We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McGillicuddy's Irish Ale House
Ranked #24 of 44 Restaurants in Williston
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Service was great as was the Food. Can watch TV's while you eat and catch up on Sporting events.
Have been here a couple of times when we visit VT

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank macsan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We went on a Friday night and although this place was packed, we only had to wait a few minutes for a seat at the bar and were immediately greeted by a very friendly bartender who provided us with menus and drink suggestions. We were able to test out a few of their beers on tap, which was great! Fish and chips was wonderful-we will definitely be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decent food, good atmosphere, lots of beer choices”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We decided to spot here one, because my fiance is Irish, and two, our kids were watching a movie and this is basically next door.

They have a TON of draft beers available, over 20 to choose from. We ordered The Shed (which we both love) and a Stout from Denver which was excellent. We split an order of wings and curly fries with cheese. The wings were fairly typical, nothing bad, nothing that stood out. The cheesy curly fries were very good as they actually made sure to melt cheese in the middle also. Seems minor, but so many restaurants are lazy and just melt cheese on the top and the middle/bottom is just plain fries.

Overall a decent sports bar / restaurant. TVs basically everywhere, even at the booths. If you're looking for decent food while watching a game, a good place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skivrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Good Meal and Good Brew”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We've been eating at this place since it opened and have seen it get it's act together and provide a nice dining experience. It's very conveniently located near the Majectic movie theaters, in Taft Corners. When it comes to burgers, fish and chips, roast beef and corned beef, they have top notch food. Some of the stuff is OK (fries, onion rings) but it is reliable and consistently good. They have a fine selection of brew, including Heady Topper, for you hop freaks. They have more TVs than Elvis, one for each booth. Not sure what that does for your dining experience but it is kinda cute. You will have a good meal in this place. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mouth-watering Reuben”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Nice pub atmosphere with HD definition TV's at every booth. Friendly staff. Had a Reuben that was perfect and full of lean corned beef. Washed down with a glass of Harp Beer and we couldn't have been happier. Next time we'll try the fish and chips (the waitress said their homemade batter was delicious). Definitely recommend this and suggest you give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGillicuddy's Irish Ale House also viewed

 

Been to McGillicuddy's Irish Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing