We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem in Weston”
Review of Bryant House

Bryant House
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Step back in time and relax in our 1880's farmhouse and tavern. The Bryant House Restaurant and Tavern at The Vermont Country Store serves up comfort food sure to please. From grass-fed burgers, chicken pot pie, pot roast, burgers, fish and chips, homemade desserts and more, there is something for everyone from grandkids to grandparents. In summer, enjoy a Maple Creemee or Wilcox Ice Cream at our Mildred's Dairy Bar while relaxing outdoors! Lunch served 7 days a week 11-3:30 Dinners Wednesday- Saturday 4:00- 7:30
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic gem in Weston”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I had one of the best burger ever (grass fed) at the Bryant House with a magnificent broccoli soup. Everyone at our table was delighted with their choices, including the Salmon on the mill wood plank (from the 100 year old tile machine in Weston). Great stuff. Service great too. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermitage67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Manager at Bryant House, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
It’s so nice to hear that your group enjoyed their meals at the Bryant House! We are proud supporters of the Farm to Table concept, and so whenever possible, we source our meats, vegetables and dairy products from small-scale, local farmers. We make sure our visitors enjoy the freshest, highest quality ingredients. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Kind regards,
Jim Szabo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    92
    33
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buda, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Be sure to try the Yankee pot roast!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We've often enjoyed lunch at Bryant House on our visits to what I call the Vermont Crunchy Store, and this year's visit definitely kept a good thing going. My pot roast was terrific, as was Madame's open-face turkey sandwich; he also enjoyed the wines, available by the glass at really good prices. Service, on a very busy Thursday, was friendly and reasonably quick, and the bar room (where we usually end up) is a pleasant venue with its old-style dark wood paneling (moved from another old house, and a perfect fit, we're told). There are also rooms upstairs where you can look over some classic old New England furniture.

Bryant House is quite popular, particularly in the summer, so it's a good idea to put your name and preferred time in early. They don't do reservations for specific times, as such, but will get you seated within a few minutes of what you've asked for; at least, the arrangement has always worked for us. Parking is plentiful in the VCS lots. All varieties of credit cards are accepted as well.

Bryant House is a wonderful slice of old Vermont, and even if you've got to wait a while, you'll be glad you stopped in.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Excellent find for lunch”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

On a quick trip through central Vermont, we decided to checkout the Vermont Country Store (VCS), which is kind of quaint, and tried the Bryant House for lunch. It turned out to be a better reason to visit Weston, VT than browsing in the store!

This old converted home, right next to the VCS, is a great place for a leisurely lunch. An interesting selection of soups, sandwiches, and entrées, with fresh ingredients. I had the grilled ham and cheese sandwich, with local Vermont cheddar ... delicious! They also had a local draft root beer, which was very flavorful and not as sweet as the supermarket varieties ... very good.

If you have some time, check it out, it's excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Manager at Bryant House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review of your lunch at the Bryant House. The grilled ham and cheese with local Vermont cheddar is one of our most popular lunch menu items. I hope you can visit us again real soon and try another one of our customer favorites, like The Pilgrim Sandwich, made with hand-carved roast turkey layered onto artisan cranberry-pecan bread with fresh herbed stuffing, lettuce, homemade cranberry mayo, cheddar and applewood smoked bacon. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with others!
Jim Szabo, Store Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had lunch here as a matter of convenience while visiting the Vermont Country Store, and we were surprised with how good it was. We had sandwiches, a grilled cheese that ranked among the best ever, and an exceptionally good veggie burger. The fries with both were fresh and tasty, and the pickles, which are usually an afterthought, were incredibly good. Fine service and a calm atmosphere. Altogether, totally enjoyable, and quite reasonably priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TxTraveler254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service and very tasty food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent Customer Service and very tasty food. This is an old House converted in a Restaurant, it has very well kept places with tables ready to order.
The attention we had was wonderful, we were served by Miss Morgan who is Special she has a great sense of Humor.
Nice place to eat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eduardo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryant House also viewed

 

Been to Bryant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing