We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much To See”

Vermont Country Store
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are The Vermont Country Store, the Purveyors of the Practical and Hard-to-Find. Step back in time as you browse our aisles of long lost products that still work as well today as they did "back in the day!" From countless jars of penny candy to Vermont's finest selections of locally made cheese and meats, to problem-solvers for your household to toys for the littlest ones, you'll feel like you took a step back in time, and become a kid in a candy store when you walk through our doors! Hours for Fall & Winter beginning on Oct 26rd 9:00-6:00 daily.
Hopton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“So Much To See”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stopped here on our way home from a vacation in Vermont. The store is packed top to bottom with so many unique items. We had a great time looking and looking on both floors. The prices of some items are very pricey but worth the price to be able to find it. We would certainly stop again when we are in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a great time visiting our store and finding many fun and hard to find items. Have a great day!
Sincerely, Jim Szabo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    153
    48
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Cute Shop.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a Cute Store, Lots of samples for taste testing. Wonderful little candy store, and trinkets if you are looking to buy. In the candy store they have older candy from when i was little that i could not find anywhere else. Cute little shop. Nice little shop to go look at, some things pricey depending on the item.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,319 reviews
770 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
“A shoppertainment retail experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location, décor, interior layout, wares, and foods of the Vermont Country Store blend to give one the sense of having stepped back to a time that was simpler, slower-paced, quieter, and friendlier. It adds up to wonderful recreational shopping, or if you prefer, a shoppertainment retail experience.

My wife and I browsed the Vermont Country Store several times while staying at the nearby Inn at Weston. It was loads of fun, but we did very little buying. The prices at this store leave no doubt that they’re mighty proud of their merchandise. Fortunately, you don’t have to spend a lot of money to have a great time at the Vermont Country Store. In fact, you need not feel self-conscious at all if you don't get your wallet out, or if you just buy something like jam, candy (what a wonderful selection!), or those little maple leaf-shaped containers of maple syrup that make dandy gifts to the folks back home.

Take a few moments to look at the store’s Scale Museum, which is more interesting than the name suggests. Be sure to get your “been there, done that” photo at the obvious place near the back entrance. Aside to husbands: If you can manage to find it unoccupied, the swing set near the parking lot makes a dandy place to loiter in the shade while waiting for your wife.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Citallwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap - cute - but....”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Much is overpriced - cute store - but a tourist trap. Nice to go and look around if you are in area - lots of this and that - but know that you can purchase many items much cheaper elsewhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank CoffeeGirl3_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit to The Vermont Country Store. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience, but wanted to help you understand why our prices may not always be the cheapest in town.
Since 1946, we have been offering quality items that are practical and hard to find with service that is second to none in a country store setting from a bygone era. We pride ourselves on offering an honest value for the products we sell, and there’s no need to take a chance on anything you buy from us. You can taste dozens of locally made and specialty foods and candies, use tried-and-true household cleaning solutions, and delight in our fragrances, creams and lotions. Our helpful sales associates will ensure you find the best products to suit your needs, because they know and use many of our products themselves! If, for some reason, something isn’t to your liking, we will gladly exchange any item or refund your money, without hassle or fuss — forever.
All of this affords you the opportunity to buy from us with the assurance that we stand behind everything that we sell and the expectation that your visit to The Vermont Country Store will be an experience, rather than just a shopping trip. We believe that the value and hospitality we provide to our customers is worth more than what you can find in discount department stores that are around every corner.
We hope that you enjoyed your trip and that you’ll stop in to see us again the next time you visit Vermont!
All the best
Jim Szabo
Manager
jszabo@vermontcountstore.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It is a cute store but we found it very pricey. You get to sample many items but we did not end up buying much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oneblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vermont Country Store also viewed

 

Been to Vermont Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing