We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent european style lodgings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Colonial House Inn & Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Weston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My 9-year-old son and I enjoyed a two day stay at the Inn while en route to music camp further north. The price is right, and the rooms in the inn are quaint, with a real New England country inn feel to them. Yes, there is no complimentary shampoo or lotion, but you don't need it, and hair dryers - if you need one - are stored in a drawer below the sink in the bathroom. The property feels very safe, and it's not a big deal to leave your room unlocked during breakfast or while you shower in an adjacent bathroom. Breakfasts are generous and the service is friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: For a more authentic New England feel, choose a room in the original inn rather than a motel. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesparg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

The best part of this Inn is the included breakfast. It is made to order with juice, coffee, fruit, hot cereal, etc. Jeff's omelets were great. The bathroom was very small. When sitting on the toilet my knees hit the wall and I am only 5'3". There was no shampoo or hair dryer. I had to go to the office for a hair dryer. The most disappointing thing was when we returned to our room from breakfast at 9:30 two maids were in our room cleaning. We had not packed and our things were on the beds with our suitcases so everything had been moved. Check-out is not until 11:00 so there was no reason for this. We felt we were being rushed out and wondered after we left if we had packed everything. The price was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you are searching for a laid back quiet place for some good rest and relaxation look no further. As a single female I felt totally safe here, including having my windows open at night. One morning I had accidentally not pulled the locked door to my room totally shut, and came back later in the day to find everything in its place. Where else can one stay and be able to say that?
Wonderful breakfasts (I had Jeff's omelets every morning), plenty of coffee, great service, lots of smiles. Kim and Jeff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. All questions and needs were met. I will definitely return and stay here during my next Vermont "fix".

Room Tip: I stayed in the motel section room #4 on the back side. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Doesn't get better than that. My girlfriend and myself have stayed at the Colonial twice. The first time we were close to being caught in a thunderstorm on a motorcycle and asked around town and were directed to Kim and Jeff at the Colonial. Couldn't have been more perfect so next time we were up in Vermont we decided to swing by again and visit Kim, Jeff, and Alexis and have a chance to pet Sadie and Phin. Definitely would recommend the Colonial as an affordable spot with friendly folks and great food!

Room Tip: Deluxe motel rooms have nice sitting chairs to watch thunderstorms roll in over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've been a regular here for several decades as I worked at the Weston Playhouse - terrific summer theater! - years ago and return on a near-annual basis. From the moment you check in, you are made to feel welcome. A venerable Golden Retriever gives you a gentle look as you help yourself to welcome coffee and cookies. We always stay in the motel (rather than upstairs in the Inn) since it has private bathrooms. The motel rooms are comfortable but not lavish. My one quibble is with the bathroom, which is very cramped. The breakfasts are to die for. Jeff presides over the stove, turning out omelets and waffles, served with REAL heated MAPLE syrup. . None of this "Karo" or "Aunt Jemima" cane sugar stuff.Fresh local fruit and a Scottish oatmeal are also in the offing Every breakfast offers several varieties of bread and coffee cakes. My one quibble with breakfast is that the coffee is not as strong as I like it, but I can quite happily drink two or three cups of espresso first thing in the morning, so I'm a bit "off the charts" as far as that is concerned.

Room Tip: The computerized rating required me to rate the nonexistent pool and fitness center. There is nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarlMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

July trip to Weston felt like a trip home. Good service, great people, good value. My first time to Vermont and for my five day visit, it was just wonderful. Make sure you like pets (I DO) make sure you have a car (no shuttles, buses, taxis in this neck of the woods) and make sure you try the cookies and afternoon lemonade. Slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suz7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Friends and I planned a trip to Weston Vermont to visit Weston Priory for the weekend of July 12 to July 15. This was our first visit to the Colonial House Inn & Motel. The owners and staff could not be more helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and everyone was very hospitable. Was the perfect place to stay when visiting the Priory, or for any other travel in that area of Vermont. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelPetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
11.1 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
342 reviews
13.2 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
656 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Weston
The Inn at Weston
#1 of 3 in Weston
233 reviews
3.6 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial House Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial House Inn & Motel

Address: 287 Rte 100, Weston, VT 05161-5402
Region: United States > Vermont > Weston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very comfortable and affordable accommodations with full country breakfast: fresh pancakes with real Vermont Maple Syrup & made-to-order omelettes, fresh fruit or juice, coffee cake, hot cereal, coffee or tea. All baked goods from family bakery. Complimentary afternoon cookies, 24-hour coffee & tea available in cozy guest living room with lovely views. Dinner on weekends. All rooms non-smoking. Motel rooms with private bath & TV; inn rooms with shared bath. Family and Pet FRIENDLY. Your "Home Away from Home." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Colonial House Hotel Weston
The Colonial House Inn And Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing