We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun”
Review of Hotel Coolidge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Coolidge
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

DW and I joined a fodorite group for a cooking class at King Arthur flour. We had a nice room with a king bed and separate sitting room. There's a nice Turkish restaurant on the corner. The people who work there seem to care about the hotel, the town, and the guests. That's nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coolidge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is as charming as the city it is located. Nice mood and friendly people made our stay really pleasant.
The receptionist was really sympathetic and the room really cozy and clean. Could cost a little cheaper, but worth it, anyway...



Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carmela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here on our way across country on bikes. Nice turn of the 1900 century hotel that has been kept in excellent shape, nice long wide hallways and large rooms. Service was great, host and hostess were friendly and knowledgeable. Great location, right downtown, across from the train depot. Good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

In reading the reviews of others, it was apparent to me that those who are used to the cookie cutter motel experience were the ones most disappointed in the Hotel Coolidge. However, for those who are adventuresome and want to experience the genuine article, this is it. Having grown up in New England, I used to stay in the 1950s and 1960s with my parents at 'railroad hotels' - older, downtown hotels built in the mid to late 1800s near the depot. These hotels have high ceilings, windows which open (a rarity today), and wooden floors which creak. Current management has found that unique recipe between preserving the authenticity of the property, while supplying modern amenities. The WiFi was fast and reliable, the TV had cable, including the Red Sox and Bruins, and the A/C was cold and blocked out the street noise. My queen sized mattress was firm and I had a restful sleep. For a ferroequinologist like me (it's a real word; go look it up), the Coolidge was ideal, but for anyone who wants to savor the charms of both downtown White River Junction and a great, old hotel, you will enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the trains during the night, either bring earplugs, or ask for a room...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilmingtonwillie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

While an old hotel, I found my room (#206) to be very clean and certainly comfortable. My choice of the Coolidge was because I could travel to Vermont from Philadelphia by Amtrak's Vermonter and walk across a parking lot to reach the hotel, leaving my car at home. Trying to negotiate traffic and construction in New Jersey, New York and Connecticut makes it an obvious alternative to the "chain" hotels. The staff was all extremely helpful and friendly. My only drawback did not deal directly with the hotel, but the small restaurants around the hotel were a best kept secret. One enhancement could be to have an updated listing of restaurants, to include location and hours. When the northbound train arrives at nearly 7 PM (if on time), one wants to eat and not search for a location. I will definitely return here and leave my car in Philadelphia and rent one in WRJ to travel around Vermont - much less stressful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a fine historic property in the heart of town, close to the Amtrak station and within walking distance of bars and several good places to eat. Staff is friendly and eager to please. The rooms are simply decorated; they could use a refresh but are very clean and in keeping with the historic theme of this hotel. Many of the rooms are actually two separate bedrooms (with doors that close) that share a bath, a great idea if you don't want to share a bedroom with a traveling companion, or if parents and kids want separate rooms. Bring earplugs; the noise from the train is part of the problem, but more significantly the walls are thin and the floorboards in the halls creek with every step. Prices are reasonable, but given the simplicity of the rooms and the quirks of this place in general, are basically on par with what you get. All in all, you'll enjoy and remember your stay here (in a good way) if you keep the above in mind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheriffBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The neighborhood is "gritty" and felt a bit unsafe. The hotel's parking lot is very sketchy. Rooms (I was in 2) smelled like mildew and had stained ceilings. Carpets were old and stained. I found dead yellow jackets on the floor of one room. There were orange stains and hair in the shower. The only thing that could have made this worse would be a chalk outline on the floor!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbwrj, General Manager at Hotel Coolidge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Erin
We're sorry for your overall evaluation of White River Junction village in which we are located. This railroad river town is not boutiqued but is also not the least bit unsafe.
We are also as disappointed as you were in our overall condition. We know it is very well kept because we who work here tend to it with care every day. We certainly are not new and we do have our quirks. Again, we're sorry that you did not find us more appealing than your review states.
David Briggs
Innkeeper since 1985

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
186 reviews
1.2 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
361 reviews
3.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coolidge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coolidge

Address: 39 South Main St., White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range: £75 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coolidge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Coolidge is perfectly situated in the heart of Central Vermont and the Upper Valley Region of Vermont and New Hampshire at the junction of the White River and Connecticut River. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Hotel Coolidge offers 30 country inn guestrooms with private baths, 5 event and meeting rooms, a gift shop and a location in the heart of the village of White River Junction. Many local shops and trendy diners, cafes, a martini bar and other restaurants are within walking distance. The professional live theater production group Northern Stage calls the Briggs Opera House home and is located right next door to Hotel Coolidge. You'll find surprises and delights as you explore downtown White River Junction. Our downtown White River Junction location is next to a stop on Amtrak’s Vermonter rail service. In addition, a Greyhound bus terminal is located in White River Junction, we are also just minutes away from the Lebanon, NH airport, and less than 1 mile from the intersection of Interstates 89 and 91. Advance Transit provides a free weekday bus service to the region with a stop just one block from Hotel Coolidge. Dartmouth College and the Tuck School of Business in Hanover, NH are less than 8 minutes away. The quintessential Village of Woodstock, VT and the four-season resort community of Quechee Lakes Resort are also close by. Whatever you fancy, Hotel Coolidge offers a front row seat to the Upper Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Coolidge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Hotel White River Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing