We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Paw House Inn”
Review of The Paw House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Rutland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Paw House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 West Rutland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My Mom and I spent last weekend at the Paw House Inn with my 2 dogs, and absolutely loved it. We stayed at the "Bark Avenue Suite". From the private porch, it overlooked the huge back yard & agility park, and had it's own entrance. The owner was AWESOME. Cooked breakfast per order, and was extremely helpful and friendly. The suite was clean, and comfortable, and my dogs absolutely loved, I mean loved the place and the other guests/dogs. We did check out one of the restaurants the owner recommended, and it had an absolutely beautiful view (which of course we got pictures of) and everyone was just so friendly to my pups. We loved our time here, and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurette2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

owner tells you dogs are welcome than when you get there what a let down place is beyond dirty i know its for dogs but rooms are filhty i stayed in the best suite there /peeling paint all over deck dirty bedding/ bugs all over room and we booked 3nights left after 2, forget about refund, tells us places to eat that are dog friendly we go there no dogs allowed. first night tells us about dogs that aren't friendly below us and to not let my dogs near them, lets any dog stay there even anti social ones. who tried to get at us every time we left room. 2 night at 7 at night after you been out all day big loud farm tractor starts mowing the lawn! can't sit on my deck because of loud noise . why cut it then ! to disturb people! owner became rude bottom line cheaper cleaner places take dogs. dont beleive a thing the owner tells you. he justs wants your money.owner very rude and never at the inn lives, some where else. only cares about money. traveled to more countries than i can count, the owner here was the rudist ive ever came across has an excuse for everything.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDVermont, Owner at The Paw House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Omitted from this review are a few facts:

1. From the minute they arrived one guest in this party was verbally abusive to me, my staff, and other guests - inexcusably and constantly using the f word in his dialogue.
2. This particular guest was destructive and malicious - bragged to other guests (and in emails to me) that in retaliation for his dissatisfaction he intentionally spread leftover chicken throughout the yard, in the hot sun. Had we not immediately discovered and cleaned up his mess, your dogs would have found rotting chicken for a snack.
3. Besides being abusive and destructive, one person in this group paraded around the grounds shirtless and in his underwear.

We acknowledge that we could always improve, be gentler in difficult situations, present a cleaner inn, give better recommendations for things to do. Despite this review we have confidence that our efforts are mostly appreciated.

We ask you consider the many positive reviews that tout our inn's cleanliness, our overall friendliness, our love for your dogs, and warmth of the surrounding area.

Thank you for reading our response. If you have any questions about this review or our services, please contact us.

The Paw House Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you like traveling with your dog, this is the place for you. They go way beyond "dog friendly" and make this a truly welcoming environment for dogs. From the antique dog bed in my room, to the 24 hour kennel so you can safely leave your pet if you go out, to the great breakfast on the back porch where dogs visit with each other while their owners eat, this family run, friendly place thinks of everything for you and your dog's comfort and enjoyment. Clean, quiet, beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarefd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

If you are in the Northeast, or even close, my husband and I highly recommend "The Paws House Inn" in West Rutland, Vermont. This is truly a dog friendly B and B with a "serious", delicious breakfast… warm, freshly baked muffins, fresh fruit "parfait", juice, coffee or tea, and your choice of three omelets or waffles. They only use local ingredients and respect all dietary requirements. The inn is impeccably clean. There is an agility area (not professional}, but fun. The guest's dogs mingle as though they were participating in a college reunion. The owner Mitch had great suggestions for dog friendly restaurants and places to visit, hike or bike. Lola and Gus, on their first vacation, had a wonderful time, as did we. We were sad to leave, but will definitely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Spot" room on the ground floor with it's own porch, comfortable chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We went on vacation for three nights end of June beginning of July. Hubby and I had a wonderful vacation at the Paw House Inn. The suite with deck off the back was very comfy for all. I recommend this place to anyone that enjoys vacationing with your loving pups. They were able to meet new dog friends and we enjoyed meeting new Dog owners who had the same passion. Murphy and Carolyn were great hostesses. Breakfast on the porch each morning really set the mood for a fun filled day. Hiking in the back, playing in the Dog Play area, dining at the Lake House or swimming at the reservoir. We all slept in and look forward to another visit.
Some of our favorite friends - Lucic, Tomo, Onslo, Queen Katie, and Radley.

Jodi, Kevin, Teddi and Lynn :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relaxinpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had an amazing weekend at the Paw House Inn!!! This was our first vacation with our labradoodle Tomo, and it was a trip to remember! We hiked numerous trails and swam in several lakes with Tomo! The house is charming, clean and comfortable--you feel like you are home! It is a dog owner's paradise! We will go back again and again! We awoke each morning to a 3 course, delicious breakfast on their back porch with a view of the mountain! Murphy took excellent care of us and helped to make our trip a special one to remember! We give the Paw House Inn four out of four paws!! :) Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My fiance and I just came back from our second stay at The Paw House. The staff is amazing, rooms are beautiful and the breakfasts are so delicious! Our pup loves the play/agility area and we love being able to travel with him. We're making this an annual thing, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Shakespeare's Retreat is great!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Paw House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paw House Inn

Address: 1376 Clarendon Ave, West Rutland, VT 05777-9481
Region: United States > Vermont > West Rutland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Rutland
Price Range: £101 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast/Hotel that caters primarily to dog lovers and their dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Paw House Hotel West Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing