We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok in a pinch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Coolidge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coolidge
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok in a pinch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

First, we a couple of hotel snobs, so this is ment for those folks out here that care above a clean room and just a place to sleep. I think the prices are somewhat high for what the offer. That said its a great location within steps of lots of food and drink options, all I should say were pretty good.

This is an old hotel, in need of repair, but its kind of interesting as well. This is a place closer to super 8 then to Hampton inn.

very nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healthybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    92
    51
    33
    24
See reviews for
66
69
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed for one night at the Hotel Coolidge in November of 2010, the purpose of my trip was business.

First the positives:
- Friendly Staff
- Lively pub next door

Now the negatives:

- The "king" bed had consisted of 2 TWIN mattresses strapped together. Needless to say there was an uncomfortable gap in the middle of the bed.

- The door was very tattered, only had 1 lock on it and there was a 3 inch gap between the door and the floor.

- The two "steam trap style" heaters did not work and the small electric heater which did work could not keep up. The windows also would not lock so it was very drafty in my corner room. I checked my iPhone when I woke up and the temperature was 63 degrees.

- 5 minutes for the shower to warm up

- Cob webs on the venetian blinds and under the radiators

- No closet

- Tiny shower

I would be shocked if this place was up to fire codes, never stay here

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shann0n43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Coolidge, responded to this review, 6 November 2010
We were pleased to see our staff rated friendly but confused as to why this person did not ask for any help with regard to the heat problem or other concerns (which he did not because our staff recalls this person and heard only positive indications. We have no problem keeping guests comfortable especially when they point out things to us. We are staffed 24-7 and our front desk is only a few feet and/or a dial zero call away. The ending comment about the fire code is frankly a cheap shot. You all must be able to believe that an older property gets more than its share of scrutiny from officials and we have never failed in this category. We are meticulous about our fire code compliance. Again this was a very hostile remark and unnecessary - come on - we're friendly, accomodating people - we like being hospitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these White River Junction hotels

Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

This is a hotel, not a motel and it is what hotels should be. It is conveniently located, comfortable and affordable. The staff is first rate. There is a well stocked gift shop and the lobby fireplace took the edge off a Fall day. We have stayed there several times over the years and have enjoyed each stay. Owners Dave and Peggy Briggs go to great lengths to ensure a pleasant visit. Their knowledge of the area and its history is incredible. The Upper Vally has lots to offer and the Coolidge is right in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wino37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

The Hotel Coolidge is well located in the center of White River Junction. The rooms are clean, but the whole hotel has an aging quality. The bathroom in my room had a slanting floor. The bed and room were certainly adequate, but this is not a luxury accomodation by any stretch. The price is reasonable, but there are more modern options around. The hotel, while it has some character, does have limitations, primarily in the simple rooms and limited facilities.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasteur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

this old hotel has 100 dollar rooms but also has hostel rooms with shared bath for 50$.
Its downtown in little White River Jct and there are good diners within 2 blocks.
This is near Dartmouth College so they do a lot of business. The chain motels in the area
are terrible and double priced. DONT stay at them. They stink.
This Hotel is nice enough....they will have to do renovations in the coming years but it
it has a nice feel to it. Its a huge old wooden building about 100 years old.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Us
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Dave ande his crew are awesome!!!! Once again they prove to be the best buy for the dollar for bus groups. With an elegant dinner, entertainment and a big breakfast, you can't beat it. The rooms have character as no other you will ever find. It's not new, it's better, it has class.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6plus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is the way hotels should be. Great value and convenience for modest price. The owners and staff made us feel like family -- repeatedly. The room was large and clean; bed firm. Really convenient to train and walking around downtown; nice pubs and restaurants within 5 minutes. Old and charming. If you need Holiday Inn plastic, don't come. Terrific free Wi-Fi. Really great people, into the history of the place. Make sure you meet Dave Briggs the owner.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daylward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coolidge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coolidge

Property: Hotel Coolidge
Address: 39 S Main St, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coolidge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Hotel Coolidge has clean, comfortable rooms and event facilities right in the village business district of White River Junction. With public transportation available and close, an Amtrak station just a few minutes' walk away, and with convenient interstate access, it's the perfect place for weekend getaways, business trips, and family events. Our staff is friendly and ready to provide excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Coolidge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Hotel White River Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing