We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windham Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windham Hill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

My husband and I visited vermont for a weekend of relaxation & absolutely LOVED the Windham Hill Inn. We stayed in the Matilda Lawrence room, which was great. Unfortunately, the weather was rainy & cloudy that weekend, but the views from the room would have been beautiful had it been sunny or even snowy. We hiked on their trail, walked around the premises, even played Scrabble (they have boardgames in their lounge area). Their breakfast & dinner were outstanding! Everything was very clean as well. Overall, a great place for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heysarahbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    17
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
161
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

Stayed in the Marion Goodfellow room for one night over a weekend in May - the wildflowers were just starting to bloom and enjoyed the scenic drive up from Boston.
The room we stayed in was gorgeous - the cupola with its 360 degree views was pretty special, and after reading the guest book, seemed like everyone else thought so, too. The large whirlpool tub in the bathroom was also fantastic.

We started the hike around the grounds in sandals and it was far too trecherous for us - I've heard the waterfall is pretty special, but not for the faint at heart.

Our dinner was excellent - fresh, local ingredients, and a fabulous wine list. They had an impressive selection of Washington Reds - try the Woodward Canyon Old Vines cab if they still have it - purple inky color and long, tannic finish (almost 15% alcohol) that goes on and on. I've taken my girlfriend to tons of fantastic restaurants in London and she still maintains this meal was one of the best she's ever had.

I would come back for the wine list / food alone, and the excellent setting makes this a place to return to again and again.

  • Liked — Food, wine, and Cupola
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — They have some great packages off peak including meals and accomodation
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dbesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2006

We recently spent a weekend at WHI. It was a great experience from the minute we arrived until we departed. The owners/innkeepers, Joe and Marina, are active in running the inn. They are friendly, capable, and solicitious without being overbearing. We stayed in the white barn annex in a room which was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The same can be said of both buildings which comprise WHI. There are lots of flowers which add color to the grounds, in addition to foot paths to take you around the property. The staff is pleasant and does a good job. The real jewel here is the dining room. The dinner menu has varied entrees which are fresh, tasty, and presented in an attractive manner. The service is efficient and friendly, with Joe on hand to assist. The wine menu has something for everyone, and equal to what you find in a fine reataurant. Joe made two wine selections for dinner, both of which well complimented our meals. (He has a future in his next life as excellent sommelier.) A healthy/hearty breakfast was included in the cost of our room. All in all, our stay at WHI left nothing to be desired. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank wjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2005

My husband and I stayed here in March of 2005 for a ski weekend and loved every aspect of the Inn. Secluded location, but a manageable drive to Stratton and Mount Snow. The converted barn is absolutely adorable -- quaint and cozy -- as is the main inn. The West Room, where we stayed, is perhaps one of the smaller rooms, but beautifully decorated, clean and charming, with a fireplace and skylights. The restaurant was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Overall service was great. An excellent choice for a romantic place to get away from it all. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wanderer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2005

My husband and I just returned from two days of heaven in Vermont. The Inn is situated in a beautiful spot, the rooms are beautiful and spotless and the staff are warm and friendly. We stayed in the North Loft room featuring a very large jacuzzi, a lovely fireplace and tasteful furnishings. The breakfast each morning was delicious as were the dinners. I would definately return again when I am in need of an escape from the city.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy Bradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2005

We stayed here for a long weekend, in the barn. Matilda's room was wonderful, with a spectacular view, a large firm bed with a featherbed, a fireplace with two comfortable chairs for reading, a deck, and a great bathroom with a large, three-sided-glass shower (two showerheads) and a large jacuzzi tub. The inn has been thoughtfully designed and equipped for guests' comfort, right down to the PC in the barn's downstairs conference room where guests can check email.

The food was fresh, creative, and thoughtfully prepared, and there is a very good wine list. The inn is located in a beautiful, untrampled corner of Vermont, close to many activities, and the innkeepers provide lots of great information in your room about how to enjoy the inn and the surrounding area. The weather was not great when we were there, so we missed hiking on the trails, but there are many things to do onsite (pool, tennis, cross-country skiing, etc.) depending on the season.

I can't say enough about the inn itself -- probably the nicest of the dozens we have been to.

Unfortunately, as with so many places today, the service didn't live up to the facility. I give high marks to the wonderful housekeeping staff --
everything is immaculate -- and to proprietor Marina, who is warm and gracious. But the rest of the staff seemed like they were just going through the motions. And one waiter's bizarre demeanor and another person's condescending attitude were enough for us to pretty much avoid the dining room toward the end of our visit. (I long for the days when there were professional waiters who took pride in and had enthusiasm about service, instead of being resentful and superior when waiting on people.)

To their credit, the owners/innkeepers encourage guests to speak up and not "suffer in silence" if anything is not to their liking. Which I admittedly didn't do. But we haven't been back since based on the service. The staff may have changed since we were there, granted.

  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JL_Brown_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2005

Spring in New England can be pretty dreary. The snow is dirty, the trees are bare and it can rain for days. To escape all this dreariness, we drove to the Windham Hill Inn and found an incredible respite from all our stresses and boredom with the season.

We selected the Meadowlook room. It was the best! It had a big stone fireplace, soaking tub and huge windows overlooking the meadow and mountains. Just getting to the room was fun because it's in the original barn. They've left a portion of the barn intact with a huge chandelier inside. It's really unique and cozy. The luxury rooms are on the top floor.

The food was superb. Because there still was some snow left, we went cross country skiing. They have a ski hut on the property where you can get skis and boots. We had a blast.

We felt very pampered and kept imaging what the Inn looks like in the summer with all the flowers. The pool in the meadow must be a wonderful place on a hot night. Someone wrote in the guest book that during the summer the meadow is covered with fire flies and they even saw a rainbow over the mountains. It's really heaven on earth and romantic. I place this Inn on the same level as the Rabbit Hill Inn in Northern Vermont. Both Inns
capture Vermont at its best.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank watervillevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Townshend
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
7.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Four Columns Inn
Four Columns Inn
#1 of 5 in Newfane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windham Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windham Hill Inn

Property: Windham Hill Inn
Address: 311 Lawrence Dr, West Townshend, VT 05359-9715
Region: United States > Vermont > West Townshend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Townshend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windham Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-one guest rooms individually designed and decorated, furnished with antiques and locally crafted furniture. All rooms have luxury baths, some with jetted spa tubs. Most rooms are fitted with queen or king size bed, amenities including luxurious bath towels and thick terry robes, hair dryers and fine bath toiletries. Several rooms with private porch or window seats and 15 of the rooms feature fireplaces. Unique style lifts each room above the extraordinary, with stunning views across the gardens. Rates include full three-course gourmet breakfast and afternoon sweets with complimentary beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windham Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windham Hill Hotel West Townshend
Windham Hill Inn Vermont/West Townshend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing