could please contact us and tell us which room you stayed in we would really appreciate it.
Steve and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewJersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Returned or our 2nd year ski weekend with 4 young children. Not disappointed with the personal service and patience with our family. Basic, clean rooms, no frills with couple large lounging rooms that we all enjoyed. Perfect for a family weekend,

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank smallgroupsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Amenities are non-guaranteed. Falsely advertised hot tub - as it was not functional for our stay. It really ruined the experience as I booked this lodge specifically for the comfort of lounging by the hot tub after a long day of boarding. When brought to the owners attention, no courtesy or care was shown in the slightest. Disappointing to say the least.

Room Tip: Call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
10.8 mi away
Stratton Mountain Resort
Stratton Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#8 of 12 in Dover
106 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountaineer Inn
Mountaineer Inn
#12 of 12 in Dover
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bears Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bears Lodge

Property: Big Bears Lodge
Address: 344 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-9701
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bears Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bears Lodge offers ideal lodging for visitors to Mount Snow, Vermont. The Mount Snow Ski Resort of Southern Vermont offers something for every taste in every season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Big Bears Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bears Hotel Dover
Big Bears Lodge Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing