We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not starbucks, and that's good”
Review of Tuckerbox

Tuckerbox
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not starbucks, and that's good”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Housed in an exterior corner of a historic building, the setting is pretty cool. Large glass windows give it a very open and airy feel, though the views (street and railroad) and nothing amazing. The place feels like an old college frat sans the stale beer smell. Think very homey and comfortable. the lunch selection is limited but everything is quite good. Definitely good coffee and Chai too. Lots of folks hanging for a long time, working on their computers. Definitely worth a visit if you're looking to have a good coffee in a relaxed, independently owned java shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vtmudhog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    68
    14
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor quality”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I thought I had an iron stomach until I ate. The Chicken and pesto sandwich while tasty enough gave me indigestion, the only other thing I have ever eaten that made me that sick was applebees burgers. Other than that expensive and the service is slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank airicab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great small breakfast”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Not a full service breakfast restaurant rather a small cafe with good coffee and a small but tasty menu of hot breakfast items. Skip McDonalds and any other chain stops along the highway and take the 5 extra minutes to visit the Tuckerbox during your trip to or through Vermont.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seattle Meets White River Junction”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This funky spot always delivers when it comes to the food and service. Their daily soup specials are always fantstic. The salads and sandwiches are equally as good. The atmosphere is pure Seattle coffee house with a few smaller tables and larger communal tables. There is a large black board for children of all ages to express their artistic side, and of course complimentary Wifi. The staff is very nice and project the perfect vibe for this type of dining.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tine1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"plesantly surprised!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I had never been in Tuckerbox, but craving a mochachino, stopped in. I was greeted warmly by the counter person, who took my order and the barista who made it was very pleasant and delivered it to me at my table!
Looked like a varied assortment of pastries and sweets could be had, but I opted not to partake!
The only caveat is the fact that people buy very little and stay very long on their laptops and iphones or whatever.
One person taking up a table for four? Very inconsiderate!
I will definitely go back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamguiseppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuckerbox also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Tuckerbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing