We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but...”
Review of Polka Dot Restaurant - CLOSED

Polka Dot Restaurant
Cuisines: Diner
Description: The Polka Dot Restaurant is a small diner located in the heart of White River Junction. We sit directly next to the railroad tracks and have a historical tie to the community. We are under new management and are bringing back the vintage diner feel. We provide free WIFI, daily lunch and dinner specials, and a huge selection of homemade desserts. We also make fresh homemade donuts every morning. If you are looking for a small hometown diner feel and great food, we are your place.
Restaurant details
Description: The Polka Dot Restaurant is a small diner located in the heart of White River Junction. We sit directly next to the railroad tracks and have a historical tie to the community. We are under new management and are bringing back the vintage diner feel. We provide free WIFI, daily lunch and dinner specials, and a huge selection of homemade desserts. We also make fresh homemade donuts every morning. If you are looking for a small hometown diner feel and great food, we are your place.
Sharon, Vermont
Level Contributor
216 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“ok but...”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I guess briging back the old time diner experience can sometimes be taken too far if the throwback experience seems like some of the bad aspects of the 1950s all rolled into one-- so-so coffee, hit or miss food, strange vibe from the locals at the counter (where are Hitchcock or Kubrick when you need them). But not too bad if you're passing by or staying in the immediate area. I do agree pie may be worth a shot but the blueberry pie we had might induce type 2 diabetes (super sweet).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had to grab a breakfast before catching the train.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent little diner with a predictable diner breakfast. The waitress was sweet and the cook asked us how we liked our meal. They don't take credit cards.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwhopson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Go for the pie!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is your basic diner with meatloaf specials, grilled cheese sandwiches and BLTs with heaps of bacon. Lunch wasn't outstanding but OH THE PIE! Have a modest lunch and indulge in a big slice of pie. They are made by the owners and aren't the run of the mill. Along with blueberry-peach, try the shaker lemon pie or the vinegar pie. This is a foodie gem. Don't be discouraged by the ambience. Locals filled the place when we were there. They know what they want.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nostalgic diner experience with good grub”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stopped in for breakfast with my wife while visiting Vermont and I couldn't have made a better choice. Breakfast was amazingly good. I bought some donuts for our hike and I have to say they were some of the best homemade donuts I have ever had. We decided that since we had such great service and food for breakfast that we would go back for lunch on our way out of town the next day. The food and portions were out of this world. Their baked mac n cheese was perfect and the pork tenderloin came with deep fried stuffing!! This was a new one for me but it was so good I asked for a second serving. We finished it off with a couple of slices of pie. The cook, Rob suggested we try the Shaker Lemon pie and the Blueberry Peach pie. Both of them were super delish! We can't wait to go back next time we are in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stopped here on the way to drop our son off for camp. It had all of the potential to be a perfect throwback! The booth seats are covered in carpet, dirty carpet. The menus were dirty (pet peeve) and the service was slow. I ordered a BLT with extra bacon, it came on barely toasted bread with two slices of bacon. There were a few chips on the plate. My son's and husband's lunches were equally forgettable. Lots of locals and hipsters but don't come here if you actually want to eat something. A shame really, could be a gem!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TACH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PolkaDotRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Polka Dot Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We apologize if you had a bad experience at our place of business. This restaurant is under new management and the problems that you stated are either being addressed or have already been addressed. Please accept our apology for your bad experience and rest assured that if you give us another try you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polka Dot Restaurant also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing