We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend at an authentic Relais & Chateau”
Review of Windham Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windham Hill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend at an authentic Relais & Chateau”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent a fabulous weekend at the Windham Hill Inn. We were very sad to leave on Sunday but we returned to New York with great memories. We were very touched by the incredible sense of hospitality, the generosity, and the amazingly tactful service of the Windham Inn team. We don't know where to start from. We felt as if we were at home although food and cocktails at the Windham Hill were certainly better than home (we recommend the outstanding dinner Tasting Menu). We loved the sophistication and refinement that we found in every detail. It makes the Windham Hill one of the very best Relais & Chateaux we have stayed at. The inn common areas and rooms are elegantly decorated and the views from the inn are marvelous. More importantly, we were overwhelmed by the sincere kindness of the staff and their enthusiasm in helping us make the best out of our Vermont weekend and feel extremely comfortable. A huge thank you to Katja, the Windham Inn charming innkeeper, and her whole team. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    17
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
166
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

14 of us stayed here for 3 nights. The location is simply stunning, we were fortunate to be here early September and the foliage was amazing. myself and 3 others stayed in the barn annex and the view from our balcony was simply stunning(see our pictures) I didn't want to leave the hotel. The service and cleanliness were impeccable!
We will definitely go back and wont hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurtgunzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was of the latter opinion till I stayed at this lovely inn. Walking into a large comfy room and seeing a claw foot tub next to the bed was a bit discomfiting but hey, when in Rome..It turned out to be a delightful experience, soaking in hot suds watching the firelight play around the room. And yes, the sight of an inviting bed a few inches away is quite conducive to romance.

The inn is luxuriously appointed but not at all pretentious. We took off our heavy snow boots and padded around in socks, feeling very much at home. Go in snow season and take advantage of their wooded hiking trail--snowshoes provided free of charge.

Room Tip: Only the suites have the bathtubs--ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgnyc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent one night at the Inn recently. It was fine. It is a Relais and Chateaux, and I think we may have expected more, but it is also not as expensive as most in the R and C family. It's perfectly comfortable, and the food in the restaurant was a bit better than OK. Nice touches were: gas fireplace in our room, coffee availability outside our room in the mornings. Needs a tune up: service in the dining room, which was very slow..and our room in the barn was very noisy, with lots of clomping around by the other guests. Not a dog friendly place, either. Wish I could be more excited about this property.

Room Tip: The Taft suite was OK...not as large as expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucinda00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My wife and I returned here to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary in the first weekend in January. We had stayed for one night in the summer years ago before the new Relais & Châteaux era. Katyana, the impeccable and delightful innkeeper and staff treated us like royalty and we are somewhat spoiled. The service and food is remarkable and hard to find anywhere. I have never taken the time to write a review and could not put this off another night as the snow flies again. So when you need some pampering R & Rgive this uniquely excellent inn a visit. Awesome.

Room Tip: The main house and the barn have different features. Ask about them to be most pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Such a lovely special place. I will always remember this Inn. We were upgraded from a small room in the house to a room in the Big white Barn when the owners discovered my now husband was proposing to me ! Great service. I remember flowers on my door step in the morning.... Lilacs in season I believe ! What a wonderful fragrance .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Windham Hill Inn for the first time in the fall of 2008. From the moment we arrived we were in love with the place. The blend of hospitality, scenery, elegantly rustic accomodations in the White Barn, and the amazing cuisine has made the Windham Hill our favorite getaway location in New England. We have stayed here four times and each experience not only provides us with great memories, but allows those of our previous stays to only grow sweeter. The hostess, Katja Matthews, leaves no detail unattended and is dedicated to assuring guests have a woderful, memorable stay at the Inn.

Room Tip: There are two buildings on site providing accommodations: the Main Inn and the White Barn which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QLobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Townshend
7.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
333 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
323 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
622 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Four Columns Inn
Four Columns Inn
#1 of 5 in Newfane
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windham Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windham Hill Inn

Property: Windham Hill Inn
Address: 311 Lawrence Dr, West Townshend, VT 05359-9715
Region: United States > Vermont > West Townshend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Townshend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windham Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-one guest rooms individually designed and decorated, furnished with antiques and locally crafted furniture. All rooms have luxury baths, some with jetted spa tubs. Most rooms are fitted with queen or king size bed, amenities including luxurious bath towels and thick terry robes, hair dryers and fine bath toiletries. Several rooms with private porch or window seats and 15 of the rooms feature fireplaces. Unique style lifts each room above the extraordinary, with stunning views across the gardens. Rates include full three-course gourmet breakfast and afternoon sweets with complimentary beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windham Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windham Hill Hotel West Townshend
Windham Hill Inn Vermont/West Townshend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing