We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm
Price range: US$15 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Join us at Nonna's - The ONLY Italian restaurant in the Valley- for great Italian cuisine in a casually elegant and friendly atmosphere. Enjoy Executive Chef Jeff Collins' masterful northern and southern Italian classics along with fresh seafood brought in daily.
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had dinner here. It was just OK, not great. Overpriced for what it was. The food definitely did not match the price. Atmosphere is good, quaint. We are gluten free and while they said they could cook anything, to them that meant chicken with rise and vegetables or grilling a fish. The server was a bit cranky/impatient and really not that interested. If you are gluten free we suggest you look elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Sir,
You came to see me (the general manager) personally and I assured you we could accommodate your request for gluten free including the gluten free pasta we carry. In fact many dishes on the menu are already gluten free. For example the duck, steak, and the fish specials we had. You chose the gluten free pasta and I asked you how everything was and you seemed very satisfied. As far as cost, If you are looking for a meal on the cheap we are not the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Though the rooms decor are a rustic look with charm the food is Italian. The sitting area has a large working fireplace which is a wonderful place to have a pre dinner drink. It is casual and lends itself to talking to those sitting nearby. Soon people are sharing their favoirte ski sloops and why they like them. Food is tasty though a tad pricey for the portions served. Those staying at the inn seemed to like it, we just dinned there. It is true that though when one arrives the place is empty and one is asked if one has reservations . we thought that perhaps a large group would be arriving but we had our entire dinner and it was still near empty..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmandaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We ask our guests if they have reservations as a courtesy to those that call to make them even if we are not busy. Hope to see you again soon.
Your friends at The Sawmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have family that own ski condo in the area and decide to give it a try since we drove by it many times. When we got there, the dinning room was empty and we were asked if we have reservation. Since we don't she asked us to wait while she check, that took about 15 minutes and the place is still empty except for the 2 guys at the bar.
There were 8 of us, 3 of us ordered the specials (seafood newburg and stuffed haddock), each $29, haddock were dry, newburg has a funny after taste. The rest of us ordered: 4 cheese lasagna (dry, no sauce), fettuccine chicken alfredo (a sticky mess), chicken parm (dry chicken), fettuccine with little neck clams in red sauce (a bunch of tiny clams on top, plain red sauce) and caesar salad with chicken. We are all well traveled and hoping for a great meal, greatly disapointed. We ordered a bottle of red wine when we ordered dinner but didn't get it until we finish our meal. I told one of the wait staff that we don't want it anymore and our wait person still brought it anyway. Service were extremely slow, couldn't get drinks or water refill. Ask for selection of beer and was told we have too many to tell. When we asked for bourbon, we were told only 1 kind available that night. Who know, maybe we just went to a 'bad night' or expected too much. After spending $300+, we left extremely disapointed, surprise that this place is rated 4 stars and their site posted cert of excellence. Summary, will not return or recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ASM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are disappointed to hear of your experience. We are also quite certain that we never kept anybody waiting on the evening you dined with us. As far as your comments on the food, we have had nothing but positive reviews on the same entrees directly from our customers while they were in our dining room. If possible we would like to discuss this matter with you directly because it is not reflective of the food and service we deliver day in and day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The food was fine at this restaurant. But that was it. Just fine. The reviews were great and we were all disappointed. It is also expensive to buy the kids pasta for $15 plus dollars. They offered half sizes for $9 but the portions were so small that we had to order more. Our food was average and not memorable. We had a huge table to ourselves and no one was there. So that made it fun and the kids were able to run around and sing with the two live person band. But I would not run there for the food. This area has so many cheap places with better food for families.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

As a finer dining establishment we do not have a children's menu. We do the best we can to accommodate children with smaller portions but if you are looking for a "cheap" restaurant then there are other establishments we can recommend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was my first time dining at Nonna's and I had a pleasant experience. The service was great and the food was delicious. It was a very slow evening so the staff was attentive. I ordered the ceasar salad and penne with vodka sauce. Warm bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar was served before the entrees. The pasta was cooked al dente which I liked and the vodka sauce was not too heavy. The inn was decorated for Christmas and it was quite beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing