We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Log Cabin Feeling!”
Review of Kitzhof Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kitzhof Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2008

I Found out I was off for the week, so I packed the family up and headed to the Kitzhof Inn Feb 26 to 29. We knew there was a big storm dumping up there, and when we arrived, there was a foot already!
The Inn is great for a ski getaway for a few days. Very reasonably priced. The whole place has the log cabin look. We had a room that was 2 rooms, and fit the 4 of us fine. Breakfast is great in the morning, and they have a big hot tub. There is a nice fireplace and sitting area where all can hang out.
Try to get an end room, walls are kind of thin and you can hear conversations going on :-(
The hosts Simon and Alison are very accomodating and nice. I would very much recomend coming here, especially during the week, you almost have the place to yourselves!

The Palanker Family

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank acdice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2008

I was at Kizhoff In for a recent weekend, skiing at Mount Snow.

Positives: The staff was very warm, friendly and helpful. Their breakfast is great - cozy dining room and good food, lots of breakfast choices. The inn itself is very cozing and charming, and close to Mount Snow. The common areas are great - comfy couches, games, hot tub, etc.

Negatives: My only real complaint is that the walls are way too thin. I could hear everything going on in the room next door, and was woken up early one morning because of someone walking in the room above me. The room was a bit small, but comfortable.

Overall, save for the thin walls, a positive experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelAstoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Great for families. Very close to Mount Snow. Pleasant staff that let us check out late. This is not luxury (linoleum floor in the bathroom, basic furnishings) but it is perfectly fine for a family. We stayed in one of the family rooms which has a folding door between the bunkbeds and the main room. We found Mount Snow to be a great family resort. Lots of nice intermediate slopes for the whole family to ski together. Free bag check-in at the main lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

My sisters and our boyfriends all stayed at the Kitzhof this past weekend for the first time. I booked the B&B through the Mount Snow website. This B&B truly is a home away from home... from the minute we arrived we were welcomed and treated like family. Allison and Simon the innkeepers were in England during our stay, but Debbie and Naomi ran the Inn without any issues. The room was nice and cozy and the Inn is clean and quaint. The breakfast was wonderful this is not your regular hotel breakfast this is a made to order homemade breakfast. My only complaint is the floors were rather squeaky, however we were on the second floor so the noise was minimal. I would definitely stay here again... this hotel is very close to the Mountain and very close to restaurants, bars and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Angela15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

My boyfriend and I spent only one evening at the Kitzhof during a visit to Mt. Snow. We have traveled extensively, experienced all types of accommodations, and were very pleased with our stay at the Inn. The building itself is very warm and cozy. The innkeeper is amenable and our room was small but comfortable. Some extras the inn offers include a hot tub, which I did not get a chance to try out due to lack of time, a community room that offers lots of games, and a delicious hot breakfast in their lovely dining area.

The only negatives I can mention are the lack of parking spaces and noise. We left the inn for a few hours in the early evening to catch a music act at the Snow Barn at Mt. Snow. Upon return, there were no shoveled parking spaces left, which forced us to park on a snow bank. Also, the walls are thin, and if there are noisy children running about, you definitely hear it!

The negatives, however, are no reason not to stay at the Kitzhof. It is located right down the road from Mt. Snow and was incredibly welcoming and comfortable after a long day on the slopes. I would certainly book there again if I found myself traveling to the area of VT.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahjin8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

My two best girlfriends from college and I just spent two nights at the Kitzhof Inn on a ski trip to Mount Snow. The inn is very charming, clean, and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was excellent...not your typical continental hotel breakfast but rather a full hot cooked meal. I had pancakes one morning and french toast with sausage the next!
The perks of the hotel include a nice indoor hot tub and great proximity to Mt. Snow (less than 1/4 mile away). The Kitzhof is located on Rt. 100 and is very close to multiple restaurants and bars.
I only had one complaint...the floorboards are extremely squeaky. We had a room on the first floor and were woken up both mornings earlier than we had hoped by the sound of our upstairs neighbors walking around in their room. If you stay there, I'd recommend bringing ear plugs or requesting a room on the second floor. Other than that though, we had a great experience overall!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank traceypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2007

This place is great. There isa friendly welcome on arrival , good sized rooms and a superb communal area for sitting relaxing and meeting fellow skiers. The location is very central. Breakfast is a la carte and the best "home cooked" options we have come across in a ski resort. cereals, juices, home cooked muffins and a full cooked egg, sausages hash brown breakfast served by great staff.
We travel globally and this place is a great balance of quality friendliness and location

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Peebles_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountaineer Inn
Mountaineer Inn
#12 of 12 in Dover
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitzhof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitzhof Inn

Address: 332 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-9701
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £108 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kitzhof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Swiss style Bed & Breakfast Inn at the foot of Mount Snow offers a warm & friendly atmosphere. 24 rooms include Family, Queen, 2 x Double and Triple Rooms. Own bath and cable TV in all rooms. Prices includes cooked breakfast. Hot tub, fireplace lounge, BYOB bar, games room and outside swimming pool in the summer months. Free wireless internet connection is throughout the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Kitzhof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitzhof Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing