We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RELAXING”
Review of Kitzhof Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kitzhof Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2011

This was our first time staying here, after spending the last 10 years in another place down the road, so we didn't know what to expect. I can say we were pleasantly surprised. Alison and Simon were very friendly and pleasant. The Inn was quant, and clean. The location was great and the Moover shuttle made getting to Mt. Snow much easier. We look forward to returning next year.
Mike & Darlene
N. Massapequa, NY

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pregolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Kitzhof Inn. It's about a 1/4 mile (3 minute drive) to Mount Snow. The free MOO'ver bus stops right in front on route 100 as well if you want to take that to Mount Snow.

Simon and Alison, very nice couple from England, along with their two friendly and quiet boxer dogs Amber and Millie, run the place. Simon and Alison are both helpful and politely sociable.

We were in room #6, which had plenty of space for 2 people (it actually fit 4 people with 1 queen bed, 1 twin bed and pull out cot in closet). The room had a nice ski-lodge feel with slanted wooden roof, warm lighting and private bath (tub and shower). While the furniture and fixtures throughout room were not brand new, the room was still clean and comfortable and a very good value. Our room also had a small fridge right outside, but other rooms were able to share the large fridge in the common area (BYOB bar area).

There is a common area on the ground floor with wood burning fireplace, TV, pinball machine, chess table and lots of couches to relax on. Each night Simon or Alison start the fire. There's also an 8 person indoor hot tub which we did not use.

The hot breakfast was hearty and fresh! It's served from 7AM - 9AM and included (for example) your choice of eggs and bacon, pancakes, french toast, Kitzhoff McMuffin..etc., along with juice and coffee. All cooked by Simon! Also, when we were there, they had homemade cookies and muffins. The dining area upstairs was very accomodating and looked like an Austrian ski lodge.

Although Kitzhof Inn has a nice website, we booked our trip through the mountsnow.com website and got a nice package discount through their "Ski & Stay Package", which is a mid-week deal. We went from Wednesday - friday, 2 nights room and two 1 day ski lift tickets for a total of $320 (tax included). Alison and Simon mentioned that "The Great Outdoors" (1/2 mile away on route 100) offered a discount on ski rentals. Instead of $30 per day the rentals were $20 if you mention you're staying at the Kitzhof Inn.

Not many places to eat nearby, mostly pub food. We ate at the Saloon which had burgers, salads, appetizers, etc. We also ate at Tony's Pizza (take out) which was average.

Overall was a good 3 day stay and we recommend the Kitzhof Inn for a friendly, comfortable and good value bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slater324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Kitzhof Inn is a small hotel right near Mount Snow Ski Resort. It is owned and operated by a wonderful couple from Great Britain. The value is excellent and stays include a full hot breakfast made to order. Great indoor hot tub and common room to hang out and play games, sit by the fire and watch TV. BYOB kitchen with frig and microwave. If you are looking for a basic, homey, comfy place to stay, go here. Outdoor pool in summer and trails to hike.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgo092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Once again tripadvisor comes through in the clutch. I was looking to get away for a couple days of skiing over Christmas break. The reviews were spot on; the Kitzhof Inn was perfect for three nights. I like that they offer single occupancy rates for the smaller rooms. I stayed in room 9, which is small with a queen bed. More importantly it was very clean.

There are many good things about this inn:
- 2 minute ride to Mount Snow. There is a free shuttle to and from the mountain. I even walked there, about 20 minutes.
- Quality made-to-order complimentary breakfast. There are several good choices on the menu in a nice setting on the second floor.
- The internet service was quick and efficient.
- Free use of a community refrigerator and large ice machine.
- Relaxing hot tub after a day on the slopes.
- Lounge area to hang out in.
- I had no problems sleeping at night. Everyone was respectably quiet.
You will hear folks moving about in the morning if sleeping in is a priority.
- Plenty of hot water in the shower with good water pressure.
- New Vizio HD TV in my room.

One of the best reasons for staying here are the hosts. They were fantastic, very helpful and informative. Simon even gave me a ride to the mountain when I missed the shuttle. They run a first class operation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The best place to Stacey. Simon and Alison are the best in going out of their way to ensure that your stay is everything one could ask for,

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The Inn's website lets you select your room and it has a photo of each room so you know what to expect. The Inn is close to the slopes of Mt Snow so great for skiing.

On the plus side: location, and cozy atmosphere. They have a TV room lounge area where guests can mingle and bring their own drinks after a day on the slopes. The owners were away when we stayed although other guests had stayed before and said they were very hospitable. The rooms are spacious enough with reasonable amenities for the price (don’t expect 4 star luxury but they are clean and pleasant). Breakfast was excellent and very good value (included in the room rate). If you need to catch some TV in your room there was an excellent choice of channels including HBO and our favorite (BBC America) – and for those who must have the Internet WIFI is free.

On the slightly negative side: we chose this Inn partly because it has a hot-tub but unfortunately it was closed and we were not advised about this in advance. We had a room on the second floor but we could hear almost every word from the young people staying in the room below ours. This wasn’t too bad except for when they decided to come back at 1.30am and had no consideration for other guests. (I would try and pick a room that is quiet next time).

Overall my wife and I liked this much more than The Doveberry where we stayed last year (which was more expensive and not as pleasant). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This was our second President's Day holiday stay at the Kitzhof while skiing at Mount Snow. For our family of 5 (kids 11, 9 and 6), the Kitzhof is a perfect fit, and we look forward to returning again next year. The Inn's location only minutes from the slopes is ideal. The common room is cozy and inviting after a long day on the slopes, with its comfy sofas, fireplace and large TV. We enjoy spending our evenings there, playing board games with the kids, chatting with the other guests, and catching up with our email. The owners, Simon and Allison, are friendly, accommodating and helpful. They keep the place immaculate, and make sure that it's quiet at night, so we're all able to get a good night's sleep. The delicious hot breakfast that's included in the room rate makes this inn an exceptional value.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
173 reviews
17 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountaineer Inn
Mountaineer Inn
#11 of 12 in Dover
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitzhof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitzhof Inn

Address: 332 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-9701
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £108 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kitzhof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Swiss style Bed & Breakfast Inn at the foot of Mount Snow offers a warm & friendly atmosphere. 24 rooms include Family, Queen, 2 x Double and Triple Rooms. Own bath and cable TV in all rooms. Prices includes cooked breakfast. Hot tub, fireplace lounge, BYOB bar, games room and outside swimming pool in the summer months. Free wireless internet connection is throughout the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Kitzhof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitzhof Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing