We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White River Inn and Suites
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Our stay here would have been a lot better except when we all put on our swimsuits and headed for the pool, we discovered that it was closed because they let some kids party there the night before and they had gotten broken glass everywhere. Strangely, I read some of the previous tripadvisor reviews and saw the one before me had a very similar experience. They definitely need more supervision or security for their pool area. Who lets a group of teens party and drink unsupervised in a hotel pool? The guy at the desk was nice, but the pool being closed really spoiled it for us.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    49
    28
    21
    13
See reviews for
67
48
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2007

We're a family on a budget. We stayed 4 nights and paid $63 for 2 nights, and $71 for the other 2 nights. For those prices, I was prepared for an unkempt crawl space. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised with a clean, comfortable, decent sized room, with refrigerator, microwave, tv, plenty of hot water, sunlamp in the bathroom, hairdryer, coffeemaker... and... the kid's favorite -- an indoor pool. From 6am - 9am, there is free continental breakfast down near the lobby (bring your protein -- all carbs) -- bagels, donuts, danish, cereals, instant oatmeal, juices, coffee, tea. The employees are all very nice. The only negative thing was there were 3 bus loads of teens staying the first two nights who were noisy, messy, and even caused the pool to be closed due to their antics. We had limited contact with them, but I understand some of the other guests were none too pleased. All in all, I would stay there again... can't beat the price!!

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — some areas could use updating -- carpeting worn, wallpaper peeling, etc.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

We have just returned from the Econo Lodge in White River Junction, VT. It's clean, welcoming and friendly. Room had a refrigerator/microwave and was very comfortable. We had breakfast in the breakfast room. They offered coffee, tea, juice,
cold and hot cereal, bagels and sweet rolls. Very quiet and just off the highway. Good Choice.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MacPooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clay Center, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

My family of 5 stayed here one night in August, 2006. We arrived late one evening and left in the morning fairly early. I believe it is a new property for Econolodge; there was a sign on the road but none on the hotel itself so I wasn't quite sure that I was at the right place. This shares a parking lot with another hotel (the Holiday Inn Express I think.), and is easily accessible from the interstate.

The hotel is very long, I think the staff person said they had over 100 rooms. It was currently being renovated. Our hallway had newer carpet and I think our room had been recently redone. We had a room on second floor which was quite spacious for 5 people, even with a rollaway. The ceiling was vaulted which also made the room seem bigger. The sink was outside the bathroom but separated from the bed area by a wall. This was a nice feature for a family of 5 sharing a bathroom! The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom smelled a little like wet towels, but the room itself was clean and did not smell musty.

Both the fitness center and pool were closed by the time we arrived, but both looked very nice. The indoor pool was larger than the typical hotel pool, and there was a hot tub (one of the few we found at New England hotels.)

Probably the two biggest drawbacks were the continental breakfast (very basic, altough they did have cereal) and no elevator to the second floor. The rate was less than $100 for AAA including tax and rollaway. I was a little nervous booking this hotel because it was unrated on TripAdvisor and by the hotel chain, but I would recommend it without hesitation. My kids were very disappointed we didn't get to try out what looked like a great pool!

  • Liked — Price, pool, spacious room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — close to Quechee Gorge,
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwedishMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#4 of 8 in White River Junction
286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White River Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River Inn and Suites

Property: White River Inn and Suites
Address: 91 Ballardvale Dr, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7176
Region: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White River Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your White River Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White River Hotel White River Junction
Econolodge White River Junction
Econo Lodge White River Junction
White River Junction Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing