We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Red Mill

Old Red Mill
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Red Mill
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wilmington
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
“Country charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very homey. Pleasant staff. Excellent food (try the scrod). Easy access to downtown Wilmington. No flash-bang. "bling" or smoke and mirrors. A wonderful place to stay when visiting picturesque VT. Truly charming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
10
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My son and I stayed here last March with a girlfriend of mine and her son for an overnight ski trip. We didn't want to spend a lot of money so this fit the bill right away. But we also did want a little taste of New England and be in the town of Wilmington. No B&B's when traveling with two 13 yr old boys! So, it was very convenient for walking about the shops in the village there, which we did. There are some restaurants in the town there too so we chose the little place across the street for the wings. We loved the atmosphere of the Old Red Mill Inn so before returning to our room we sat fireside in the lobby and ordered desserts from the hotel restaurant. It was idyllic. There was also a bar at the hotel so had it been that kind of trip, it would have been nice to hang in there as well. The room wasn't anything special, but from the photos I wasn't expecting much. We were there for the rustic charm and proximity to town and Mount Snow. Our room was above the kitchen so we heard the squeak of the swinging door until dining was done, but then again, it brought back memories of my summer camp days of working in a rustic kitchen setting. In the morning we rose early to head to the mountain but not before having some coffee and light breakfast in the main dining room overlooking the old mill and stream. This too was very delightful as the room was quiet and light filled. Over all I was very pleased with our "family" type stay, and like I said, it reminded me of my summer camp days, which I loved. For the price, the setting, and ease of the inn, this was excellent. Granted the beds left something to be desired and our sons joked when they said "let's explore" as they crammed together to check out the bathroom! ...And so, I am hoping to return this coming March as well.

Room Tip: The website for the inn says to choose a room on the stream side to avoid the noise on the street si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chick127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the evening of March 16th 2013 & checked out on the morning of the 17th. That weekend we went up to ski @ Mt Snow on St Pattys day Sun March 17th and we had a blast staying here! The rooms are very basic, small, the walls are thin and the Inns prices tend to go up during ski season but this places gives you a unique genuine charming New England experience. The lobby down stairs which has 2 restraunts a bar and a wonderful round fireplace/custom wood burning stove & sitting area which really enhances the experience. The downstairs area is a very charming warm space especially during the cold New England winter Nights. The creator of the Inn left most of the old Saw Mill components intact so it makes for a very interesting & fun visual experience. In the mornings they have a nice lil continental breakfast which we enjoyed before heading off for a day on the slopes of Mt Snow. I would definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a fun unique experience, but if you're looking for a classy higher end hotel or B&B with all the amenities than I would not recommend this place, because it is way too basic & rustic.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank swk728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Recently on a motorcycle trip with some friends we happened into the town of Wilmington, VT. In my opinion, as a state, Vermont never disappoints...even in the rain! Wilmington is no exception and neither is the Old Red Mill Inn.

We weren't sure we were done riding for the day or if staying here was the plan, but I assure you we were immediately sold by the friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful or kind. It didn't take us long to order some food...and then order a room! Five of us took up three rooms all on the river side--all of us were happy with the accommodations.

Bottom line--the town is beautiful, the people are very kind and very friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the food is delicious. As a note--the staff and other patrons aren't against a little dancing if the Bee Gees just happen to be playing!

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with a room on the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbert91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here one night after skiing at Mount Snow. The place has a lot of charm, don't expect a luxurious stay, just a nice cozy inn and you will be perfectly satisfied. The rooms are small but very clean and walls are thin but no one was extremely loud that it was a problem. Staff was all very friendly. Rooms have toiletries provided and continental bfast is served in the AM.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I called to make a "last minute" reservation for a stay of three nights to enjoy recent, late winter snow and ski nearby Mount Snow.
I had a feeling I made a good choice when the man who answered the phone told me he was in the kitchen but he would, "wash his hands, take off his apron and call me back in 5 minutes". In my mind I pictured a quaint, relaxing Vermont Inn and that is exactly what we found waiting for us at the Old Red Mill Inn in Wilmington, Vermont.
When making our reservation on Wednesday, just 2 days in advance, we opted for a $98.00/night room in which a cot would be placed to accommodate my 8 year old "Godson".
Upon check in, we were pleasantly surprised to have been given the much larger "family room". It was a large, corner room with three large windows that allow both a view of the Deerfield River (which runs along the back of the inn) and a large amount of daylight to enter the room. The room contained a very comfortable, queen size bed, two twin beds, a chair with ottoman and ample drawer and closet space The room and its bathroom were very clean. The bathroom appeared to have newer fixtures and the shower looked freshly tiled, provided more than enough hot water and offered great water pressure.
The inn's "special" was a great bargain as well, with no charge for our third night stay on Sunday. Weekend mornings include a nicely arranged continental breakfast: cereals, bagels, English muffins, yogurt, juice, coffee and a variety of teas. Breakfast was enjoyed in a classic New England style dining room. Seated in large windsor chairs, we overlooked the Deerfield River and watched the river's water rush around rocks blanketed with white piles of snow as it passed a picturesque, frozen river bank. Know that there is no coffee available at the inn on Monday morning but is easily located at a number of local sites. I simply made a trip out to bring back coffee, fruit, cheese and biscuits from a local market and we ate a small breakfast in our room as we readied to both pack and prepare for our last few hours on the slopes. If the morning temperatures were not as mild as this March Monday's were I may not be as charitable in my assessment. The availability of a hot water dispenser for guests to make a cup of "instant" coffee or tea would be a welcome addition.
We enjoyed two dinner meals at the inn. One was served in the dining room, the other at a table in the inn's tavern. Each was a hearty and delicious meal and the fresh, salad bar was a welcome addition. The staff was attentive and very friendly. Tracy and Pat each took time to share warm conversation and gave kind attention to each of us. We later learned that it was Janet who moved us in to the family size room when it appeared it had not been reserved by the time of our arrival. A sincere thank you to each of you.
Our 8 year old charge was delighted with his experience at the Old Red Mill Inn and commented often as to how much he loved it there. The staff really added to his feeling welcomed and special.
We believe his stay there was as big a part of his first time, learn to ski weekend as were his lessons, his first ride to the top of Mount Snow (on his third day, not his first!) and his eagerly skiing down the Long John trail.
We are pleased we chose to stay at this wonderful, classic and charming, Vermont jewel in Wilmington. We not only made a great choice but are certain we made a great "family" memory.
We plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMDCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I had left a couple things in my room, then called a few hours after i checked out and talked to someone and gave my info so i could retrieve it. No return call from a manager. So i Went into the restaurant and asked about my things that were left and the manager of the Inn blatantly lied and said they were never found. i said to her obviously your housekeeping took off with it then cuz it doesn't just grow legs and walk out of a hotel and not turn up in the room or laundry especially when i had called about it. so wack, i used to work at a hotel and people would always leave things and we would mail their items or they would graciously say just toss it in the lost and found in case someone else needed one or whatever or we would hold it for them until they returned again....idk whats becoming of this shiesty world

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
6.7 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Viking Motel
Viking Motel
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Red Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red Mill

Property: Old Red Mill
Address: 18 N Main St, P.O. Box 787, Wilmington, VT 05363-9781
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted sawmill overlooking Deerfield River. All rooms with private bath and cable color TV. Fireplace in lounge, licensed public bar and dining rooms featuring premium steaks, fresh fish, daily specials and unique salad bar. Vacation packages available. Convenient village location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Red Mill Hotel Wilmington
Old Red Mill Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing