We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Visit”
Review of Hotel Coolidge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Coolidge
Bretton Woods, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Great Visit”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I just returned from a visit to White River Jct., Vt. where I stayed at the Hotel Coolidge in downtown White River. Took in a musical at the nearby Opera House and visited with cast and musicians after the performance in the hotel lobby. What a neat place to relax, have a glass of wine by the fire and talk about the performance. You won't have that experience at the local highway motels.

I have stayed here several times and as always found it very comfortable and convenient. The owners are really connected to the community and have always been quick to recommend places of interest in the Upper Valley.

My room was warm and inviting. There is off street parking which is very convenient and many attractions are within walking distance of the hotel. While there I noticed two business groups gathering in separate function rooms so that might be something to consider if you have needs for a business meeting site.

I will be back there again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several of their rooms and found all to be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    95
    51
    33
    24
See reviews for
67
69
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Intriguing layout, fascinating historical touches (the weighted hall doors are really cool), comfortable (except for some of the heating, which can be radiator cranky), and friendly without being fake - plus you can walk comfortably to all of WRJ's weirdness even when it's 5 below. Staying in a down town historical site like this is part of the whole vacation; who would chooe cookie-cutter boxes by the highway?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWBinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Unless you are a Youth Hostel or Elder Hostel stayer, don't bother with this hotel. The central heat radiators are rarely turned on, but when they are the clanging and banging will get to you. This is a mid 19th century hotel whose last major upgrades may have been hot water and central heat. The hotel caters to Hostel members and people who are in transition and need an inexpensive place to stay. This is not the kind of place that recalls its glorious past; rather, it retains a 1930's look because there is not enough money to make upgrades. It has a target market; I just wasn't in it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandwichguy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these White River Junction hotels

Whitman, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I booked a concert at the Tupelo Music Hall and coming from South of Boston decided to stay the night. We chose the Hotel Coolidge and we are glad we did. If your use to the Sheraton or Hyatt then forget it, this place isn't for you. But if you like charm and would enjoy taking a step back into the past book a room. We were pleasantly surprised. Our experience FAR exceeded our expectations. Clean room and bath, hot shower, and pleasant employees....we're coming back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our room at the front of the hotel was large and comfortable and looked out towards the tracks. The ensuite was small but neat. The bed was vast and comfortable. It's a fine old hotel and has character. There is no dining, but there's a nice pub next door and an excellent coffee shop with a fine street view on the corner. There was a snag, and perhaps we would have been better in a back room or with more effective secondary glazing. Freight trains started coming through at 4 am, sounding their hooters. It sounded as though lots of trucks and a large digger were going up and down Main Street at about the same hour. Everything quietened down again at 6 am! Maybe both had to do with railway bridge repairs in the town. Sleep was definitely disturbed! Nevertheless we enjoyed our brief stay

Room Tip: Maybe best to avoid rooms looking out on to Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SXDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado springs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We arrived on a cold, drizzly Afternoon, Oct. 6th. The large fireplace in the lobby looked inviting but ( like the hotel's heating system) was never used. Over 7 nights (we extended our Road Scholar visit by 2 nights) we stayed in two rooms, neither of which had been painted since the Eisenhower era. Dangerous and overloaded wiring had left burn marks on the outlets and none of the shower/bath faucets functioned correctly. In place of central heat we had small oil radiator heaters. The floors were so unlevel that I many participants had to jam objects into the dressers to keep the drawers from sliding open. The food provided to participants was bland, unimagainative and doled out by the "innkeeper" like his hidden riches. The elevator was 150 steps away and the laundry area would have worked for a "SAW" setting. The so-called "innkeeper" (Dave Briggs) was frugal to a fault. I'm amazed that Road Scholar and the VT Fire Marshall have given this relic a pass. BTW we were chaged 25c a piece for 4 pieces of printer paper to print our boarding passes. Nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skysoxwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbwrj, Owner at Hotel Coolidge, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
This review confused me. The guest extended their stay when they could have departed early if things were so bad. In fact we accommodated them by finding rooms in our long term stay (rental section) so that they could stay and also avoid high season prices. Then they criticized space that was not in the hotel section and also posted a photo that was in our hostel - budget section suggesting it was representative of the hotel. Moreover the comments about the meals program they joined were unfair. It has been our style to serve people personally in order to relate to them and then encourage them to come back on their own for seconds. This has been standard for us for over 20 years with a successful program which has many repeat customers. The central heat was simply not necessary - we received no other complaints - the weather was temperate and we explained on the first night we were in the interim season when the electric heat can be controlled better from within the rooms. Finally our facility is carefully scrutinized by licensing authorities on a routine basis. I must have done something very wrong to get this kind of response because I was on duty for all three meals and three programs for five straight days and otherwise completely available to deal with discomforts but never heard a word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyser, West Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and loved every minute of our visit. We came in on the Amtrak train and we literally just walked across the tracks our hotel room. staff was incredibly friendly and the hotel had the old air historical charms that you expect in that area. We will be coming back next year for the fall foliage and staying in the same hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coolidge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coolidge

Property: Hotel Coolidge
Address: 39 S Main St, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coolidge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Hotel Coolidge has clean, comfortable rooms and event facilities right in the village business district of White River Junction. With public transportation available and close, an Amtrak station just a few minutes' walk away, and with convenient interstate access, it's the perfect place for weekend getaways, business trips, and family events. Our staff is friendly and ready to provide excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Coolidge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Hotel White River Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing