We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As long as you offer this challenge, we will keep coming!”

Green Mountain Adventure Challenge
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As long as you offer this challenge, we will keep coming!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My fiance and i did this event last weekend. It was incredible. Lots of hiking involved, and for us non-hikers, we actually loved it. The views were amazing and the places we had to go were fun. I had two suggestions for improvement: 1) Make the clues harder to decode or tell people involved in challenge not to give things away! For one of the clues (sky) we were told exactly where to go by the person who handed us our clue card. That kind of took the challenge out of it. We met some others who later said they were not given the same direction. 2) More challenge! One of the clues was very easy compared to the others and did not involve much physical activity other than a car ride. I think we found the ones where physical activity was involved to be more rewarding!

That said, the challenge was so, so much fun and we will definitely do it next year and every year thereafter if you keep it up! It definitely isn't for young kids or for people who want check-in points - you are totally on your own. But it is very rewarding. Oh and the Gray Ghost Inn was a great place to stay!

Thanks everyone for putting together such a great event!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    13
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a great way to spend a weekend. It is physically and mentally challenging. Hard enough not to get bored, but doable enough not to quit. We completed the challenge in 2.5 days, and are so proud of ourselves that we still can't wipe off the grins from our faces. The scenery was spectacular, the people were all very friendly and accommodating. The challenge itself was very clever and well thought out. We had the time of our life! Can't wait for the next year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia4221222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an adventure!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Green Mountain Adventure Challenge is a CHALLENGE! We did this through Zozi and got a deal on 2 nights of a hotel room and 2 passes to the challenge. We stayed at the Grey Ghost Inn (highly recommended! They are great!) on Friday, started on a Saturday, continued into Sunday and did NOT have enough time to finish. If we do this again next year (which, we absolutely will if it's offered again) then we will probably plan for 2 weekends. It is very challenging in terms of the clues - the best thing to do is to talk to the people in the town at the businesses. They got a kick out of the challenge and were always happy to help. It gets frustrating at times, but going back to the town and starting over SAVED us so many times. I was stubborn and wanted to keep looking, and all it did was waste precious time. If you can't find it, chances are you are in the wrong place. Even if you think you are in the right place. The hikes were beautiful and we got some great exercise. Some people saw a moose! Jealous! Next time I think we will bring more snacks (trail mix, etc) and leave more time. What a great find, thank you so much to the creators for putting this together!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We finished... I think! ;-)”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Heading up from the Boston area, I had planned to spend three days in August completing the GMAC with my sister and two friends... we are NOT "outdoorsy" people, but wanted to try the challenge with our own nerdy puzzle-solving backgrounds giving us whatever advantage it may!

Things went pretty well on day one, then on our second day we were on the wrong trail (with another group) and took an unnecessary four-hour hike around a lake that had some rough trail sections that only your avid hiker would expect! Finally, on day three, we found the toughest 'treasure' after hiking for several hours IN THE POURING RAIN (think mud, rocky terrain, very little clues to go on!).

Guess what? NONE of this was unexpected, because we had carefully read through the GMAC guidelines and warnings, discussing the possibility of having a hard trek ahead of us, and so we did it all willingly with a smile (and maybe a few extra breaks along the way!). Being too tired to complete the last portion of the challenge, we went home feeling content with our accomplishment... and then took the three hour drive back three weeks later to finish!

All of the Inns and Lodges that we passed through had friendly employees and cozy atmospheres, as did the restaurants and local businesses. Everything was exactly as we expected... simple, homey... and we did a lot of research online before we even booked the trip!

Can't wait to return next year, hoping the challenges are once again a good mix of brains and brawn! :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenelle1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I am pleased I got to do this-very unique experience. However, as it evolves and continues to grow-I hope the organizers will put in a couple of levels so people with kids can participate or have extremely difficulty and less. Hats off to this town for coming up with a unique way to drive tourists into this area off season. The challenge was fun-and generally people participating are friendly. It was not easy-the clues were vague and difficult but we approached to have fun and fun we had. I am not sure I would do it again-but glad I did it. Take care to note your surroundings-you could get lost and as others wrote-they take no responsibility and you are on your own. It is great for a group to have a good time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Mountain Adventure Challenge also viewed

 

Been to Green Mountain Adventure Challenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing