We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST SERVICE ANYWHERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White River Inn and Suites
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST SERVICE ANYWHERE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

When I arrived with my group expecting to have booked two rooms, I found that I had made a mistake and booked only one room with Booking.com.
Even though the hotel was completely full for the weekend, the manager called one of their regular "contractor" guests and he volunteered to give us his room and bunk in with one of his workers.
I have travelled for over 40 years, and have never seen this type of service!!!!!

Congratulations on "going that extra mile"!!

Rick Mickelson

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickMickelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    46
    26
    21
    13
See reviews for
65
46
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have stayed here twice in two years. Oct. 2012 and 2013. Both visits were most comfortable and we were fully satisfied. The staff is very helpful and friendly. This last trip,we were greeted by Craig upon check-in who is very knowledgeable of the area, suggested several activities, and pointed to a basket of freshly picked apples from his trees. In the morning, while getting coffee in the lobby, I talked to Mary, who had treated us so nicely at our first visit. Seeing familiar faces and smiles adds a nice touch that I miss at the chains. I don't know that this is a family business but it has a family atmosphere and attitude.

The rates are reasonable for the amenities offered--great free breakfast, inviting indoor pool, and amazing mountain views.

We will return next year, at about the same time, and will stay at the White River Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My mom, sister and myself had a room for 1 night at the White River Inn and Suites. We were taking a class at the King Arthur Flour Baking Education Center and were eligible for a rate discount here. The room was not inexpensive, but given that we were there for only one night on a holiday weekend with the discount it was reasonable. We were not in the new 'suites' area that most of the pictures portray, we were in the old part of the hotel. So our room was dated and a little tired looking, but clean and fresh and a very good size. (CLEAN being the operative word. None of us would have stayed if we had any 'ick' factor. Definitely had none of that here!) Much bigger than many newer hotel rooms. Our linens were crisp and clean smelling, beds were comfortable. The room was outfitted with a rather large mini-fridge and a microwave so had we been staying for longer we would have greatly appreciated these. View from our room was lovely of the VT hills. The staff was wonderful, although we never saw any cookies! And breakfast was varied although with the number of people at this hotel a 2nd waffle maker and for the staff to be a bit quicker to refill the hot item would be appreciated. The location near 89 and 91 was great for us as we were in Quechee on Saturday and Norwich on Sunday. There are also several very close by quick marts and gas stations in case you need anything. All in all a lovely stay and I'd recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If it matters to you, ask whether your chosen room is in the new section or the old section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEFitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Comments were iffy on this hotel and we had a bit of trepidation but it was unfounded. We were warmly greeted by "Bob" and fresh cookies. Our room was in the older part of the hotel and the walls were a bit thin but I travel with earplugs so not a problem. Room was very clean, bathroom was very nice, the tub looked a bit worn but the hotel is being renovated. Complimentary breakfast was more than adequate, waffles, cereal, fruit salad, one hot dish, juice, toast, etc.We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allisyn R, Manager at White River Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will return. We take great pride in all of our rooms. I agree that the breakfast has a wide variety, we hear this often. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
617 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our first room had a damp / smokey smell. Reception efficiently gave us a new room. The new room also had an od smell but with ventilation and heating was ok. The rooms are very spacious with fridge and microwave. Tiny points though which is why my rating is average. This doesn't mean it isn't a suitable stopover. Tea bags available in the lobby only coffee in the room. Wireless Internet really only worked sitting next to the hall with the bedroom door open. Bathtub had chip. Decor and fittings aged in most parts. Bedroom windows sort of double glazed but poor. Traffic noise from the highways.
On the plus side free apples and cookies available at the front desk. Good looking pool. Great location beside two state highways. Large rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allisyn R, Manager at White River Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review. I'm sorry to hear that you had to change rooms. I appreciate your feed back. We have just completed a new wing at the hotel and hope you will give us a try if you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Well-below average hotel. We needed a place to crash late one night and I wish I kept on going. The bed is the worst bed I ever slept on. I actually felt like I had sea-legs when I got out of bed. The mattress was so soft, in fact, that my feet and legs were higher up than my head...how is that??? We chose not even to use the shower and left immediately after we woke up.
I gave the two stars only because of Jennifer, who was absolutely wonderful to us while checking in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BillJerseyShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allisyn R, General Manager at White River Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed that your stay fell short of what our standards are. We strive to provide our guest with a clean comfortable stay. Your feedback is valuable and an important tool to assure the hotel is kept in great condition, including the comfort of the beds. We hope you will allow us to make this up to you in the future. Thank you again for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater NJ USA
Level Contributor
677 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel and we were even more pleased that we stayed the first time. Maybe because it wasn't winter and maybe because it wasn't as crowded, but our stay was great. The front desk staff was very helpful. Even the food service person at the continental breakfast was a great help with ideas about some sightseeing. The rooms were clean and made up freshly each day. I must warn you that there are NO HOOKS on the back of the bathroom door, so hanging things up can be a challenge. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and each day they had a different "hot" item: little egg omelets, biscuits and gravy, and little Spanish style egg crepes. The waffle maker actually works so that made for a good choice for breakfast too. The hotel seems to have many long term stay people from the VA Hospital, so there is a warm "Hi, there" type of interaction with many of the guests and they made us feel welcome too. There are also two shared computers in their business center with print capabilities so we were able to print out some info about sites we wanted to see. We were again very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay there again! It is about 12 miles to Woodstock from here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allisyn R, General Manager at White River Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to deliver world class service to all of our guest. Your feedback is a tool we use to see how we are doing. Where can we improve and what are we doing well. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Coolidge
Hotel Coolidge
#4 of 8 in White River Junction
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White River Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River Inn and Suites

Property: White River Inn and Suites
Address: 91 Ballardvale Dr, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7176
Region: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White River Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your White River Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White River Hotel White River Junction
Econolodge White River Junction
Econo Lodge White River Junction
White River Junction Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing