We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First review was not unfavorable....how wrong I was!”
Review of Windham Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windham Hill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We revisited the Windham Hill Inn because our meals at a previous visit were not up to par, although everything else about this establishment was perfect. I am so glad that we gave them another chance to prove that their chef and the food he serves is perfection! Both my husband and I had wonderful meals, the perfect immaculate room and a welcoming staff that made us feel right at home. We look forward to our next visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemillie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Windham Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Innkeeper Katja Mathews warmly greets arriving guests at this Relais and Chateau Vermont hideaway with traditional New England style modern rooms, cozy public rooms and dining menus to please the most discriminate tastes. Enjoy bi-weekly Thursday jazz jams in the barn with local musicians. Special occasions like weddings, birthdays and anniversaries are hosted with attention given to every detail to make warm memories. Wine tasting dinners are regularly offered and oenophiles will be more than pleased. Hiking, skiing and other traditional Vermont activities abound. .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harvey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Windham Hill Inn. The setting is unspoilt and quiet, nestled in the Green Mountains. The ambiance is very relaxed but with impeccable service from the whole team. There are lots of tracks in the large grounds for a challenging run or more gentle hike.

We have stayed in many Relais et Chateaux over the years and this compares favourably to the best of them. We were really impressed with the personal and friendly service, with everything tailored to our individual needs. This extended to making me a bespoke sugar free muesli in the morning and arranging guided kayaking in some little known lakes in the mountains (highly recommended!)

We stayed in the new Cottage, which is even better than in the photos. It is huge, light and airy, well equipped and very comfortable. It has its own screened veranda and is very private. We enjoyed cooking a few meals in the kitchen and having our own private space.

The food in the restaurant is innovative and of the highest quality, with individual dietary needs catered for. The service was excellent too.

We really loved Vermont as a base for exploring and will come back.

Room Tip: The cottage is great for families
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzesmithkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Quite excellent place to stay, beautiful location and Katja the innkeeper in fantastic. For the first time in my life, I encountered chipmunks that were not scared of humans, quite nearer the inn. There are excellent trails for hiking on the ground, but be forewarned that there are steep hills. By the end of each hike, I was sweating like Patrick Ewing in the fourth quarter!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank NotoriousCLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We LOVE this little inn: such a beautiful spot and terrific pampering by the staff! Katja, the innkeeper, is sweet and lovely; very eager-to-please and provides guests with a memorable stay. There is not much to do, except hikes, rest and relaxation. There is a tennis court (back-yard and rustic, not in top condition) and swimming pool for some exercise and lounging. The stars at night and evening fireflies provide memorable sights. The meals at the inn could not be nicer or more romantic.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Barn twice, and both rooms were lovely. "Meadowlook" is perfect - gr...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tbellone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our group of ten (eight adults and two children over age 8) recently stayed at the Windham Inn to celebrate a family occasion. The natural beauty, service and food were beyond compare. In particular, the Innkeeper Katja delivers a level of service and attention to detail that we haven't experienced in years. As the owner she obviously cares immensely about every aspect of her guests' experience, and helps each guest feel truly cared for. We have stayed in more expensive inns in New England, but none have come close to the service that Katja delivers and expects from the rest of her staff. Every request/question/comment was attended to within literally seconds.

Activities abound, with easy access to multiple state parks, as well as six miles of well-marked hiking trails on the property. The trails are continually being improved and expanded. Not only does the inn provide several mountain bikes for use locally, but has an easily-installed bike rack to allow you to take their bikes to excellent local trails.

Food at the restaurant is outstanding. Make sure you enjoy one of the extremely-well prepared cocktails and appreciate the view before heading into the dining room.

Highly recommended in all respects.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler10028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at this Inn for three nights and were not disappointed with a thing. Location is amazing - you are surrounded by acres of trees offering trails for the hikers and in the winter, cross country skiing. Superb restaurant offering a very pleasant menu. Dan - the sommelier(although he would never wish to be called that) knows so much about wine he will delight you with his suggestions. Katja the Innkeeeper is just wonderful and has such an eye for detail to ensure your stay is as perfect as it can be. Peggy on the front desk does an amazing job throughout your stay and David, the chef is responsible for my expanding waistline! Can't thank everyone enough for a wonderful retreat in the Vermont countryside. Everyone should go here for an escape from civilisation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyH791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Townshend
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
7.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
337 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
641 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Four Columns Inn
Four Columns Inn
#1 of 5 in Newfane
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windham Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windham Hill Inn

Address: 311 Lawrence Dr, West Townshend, VT 05359-9715
Region: United States > Vermont > West Townshend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Townshend
Price Range: £165 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windham Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-one guest rooms individually designed and decorated, furnished with antiques and locally crafted furniture. All rooms have luxury baths, some with jetted spa tubs. Most rooms are fitted with queen or king size bed, amenities including luxurious bath towels and thick terry robes, hair dryers and fine bath toiletries. Several rooms with private porch or window seats and 15 of the rooms feature fireplaces. Unique style lifts each room above the extraordinary, with stunning views across the gardens. Rates include full three-course gourmet breakfast and afternoon sweets with complimentary beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Windham Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windham Hill Hotel West Townshend
Windham Hill Inn Vermont/West Townshend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing