We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place: Can't beat the Price, Convenience or Coziness if You're In Town to Ski”
Review of Old Red Mill

Old Red Mill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Red Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Red Mill Inn three times - all in the winter - when we were in town to Snowboard at Mt. Snow. We love the Red Mill Inn first because it's a great value - clean rooms and has a convenient location (a few yards to bars, restaurants, and a short drive to the mountain). We also love that it has a restaurant and bar on-site for when it's too cold to leave! You need to know the rooms are very small and you can hear your neighbors but the rooms are clean and very functional. We love that they have DVD players and that you can control your own heat! We never think to stay anywhere else when we visit Mt. Snow. The restaurant is not a 5 star place - but it's decent. We also love the free breakfast. It's totally cute and cozy and I would recommend anyone stay there as long as you're not planning on spending all day in your room!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBSheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2010

My girlfriend and I decided on a last minute ski trip to Vermont for NYE. After searching for quiet a bit we came upon the Old Red Mill. Most Inns and Hotels in the mount snow valley had inflated their prices drastically for NYE. Old Red was the only place that only slightly raised prices and was by far the least expensive.

After reading reviews we decided to take a chance on it. We were quiet surprised. We loved the Old Red Mill. The staff was really nice and the restaurant was very good. The main entrance has great character, decorated with relics from its past as a saw mill. Loved the huge indoor fire pit. I must say the other reviews are correct though, the rooms are tiny and they can be quiet noisy if the down stairs restaurant is busy and/or you have loud neighbors, but we couldn't complain for the price we paid, which also included continental breakfast from 7:30-9:30am. We had a riverside room which had a really nice view of the river which was literally feet away. I'd recommend these river rooms over the street side. The room was very clean, small but cozy. The bathroom is tiny! If your a large guy you might not fit in the shower!

Old Red is in a great area, within walking distance to many great restaurants and taverns. Had a great breakfast at Dots around the corner, Fennessey's is a nice place for dinner with good service compared to other places in the area. A brew at Maple Leaf across the street is a must also. If your skiing, the free shuttle called the MOOver is right outside next to the church. I choose to drive, Mt snow is literally on the same road about 15 minutes away. easy drive.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADG_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

I would have to agree that the bedroom walls are paper thin and the showers/furnishings/rooms/fixtures somewhat outdated, but you get what you pay for. The rooms are however very clean. The Inn itself is very rustic and quite charming downstairs. Janet was wondeful and very hospitable and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

This place is great...great value for money... great value for money...good restaurant and great bar as well as the Brew Company down the street.

The walls are thin and the rooms are basic but it is clean, comfortable, warm and the inn has a great ambiance.

Would definitely recommend this place and will be back

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EeZeeTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Old Red Mill February 11th 2006. It exceeded our expectations. The rooms are small, about the size of a cruise ship cabin, but extremely clean. Don't go expecting lavish amenities, afterall it is in Vermont. There is a small TV in the room that gets all the cable stations, it even has a DVD player. There isn't a phone in the room, if you want to use the phone there are 2 that you can use within the hotel.
The staff was friendly and went out of the way to accomodate us.

We ate at the restaurant for dinner and the food was average but the service was great. Take a walk down the street where you will find other restaurants that are more reasonable. The room rate included breakfast and I must say it was the best breakfast I have ever seen a hotel include. It was cooked to order and your choice between eggs, french toast or pancakes. They also had fruit and cereal as well.

Bottom line is that the Old Red Mill was a great place to stay. It is convenient to Mount Snow and Haystack. Although accomodations are small they are extremely clean rooms... We would absolutely stay again. Great value for money...

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunryz710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2006

We stayed two nights, midweek, and had a wonderful time. The first night was with a morning breakfast of cereals (hot and cold) with fruit and muffins along with coffee and juices. We received a ski pass at Guest Services at Mt. Snow. The next night we were treated to a first class wonderful dinner of Prime Rib and NY Sirlon with the same breakfast and ski lift pass the next day. The inn is rustic beautiful and the owners and staff are wonderfully friendly and most accomodating with helping you with any questions or concerns. We highly recommend staying and dining at The Old Red Mill Inn. You can walk to many restaurants, taverns and shops. Our favorite was The Vermont House Tavern just around the corner. Just as we enjoy midweek skiing without the crowds, we also enjoy meeting and spending time with the local folks. We missed skiing the 2nd day due to rain and lousy conditions. Mt. Snow guest services gave us a voucher for lift passes and ski rentals to be used any time within the calendar year of that day! We will certainly be back to Mt. Snow and to The Old Red Mill Inn!! Check out their website; [------------]

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harkwark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2006

The Old Red Mill is an excellent value for budget minded travelers. The rooms are a little small but if you're looking for some more space you can always grab a drink at the bar and sit around the fireplace in the lobby. The restaurant is also decent and typically less crowded on Saturday nights then the restaurants closer to the mountain. It's located in downtown Wilmington which is about 10-15 minutes from the mountain. It's within walking distance of several bars and restuarants.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike802464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
6.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
171 reviews
15.8 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Viking Motel
Viking Motel
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
444 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Red Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red Mill

Address: 18 N Main St, P.O. Box 787, Wilmington, VT 05363-9781
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Red Mill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted sawmill overlooking Deerfield River. All rooms with private bath and cable color TV. Fireplace in lounge, licensed public bar and dining rooms featuring premium steaks, fresh fish, daily specials and unique salad bar. Vacation packages available. Convenient village location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Old Red Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Red Mill Hotel Wilmington
Old Red Mill Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing