We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Residence Inn ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Williston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and if there had been rooms available at any other hotel we would have left.

While Marriott touts having all new bedding in their hotels, this location has been left to rot.

The bed was so uncomfortable that neither of us were able to sleep. In addition, the linens were old and not in good shape.

The curtains did not close completely so there was a 3-inch gap leaving an outside parking lot light shining brightly into our faces on the bed!

The seal around the door had been worn away leaving a slice if open section for the cold winter air to blow in.

I have stayed in many Marriott hotels over the years but will never stay at this property again. Avoid it if at all possible!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LJH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all feedback seriously, and we sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I have followed up with the appropriate departments to address the issues you have mentioned. We are always striving to continuously improve so I appreciate your feedback very much. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott customer and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

This place is set up like condos with a number of buildings housing the rooms on 2 levels. Staff was very friendly and restaurants were a short drive. Clean spacious rooms have a full kitchen with home size appliances including a dishwasher. There is plenty of desk area for the business traveller with plug ins for computers etc. Plenty of closets with a dressing area by the bath. Large flat screen TV with a sitting area by the fireplace. Small private decks are on each room. Bed was comfy & WiFi was good. A hot buffet breakfast is provided as is an evening snack get together in the lobby. There is an indoor pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! By the looks of it, you were able to enjoy many of the different amentities we provide our guests with. It's always wonderful to hear from our guests how friendly our staff is! If you are in the area again, we hope to see you here at the Residence Inn. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife's business trips to Burlington and Williston have become family stays---as the Residence Inn is pet-friendly (with fee) and our poodle, Sophie, can be with us. All the staff---front desk, dining room, housekeepers---have been very friendly. Sophie can visit the registration area, and we can take walks on a country road. Sophie's favorite romp is at the Williston Park with its long hiking path through the woods and around the fields. One mile away there are ample shops for dining and shopping. The hotel room is always clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danddPittsfieldMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stays with us! It's great to hear that your family, as well as your dog, have been able to enjoy what our hotel has to offer. We are always striving to ensure our staff provides great service and it looks like we were able to provide that! We look forward to serving you and your family again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed a couple nights here due to business. The set up or lay out of the hotel is a little odd, set up like condos. When it's cold or snowing it can be a bit of a walk to breakfast. Breakfast was pretty good for a buffet. They also had snacks in the evening which was pleasant. The room was good size with all the stuff needed if you wanted to cook for yourself. It was also very clean although a little dated. The staff was very pleasant and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon_and_stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to see that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast and evening social. It's also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the amentities in your room, as well as your interactions with our staff! We hope to see you again at the Residence Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Needed a clean bed and hot water for a quick business trip to Burlington. The location is easy to find and very close to restaurants and shopping. It was an easy drive to my meeting location as well. The check-in staff was friendly and efficient. I was pleasantly surprised by the large room, full kitchen and very comfortable bed.
I arrived pretty late and exhausted. They provided me with a list of local eateries which was most helpful. Breakfast the next day was good with a nice choice of healthy items.
I noticed quite a few kids in the pool with their parents and so this may be a good place to bring the family as well. I would recommend this based on my experience and will use this hotel again when back in the area for business.

Room Tip: I did get a room on the first floor - the units all have separate entries so it reminded me a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! It sounds like you were able to enjoy a lot of our amentities at our property. I'm also happy to hear that our staff were able to assist you with your needs. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Has a neat little village, condo feel. Very clean and nice. Very homy and quant, break lie was good. Cute little pool with a hot tub included plus, like all hotels you can do things you wouldn't do normally like walk backwards and eat shrimp nude. Great way to visit the Green Mountain State (now they just need to reopen the Alchemist)!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markoffchkchkchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your excellent review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the layout of our hotel and it sounds like you had a good time. If you are back in the Green Mountain State, I hope to see you again. Hopefully the Alchemist will be open sometime soon as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again! The hotel is close to Burlington and there are a lot of other things to do and see in the Williston area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPS31122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williston
3.6 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
711 reviews
4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Burlington Williston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Williston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Burlington

Address: 35 Hurricane Ln, Williston, VT 05495-2071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Williston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Williston
Price Range: £78 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Burlington, VT has all you need to rest, work and play. Located just a short distance from Burlington International Airport, this upscale, extended-stay hotel in Burlington, VT offers spacious suites with full kitchens, free wireless Internet, a heated indoor pool & whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center (guests also enjoy access and classes at the nearby Sports Edge fitness facility) and a complimentary daily breakfast buffet. A short drive to Stowe, Sugarbush and Smuggler's Notch, it's easy to enjoy four seasons of outdoor activities such as hiking, boating, fishing, skiing and skating. Cruise Lake Champlain on the Spirit of Ethan Allen or the Lake Champlain Ferries, or visit ECHO Lake Aquarium, Shelburne Farms, and the Ethan Allen Homestead instead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Burlington/Williston Hotel Williston
Residence Inn Williston
Williston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing