We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Kitzhof Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kitzhof Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 14 January 2008

My sisters and our boyfriends all stayed at the Kitzhof this past weekend for the first time. I booked the B&B through the Mount Snow website. This B&B truly is a home away from home... from the minute we arrived we were welcomed and treated like family. Allison and Simon the innkeepers were in England during our stay, but Debbie and Naomi ran the Inn without any issues. The room was nice and cozy and the Inn is clean and quaint. The breakfast was wonderful this is not your regular hotel breakfast this is a made to order homemade breakfast. My only complaint is the floors were rather squeaky, however we were on the second floor so the noise was minimal. I would definitely stay here again... this hotel is very close to the Mountain and very close to restaurants, bars and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angela15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    40
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
CT, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2008

My boyfriend and I spent only one evening at the Kitzhof during a visit to Mt. Snow. We have traveled extensively, experienced all types of accommodations, and were very pleased with our stay at the Inn. The building itself is very warm and cozy. The innkeeper is amenable and our room was small but comfortable. Some extras the inn offers include a hot tub, which I did not get a chance to try out due to lack of time, a community room that offers lots of games, and a delicious hot breakfast in their lovely dining area.

The only negatives I can mention are the lack of parking spaces and noise. We left the inn for a few hours in the early evening to catch a music act at the Snow Barn at Mt. Snow. Upon return, there were no shoveled parking spaces left, which forced us to park on a snow bank. Also, the walls are thin, and if there are noisy children running about, you definitely hear it!

The negatives, however, are no reason not to stay at the Kitzhof. It is located right down the road from Mt. Snow and was incredibly welcoming and comfortable after a long day on the slopes. I would certainly book there again if I found myself traveling to the area of VT.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahjin8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2008

My two best girlfriends from college and I just spent two nights at the Kitzhof Inn on a ski trip to Mount Snow. The inn is very charming, clean, and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was excellent...not your typical continental hotel breakfast but rather a full hot cooked meal. I had pancakes one morning and french toast with sausage the next!
The perks of the hotel include a nice indoor hot tub and great proximity to Mt. Snow (less than 1/4 mile away). The Kitzhof is located on Rt. 100 and is very close to multiple restaurants and bars.
I only had one complaint...the floorboards are extremely squeaky. We had a room on the first floor and were woken up both mornings earlier than we had hoped by the sound of our upstairs neighbors walking around in their room. If you stay there, I'd recommend bringing ear plugs or requesting a room on the second floor. Other than that though, we had a great experience overall!

  • Liked — Cozy and clean for a great price...and delicious breakfast!
  • Disliked — Squeaky floor boards.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traceypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2007

This place is great. There isa friendly welcome on arrival , good sized rooms and a superb communal area for sitting relaxing and meeting fellow skiers. The location is very central. Breakfast is a la carte and the best "home cooked" options we have come across in a ski resort. cereals, juices, home cooked muffins and a full cooked egg, sausages hash brown breakfast served by great staff.
We travel globally and this place is a great balance of quality friendliness and location

  • Liked — Communal area and fireplace closely followed by breakfast
  • Disliked — An indoor pool would be good but there is an outdoor one in summer
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Peebles_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton Ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We travel to southern Vermont to enjoy all the seasons. Having tried a number of B&B's in the area, we have settled on the Kitzhof Inn in West Dover. It is an authentic Alpine lodge in the true sense of the word, with a wonderful friendly atmosphere ideally suited to families and couples alike. The full "English Breakfast" is to die for and the proximity to Mount Snow is a real plus. The hosts Simon and Alison always make you feel very welcome. With a hot tub and pool at your disposable and extremely competitive pricing this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Friendliness, proximity to Mount Snow
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathancorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2006

For the past 6 six years a group of 24 has stayed at the Kitzhof the weekend after labor day and it is always a great experience the. New owners have really done a great job keeping the tradition going. Simon did a great job with breakfast and dinner. He gave are group a choice of 3 entrees plus dessert and the food was excellent. He has also improved some items like the hot tub by doing a great job keeping it hot.
The rooms are nice a spacious and the inn has a seating are on the ground floor where a big group can get together hang out and watch tv. We will be back there for the forseeable future and look forward to it.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter,Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2006

The innkeepers, Simon and Alison, are so wonderful. They are hardworking, generous and fun. They made us feel so welcome. The rooms were clean, beautiful and comfortable. Simon's breakfasts were delicious and filling. Located only 1/2 mile from Mount Snow the resort was within biking distance or we could ride the free bus service. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants and were only 20 minutes from Wilmington, where there was shopping and more.




We hated to leave and can't wait to return!!

Helpful?
4 Thank thecheech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
73 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountaineer Inn
Mountaineer Inn
#12 of 12 in Dover
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitzhof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitzhof Inn

Property: Kitzhof Inn
Address: 332 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-9701
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kitzhof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Swiss style Bed & Breakfast Inn at the foot of Mount Snow offers a warm & friendly atmosphere. 24 rooms include Family, Queen, 2 x Double and Triple Rooms. Own bath and cable TV in all rooms. Prices includes cooked breakfast. Hot tub, fireplace lounge, BYOB bar, games room and outside swimming pool in the summer months. Free wireless internet connection is throughout the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kitzhof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitzhof Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing