We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Could Have Been Better”

Deerfield Valley Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deerfield Valley Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2012

One of the first things you will notice upon entering the Inn is the living room or lounge which was very inviting, cozy, and tastefully decorated. It permeated gemütlichkeit. The seating was comfortable and rustic. The fireplace was beautiful. We were there in early October and the decor already reflected the colors of the season and the promise of Halloween and Thanksgiving. (I could only imagine what they did with the room during Christmas)! The music was restful and only added to the atmosphere.

We proceeded through a hallway that had an assortment of teas, cocoa mix, and very large cookies for guests to indulge themselves during non-dining hours. The dining area followed with tables large enough to handle plates, beverages and elbow room. They were close enough to engage other guests in conversation which is one thing that makes B & B's so charming in the first place.

Our room was upstairs, room 4, which had a fireplace with a Duroflame ready to ignite at the first moment of a perceived chill or spark of romance. More firewood was available for those who wanted to keep the firelight beyond intimate moments. The room boasted color TV with remote, and the closets and dresser drawers easily handled our clothes and purchases. These all added to our positive experience.

That said there were some notable distractions starting with the bathroom. The shower was one of those cubicles that are understandable when trying to renovate an old house to a hotel. However, the only thing we could get out of the nozzle was a weak stream that offered little refreshment one expects from a shower. I noticed a half roll of toilet paper in the rack, but no extra. It remained that way during our two-day stay. Without our own ration we carry on long trips, it would not have been enough. Complimentary shampoo and conditioner came in packets the size of the duck sauce you get with your order of Chinese take-out.

Breakfast was a better experience but when one guest asked if he could have sausage instead of bacon, he was simply told no. Breakfast “appetizers” consisted of a small yogurt or small crumb cake. An order of pancakes meant one oversized one. Bacon and eggs came with three half-slices of toast. This was enough to sustain us, but as Americans we don't just break our fast, we tend to demolish it. A larger appetite would have been disappointed. There was no accommodation other than what was available that morning. The cookies in the hallway were down to four by our second day, which was also surprising. We were spoiled by past experiences where the hostess had pies freshly baked from the oven, an assortment of fruit, nuts and cookies. Here were the bare essentials.

Rosemary is a kindly lady with a soft voice but seemed reserved without the effervescence or warmth one expects from hospitality professionals. I was also surprised to find her and her partner watching TV in the living room, a discouragement to any guest who might feel intrusive if he or she were inclined to pick up the remote. Opening and closing the inner and outer doors abruptly would set bells a-jingling like a trip flare for anyone trying to enter or exit quietly in consideration of others.

The Deerfield Inn is right off the highway and will be missed by anyone driving too fast. A beautiful golf course is less than a mile away for those who prefer golf clubs to skis.

We decided on three stars because our experience anywhere comes down to one question, if we would want to return there. Although we met a couple from Ohio who say they go there every year, we cannot share that sentiment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ed_pauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here from 7/27/12 to 7/29/12 as part of the Green Mountain Adventure package purchased on LivingSocial. We were nervous not having stayed in a B&B and having heard that some try to force you into activities. We had nothing but a wonderful experience here. Doreen and Rosemary were warm, welcoming, helpful but let us do our thing and didn't make us feel awkward at all! The breakfasts were wonderful, being a choice of pancakes, omelets or eggs your way and toast. The room was a large queen size room, had cable TV, a tub shower with plenty of hot water and fresh towels every day! There was an air conditioner in the room, which we used only for the fan. There was a spotlight outside of our window, but it went off sometime in the night and didn't bother me, even though I have to have things "just so" to fall asleep. The bed was comfortable with quite a selection of pillows. I highly recommend staying here! Thanks Doreen and Rosemary!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aikieltweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this B and B and would return again in a heartbeat. The rooms are clean,beds comfortable,the service and breakfasts were impeccable,we both strongly recommend this as a place to stay in West Dover

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pslt1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Doreen Cooney runs a wonderful B&B near Mount Snow, & 40 minutes away Manchester known for it's outlets. Cozy rooms-some with fireplaces. Breakfasts are fabulous from fresh baked breads to blueberry pancakes and other goodies. Bottom line, we have been coming back to this B&B for the past fifteen years and have just returned from another most enjoyable stay.Many good restaurants in area. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

Room Tip: A variety of choices depending on what one is looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ram047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Recent ski trip to Vermont brought us to the Deerfield Valley Inn. My husband and I had a large bedroom with fireplace and sofa, which was great for relaxing and enjoying a glass of wine at the end of the day. Very quiet with wonderful and comfortable bed. The breakfasts were to die for and we appreciated having our own table to sit and enjoy that first cup of coffee in the morning. Hosts were friendly and helpful.This is an area where we ski frequently and will keep the Deerfield at the top of the list.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capekathybrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had only a few days in the area, but very much enjoyed it. The hosts at Deerfield were great and our spacious room was very comfortable. We had a fireplace and sofa so we didn't need to relax in the living room (which was inviting). Our hosts let us come back after skiing on check out day to change clothes for our trip to the airport and also suggested we take a lunch from a local shop instead of hitting fast food on the way to the airport. We will definately stay here if we come back to Mount Snow! The cost was a bit more than we usually spend but it seemed very competitve in the area and was worth it.

Room Tip: The hosts suggested that we take the room with a fireplace and we very much enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My husband and I were guests for 2 nights and it was truly delightful in all areas.
Immaculate lodging, warm and welcoming hosts, scrumptious breakfast and picnic lunch.
Gift certificate to the restaurant and a gift of Vermont maple syrup to take home were an additional bonus.
We have every intention of returning and reconnecting with Rosemary and Doreen who made us feel so special.

Pat and Dave Fraser
Tolland Ct

T

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.5 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
2.6 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#7 of 12 in Dover
272 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Valley Inn

Address: 120 Route 100, P.O. Box 1834, Dover, VT 05356-4407
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique-filled 9 guest room country inn with woodburning fireplaces, private baths, TV/DVDs, luxury linens and many amenities. Full cooked to order breakfast and afternoon refreshments served daily. Located in a 4 season resort area in Southern Vermont with spectacular scenery, golf, hiking, biking, fishing, boating, antiquing, music festivals, arts and crafts, skiing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing and sleigh rides all nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deerfield Valley Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing