We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windham Hill Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Windham Hill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Having dined there several times over the years, my wife, houseguest and I looked forward to our dinner last night. As usual, the setting and gardens were magnificent. The $68 meal was, however, moderately uninteresting and somewhat disappointing. The "Cuban" flavored roast pork was overcooked and had no real flavor....a couple of refried beans does not make for a Cuban dish. The beef tenderloin was undercooked and tiny. Granted, it could have been sent back but it was too small to bother. So too, the beef tartare appetizer .... so small. Service was adequate, forced smile and all. All in all, not a bad meal but certainly not a dining experience to remember

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    17
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
160
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

First time for my husband and I to stay at Windham Hill this past week and we both give it a big two thumbs up! We enjoy staying at various Relais and Chateau Inns and were not disappointed with Windham Hill. In fact we were delighted with Innkeeper Catya's warm welcome to us and all her team as well. The afternoon scones were as fresh as could be, cheese platter delicious, and, actually, preparing my own Keurig cup of coffee whenever I want it, with the Vermont Mountain coffee, guarantees the freshest cup! A bucolic and cozy environment and we did feel like all details were taken care of. The pool overlooking the mountains was so beautiful. . . and the various hiking paths were pristinely taken care of. While the meal was not as delicious as some other Relaix and Chateau experiences we have had, the presentation was perfect, the staff absolutely great, and breakfast, quite beautiful and delicious. I'd go back for sure!

Room Tip: Staying in the Inn is cozy and quant with the restaurant just downstairs. But, if you want to be awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nltcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Due to the price point here, I agree with the average reviews. Natural setting is idyllic. Flowers, trees, gardens, views of the mountains.
For the price, however, it should be better. Rooms start around $350 a night and dinner is $70 per person for 4 courses.
Quality of the food is average at best. This includes not only dinner and breakfast but the cookies/scones, and cheese plate. Honestly, all of it was not fresh if not stale.
I also expect coffee service to be fresh brewed coffee, not a help yourself keurig. Yogurt at breakfast in store-bought cups? Granola stale?
As I said, for the cost, it should have the special touches and not just pretend like it does.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
4 Thank CollegeBound45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

We have been regular guests at the Windham Hill Inn for about 15 years. Every time back, no matter what time of year, provides new and wonderful memories. Whether hiking in the woods, floating in the pool, snowshoeing across the meadow, sitting by the fireplace or enjoying a fabulous dinner the Windham Hill Inn will not disappoint you in anyway. Katja and her staff always make us feel right at home. They are the best in the business!!! It always feels like we are enjoying a little slice of heaven when visiting the Windham Hill Inn!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stevden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent a fabulous weekend at the Windham Hill Inn. We were very sad to leave on Sunday but we returned to New York with great memories. We were very touched by the incredible sense of hospitality, the generosity, and the amazingly tactful service of the Windham Inn team. We don't know where to start from. We felt as if we were at home although food and cocktails at the Windham Hill were certainly better than home (we recommend the outstanding dinner Tasting Menu). We loved the sophistication and refinement that we found in every detail. It makes the Windham Hill one of the very best Relais & Chateaux we have stayed at. The inn common areas and rooms are elegantly decorated and the views from the inn are marvelous. More importantly, we were overwhelmed by the sincere kindness of the staff and their enthusiasm in helping us make the best out of our Vermont weekend and feel extremely comfortable. A huge thank you to Katja, the Windham Inn charming innkeeper, and her whole team. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

14 of us stayed here for 3 nights. The location is simply stunning, we were fortunate to be here early September and the foliage was amazing. myself and 3 others stayed in the barn annex and the view from our balcony was simply stunning(see our pictures) I didn't want to leave the hotel. The service and cleanliness were impeccable!
We will definitely go back and wont hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurtgunzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was of the latter opinion till I stayed at this lovely inn. Walking into a large comfy room and seeing a claw foot tub next to the bed was a bit discomfiting but hey, when in Rome..It turned out to be a delightful experience, soaking in hot suds watching the firelight play around the room. And yes, the sight of an inviting bed a few inches away is quite conducive to romance.

The inn is luxuriously appointed but not at all pretentious. We took off our heavy snow boots and padded around in socks, feeling very much at home. Go in snow season and take advantage of their wooded hiking trail--snowshoes provided free of charge.

Room Tip: Only the suites have the bathtubs--ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgnyc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Townshend
19.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windham Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windham Hill Inn

Property: Windham Hill Inn
Address: 311 Lawrence Dr, West Townshend, VT 05359-9715
Region: United States > Vermont > West Townshend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Townshend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windham Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-one guest rooms individually designed and decorated, furnished with antiques and locally crafted furniture. All rooms have luxury baths, some with jetted spa tubs. Most rooms are fitted with queen or king size bed, amenities including luxurious bath towels and thick terry robes, hair dryers and fine bath toiletries. Several rooms with private porch or window seats and 15 of the rooms feature fireplaces. Unique style lifts each room above the extraordinary, with stunning views across the gardens. Rates include full three-course gourmet breakfast and afternoon sweets with complimentary beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Windham Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windham Hill Hotel West Townshend
Windham Hill Inn Vermont/West Townshend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing