We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!”
Review of The Inn at Weston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Weston
Ranked #1 of 3 Weston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I visited Vermont for the first time recently and stayed at the Inn at Weston. We were warmly welcomed by Bob and Linda our hosts on arrival. Bob made a point of showing us around the facility and explained all of the conveniences in our room. Linda's breakfasts were fabulous, what a great way to start the day! (a choice of two options daily). Her home made granola was to die for! Bob assisted us with a suggested agenda for our day trip and we loved every minute of it (visited Woodstock and Quechee - plenty to see!). Dinner at the Inn was excellent as was the meal service.
One of the reasons we selected the Inn was the fact that we could bring our pet (Chloe - border collie). Chloe received as warm a welcome as we did! Chloe got the hang of heading up to the room very quickly and made herself right at home.
With the Follette room located in the Carriage House, a thoughtful touch was the complimentary fresh brewed coffee available at the foot of the staircase first thing every morning.

Overall an excellent experience. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Follette room as it was one of the pet friendly options. The room is located on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigWorldViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boblinvermont, Owner at The Inn at Weston, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and of course, Chloe! She was a very well behaved guest. It means the world to us that you enjoyed your stay and are willing to spread the word. Hurry back! Would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    25
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
16
150
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had high hopes for this inn given its price and the reviews we had read - to say it disappointed was an understatement. Our room, Douglas,was across the road from the main house in the carriage house. We were disappointed by the dated decor and bathroom. The floor of the room was sloping so much that there was a 4inch gap at the door and the bed was propped up on books! The bed was full of lumps and bumps and the linens and towels were tired.Some may find the room charming, at €235 a night we did not.
There was no wifi or tv in the room and whilst we are not on holiday to watch tv we do need to keep in touch with our business whilst we were away. Wifi was available in the main house.
We ate dinner in the inn on the first night which was quite good but we did find the place lacked atmosphere and was very expensive. A captive audience should not mean over charging. Our waitress was ok but only really became animated when telling us how to leave a tip.
The food at breakfast was good with plenty of choice with pleasant service.
We did not feel the host was terribly welcoming or charming and the inn certainly was not. For the price it was very disappointing

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boblinvermont, Owner at The Inn at Weston, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
We are always grateful for reviews and always take them as an opportunity to learn and improve. For example, we fully understand the issue of the availability of wifi. It is available everywhere in the Main Inn, but this guest is correct that it is not currently available in the Coleman House. We bought an extender for our router hoping this would solve the issue, but it did not. Accordingly, we have purchased a new computer and router and will establish a new newtwork at the Coleman House by next week (as of this writing 10/24) so that everyone staying with us will have free access to wifi all of the time they are here. The Douglas Room, where these guests stayed, is our least expensive room, and has the fewest amenities of any room in the Inn. The price they paid was $235 because they came at the height of Foliage season, when we were 100% occupied for many nights in a row, and in fact turned many away for lack of availability. The normal price for that room is $185, and it is available at considerably lower rates at times of the year which are not as busy.Ten of our thirteen rooms have television, nine have a fireplace, and all of the rooms in the Main Inn have whirlpool tubs, sitting areas, and some have outside sitting decks and steam-shower/saunas. We pride ourselves on the comfort of our beds, and we are very sorry that we did not succeed with these guests. Since they have been here, we have added a new featherbed to that bed, and are confident that it's comfort has improved. Many other reviews on Trip Advisor and elsewhere have attributed to the comfort of the beds, and the rooms in general. Finally, these guests made their reservation in mid August, at a time when rooms with many other amenities were available. They could have had these amenities if they chose.to do so. Douglas Room is in fact our smallest room with the least amenities, and is always the lowest price. Our website is accurate as to the pictures of the room and to the description of available amenities.We thank these guests for their comments, and we always try to convert guest comments into improvements on our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My husband I were in Vermont to see the fall colors. We loved this inn!!!! We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and this was one of our favorites. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had a great day in Woodstock based on their recommendations. The room(Waite) was very comfortable, and the food was great. They made accommodations for my diet restrictions and the service was very good. I really loved the vibe of this place and would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boblinvermont, Owner at The Inn at Weston, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed meeting you and hope you will return when you come back to the Northeast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Weston is a charming small town with a number of interesting shops. It is centrally located in the Green Mountains with Bennington and Manchester to the south and west and Grafton and Woodstock to the east and north. We are very happy that we picked Weston to stay over Woodstock as Rt 100 is a quiet mountain road while Rt 4 is continuous traffic. However Weston does not have cell service.

Linda and Bob were great hosts and their dog Lexi gave us a friendly, calm greeting every morning. We stayed in the Waite room in the main house. It is a spacious room with a gas fireplace to take the chill out of the air. We had a large bathroom with both a sauna shower and a Jacuzzi tub. Our kingsize bed was extremely comfortable, one of the best we have had anywhere. Our room had great wifi, but I am not sure that is true of all the rooms. We would have liked a reading light by the second chair in the room, but I am not sure how they could accomplish that.

The breakfast was excellent with two hot choices each morning, but never the same in the three days we stayed. Two of the three nights we had dinner at the Inn, which is open the public for dinner, and we highly recommend the scallops and duck. There are no other places to eat dinner in Weston so you have to go nine miles to Ludlow or six miles to Londonderry if you do not eat at the Inn.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Waite Room. It is in the main building with the restaurant, library, bar, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandLinda042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed here with our Cocker Spaniel during Columbus Day weekend. Our room, "Waite", was on the second floor of the main house. It was small, but comfortable, with a whirlpool tub and a steam shower. Unfortunately, the shower enclosure was too small for the size of the steam generator, so, after the steam came on, one could stay for only a few minutes before it became unbearably hot. The breakfasts were cooked to order and good. So, too, was our one dinner.

Room Tip: The carriage house suites are larger and located further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courcierwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I ( and our little dog Bella ) , were extremely happy with this Inn...well run and very casual...Bob and Linda pay attention to every detail ( extra early coffee in morning...afternoon tea....pet friendly...etc )...room ( Follette ) was clean and comfortable..everything was in working order...view from the deck was relaxing...food was definitely special...piano playing during dinner was an extra treat ( thanks George ! )....great location...did Woodstock day trip with plenty of time to explore.....really nothing to complain about......thanks again for a truly relaxing getaway !

Luca and Gail, RI

Room Tip: Carriage house rooms are worth it....jacuzzi is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

At $325 a night, this one is way overpriced for its location. The website looks beautiful but in real life, the actual Inn is very tired looking. They do have lovely plants and landscape around the facility and that helps a lot from the windows. The rooms were clean, which was nice, but the bed was horrendous.
The only other thing in town is the Vermont Country store. They are in a dead zone, so don't count on getting internet. We know we shouldn't care that much, but that is how we travel and do business at the same time. The owner offered to let us use their phone. We tried their dinner the night we stayed and it was pretty good...but nothing to rave about. Loved the piano player, our sweet waitress at dinner, and the morning breakfast lady. On the previous night at the Stowe Mt Lodge for $75 less we had beautiful views, marble baths, a fabulous king bed,a spa, and lots to do, so this was really a disappointment following that. We stayed at a B&B on Lake Champlain 3 nights before, with our own living room, bed, breakfast and bath for $125 with lake views out of practically every window.
Sorry Linda and Bob. I just have to tell the truth. Lots of charm and good will, but the value is way out of line, though some of the touches are very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicsMamaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boblinvermont, Owner at The Inn at Weston, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
We are very disappointed that your stay with us was not what you hoped it would be. Since you did not mention what you you were in, I am going to assume that you were in the "Carriage House". I have just placed new feather beds on those mattresses and am sorry you were not comfortable. I always ask guests if they are comfortable since your comfort is of utmost importance to us. If you had told us that the bed was "horrendous", I would have made other arrangements of fixed the problem if I could. Otherwise we could have arranged accommodations elsewhere.
The Inn has a new paint job and new shutters so I don't understand the "tired" comment.
The only thing in town is not the Vermont Country Store. There are three wonderful galleries, A Christmas shop, The Village Store, a Fudge shop, an antique shop, an old mill that has been restored with a beautiful waterfall, a Tinsmith, a museum, two beautiful New England churches and The Weston Priory. Weston is a small southern Vermont village with a town green and gazebo. We also have the Weston Playhouse Theater which boasts award winning Summer Theater.
Your comment about "don't count on getting internet" is misleading. We do have wi-fi. We do not have cell service which is really beyond our control.
I am sorry you do not think you had value here compared to your previous lodging. You failed to mention that your room also had an oversize Jacuzzi for two, a walk in sauna/steam shower, a fireplace and your own private deck.
We take it to heart when guests are not satisfied. We wish we could have resolved these issues before you left here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
12.3 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
332 reviews
16.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
10.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
4.5 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
57 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Weston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Weston

Property: The Inn at Weston
Address: 630 Main St, Weston, VT 05161-5503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of the Green Mountains at our Vermont bed and breakfast. Warm hospitality await you at the Inn at Weston, located in the quaint village of Weston in Southern Vermont. Relax and unwind in one of our 13 elegant guestrooms. Enjoy strolls through the village with it’s waterfall, shops and galleries. When you return from exploring the area, retire to our gardens or the deck and gazebo with a glass of wine. Finish your day with a romantic candle-lit dinner by our talented chef in our elegant dining room featuring live piano music nightly. Plan your romantic getaway in Vermont today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Weston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Weston Hotel Weston
Weston Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing