We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Weathervane Lodge
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Went up for the Tough Mudder at Mt. Snow and stayed here in the George Washington Suite. The entire place was immaculate and Valentina could not have been nicer! Had a great stay and would recommend this B&B in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakesBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for The Weathervane Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2010

Although we have stayed at a number of inns and B & B's, this was the first experience with our 3 young kids (9, 6 and 2) and we could not have had a better time. Lucia and Valentina are great hosts and very accommodating, the breakfasts were made to order and a fantastic way to start a day of riding at the mountain and the inn itself is clean, comfortable and well maintained. We met a number of other very nice families who all were return guests, which is a standalone testament. Definitely recommend to others and we will be back someday! Many thanks again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnoRider_BikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed at The Weatherwave Lodge last March when we came up to ski at Mt. Snow – two adults, two kids. It was fantastic!!! The rooms were clean and neat.
The house is old, but exceptionally well maintained.
The breakfast was hot, made to order and the menu was unbelievable!!!
I could go on forever about the place. It is just great!
They really make you feel a part of the family.
Thank you Lucia!!!!
Can’t wait to come back again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Tour2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weathervanelodge, Owner at The Weathervane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review. I try to treat my guests as if my family were in my home. I look forward to my extended family returning year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

This lodge really gives you the feeling you're somewhere in the Swiss Alps. A perfect place for couples or families. My wife and I and our two children stayed in the Washington suite which has two bedrooms and a bathroom in between. Very comfortable, clean and cozy. Val and Lucia, the owners, were very friendly and accomodating hosts. I can't wait to go back. This place is one of a kind.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikepro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weathervanelodge, Owners at The Weathervane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2010

We thank you very much for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting your family and sharing stories. Valentina and Lucia Benderer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2007

Through a family recommendation, our family stayed at The Weathervane Lodge over the MLK holiday weekend. While the weather and snow conditions in the Mt. Snow area weren't up to par, our accomodations were first rate. The Weathervane owners, Ans and Lucia Benderer make you feel like your a part of their family in their warm and cosy inn. We stayed in the Hudson Valley Room which was nicely decorated and comfortable for our family of 5. Ans is a fantastic cook. Every meal we ate at the inn was a culinary treat. Ask him to make his special Apple Fritters and you will not be disappointed. The Weatherlane Lodge is close to the ski areas in the region. It is less than 10 minutes to the Mt. Snow base lodge and about 25 minutes to Stratton. When returning to the Mt. Snow area in the future, we plan to make The Weathervane Lodge our home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank FamilyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
167 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#9 of 12 in Dover
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weathervane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weathervane Lodge

Address: 113 Dorr Fitch Rd, Dover, VT 05356-9733
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Dover
Price Range: £92 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weathervane Lodge features 8 rooms with three family suites in a family friendly atmosphere. The Inn has a common area for food and drinks with a TV, Foosball table and BYOB. Let Ans former chef of the Plumbush restaurant cook you a dinner as well as the full homemade breakfast included with your stay. We accommodate upto 20 guests for family reunion, small weddings, or anniversary parties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Weathervane Lodge Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing