We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely last minute stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Colonial House Inn & Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Weston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We took a detour to the Vermont Country Store and asked for a recommendation for lodging. They sent us to the Colonial House Inn and were we delighted. Wonderful room with 1 queen and 2 twins for our teenagers with kitchen we did not use. Lovely picture window looking out on beautiful flower garden with bird feeders and mountains in the background. We were greeted warmly and invited into the family common areas to relax and visit with innkeepers and other guests. The breakfast in the morning was worth the reasonable price! Delicious 9 grain cereal with Greenmoutain coffees, juice, fruit, omelets, muffins, french toast, bacon. I will never forget
our stay at this lovely in and hope to return someday.

Room Tip: our room was on the back attached to the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernbelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have been coming to the Colonial House Inn & Motel for over 20 years. We return because of the homey and welcoming atmosphere created by the innkeepers, Jeff & Kim,their staff, and the other guests that we meet while there. The country breakfasts are delicious and filling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My annual trip to "CoHo" is a homecoming for me. Kim, Jeff, and staff make this place so welcoming with their warm, friendly spirits. If you travel alone and like meeting new people, this is a great place to go. It is easy to meet people here and it is just as easy to find peace and quiet in a relaxed atmosphere. The Inn is very clean and homey. Food is awesome! Can't wait to return again next year.

Room Tip: I stay in room 6, located upstairs in the Inn. Like it because it has a queen bed. If you have tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had booked the room quite some time ahead, because of warnings in the internet about the busy foliage season. Otherwise as a walk-in, we would certainly have chosen another place to stay. The outside of the Inn did not look very promising with a lot of junk in the yard and a driveway with potholes with water, see picture enclosed. The room was very dated, cramped with old furniture (thrift store type) absolutely not what one could expect for a room rate of US$ 120.-. This was, compared to all other overnight stays during our trip, the most expensive rate. We had chosen for this Inn, because of the ratings here in Tripadvisor, which we so far could rely on. But in this case we were very disappointed. We still cannot believe that other rooms were so much better, seen from the general looks of the place. There are some pro’s to mention, at least the bed was clean and the bathroom too, but everything very, very old. There was an extensive breakfast included, which we do not prefer and especially not when that makes the price going up. We have booked all our stays of our New England tour based on Tripadvisor reviews, but all other places were much more value for money than this one. The place was quite busy, what amazed us, and the owners will not get too excited from our review. They were friendly, but that is really all we can say. What we also found disturbing is that there were signs everywhere that the staff was so much dependent on tips. This may be true for the breakfast service, but for $ 120 we expect a clean room right from the beginning and do not see any need for tipping when staying just one night. For what? But this may be a European view on the matter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AES132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Coming from The Netherlands I enjoyed the relaxed admosphere and warmth of place. If you want a real taste of warmth of New England, go to this place. The breakfast is also outstanding!

Sisca Vierstra
Broek
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sisca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Owners Kim & Jeff are fabulous inn keepers. The breakfasts served are varied and delicious. When the clientele are sufficient numbers, the dinners prepared by Jeff, Kim and Byron are absolutely fantastic and the choices of entrees very delightful and nutritious.
Housekeeping staff are very thorough and thoughtful. Meal assistant staff are very knowledgeable and enjoy their service in waiting and feeding happy "campers".
"See you next year!" is repeated numerous times when Inn Guests are leaving.

Room Tip: All rooms in the motel are large enough to accommodate two travelers comfortably. The Inn section ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Friendly ,clean, accommodating. The breakfast was out of this world, very tasty. The stay was very relaxing. The people who gathered for breakfast were lovely to be with. Jeff and Kim were the best of the best hosts. I certainly would return to the Colonial house again and would recommend it to others. SR. Mary from Cumberland RI and friend .

Room Tip: I like the hotel rooms because there are just a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfc1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Colonial House Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial House Inn & Motel

Address: 287 Rte 100, Weston, VT 05161-5402
Region: United States > Vermont > Weston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range: £51 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very comfortable and affordable accommodations with full country breakfast: fresh pancakes with real Vermont Maple Syrup & made-to-order omelettes, fresh fruit or juice, coffee cake, hot cereal, coffee or tea. All baked goods from family bakery. Complimentary afternoon cookies, 24-hour coffee & tea available in cozy guest living room with lovely views. Dinner on weekends. All rooms non-smoking. Motel rooms with private bath & TV; inn rooms with shared bath. Family and Pet FRIENDLY. Your "Home Away from Home." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Colonial House Hotel Weston
The Colonial House Inn And Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing