We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Old Red Mill(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Wilmington)
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintage Motel(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Brattleboro)
US$64
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Mountain Inn(Brattleboro)
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latchis Hotel(Brattleboro)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
134
48
16
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
48
16
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomhidden staircasewine cellarnew managementfour poster bedsummer monthsfall foliageperfect weekendblown awayold houselong weekendsmall townmount snowfire pitbrunchbasementwedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at the White House Inn just after Christmas and after a big snow storm in Vermont. It was beautiful -- we had a great view from our room, one of the dog-friendly rooms, which had its own door to the outside (convenient for walking your dog). The folks at the inn were super friendly and helpful without being at all stuffy, and the dinner at their restaurant was amazing. We will go back again. If you're looking for formal, this is not the place; if you're looking to feel comfortable and be well taken care of, look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justjamesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at The White House Inn in Oct. We had a great time.. Our room was beautiful [15] The staff came up and started our fireplace and our bedroom was very romantic. we loved going on our porch and having cocktails. our hosts we so helpful we didn't want for anything. We ate there both nights and the food was heavenly . We had fun with the bartender Dan, and the service was great. I'm not much of a breakfast person but you shouldn't miss it. We can't wait to go back we want to bring our friends with us so they can enjoy it as much as we did. thank you Kathleen and staff . The orourke's

Room Tip: try the rooms with tv and fireplace and hot tub great view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were traveling through the New England area and decided to make a stop in Vermont to see the fall leaves changing. The outside of the property is very pretty and picturesque. The lobby, living room and tavern/restuarant area were equally nice. The attendant escorted us to our room. Unfortunately, it had kind of an odd odor so they allowed us to switch to another room. The room itself was nice but the linens, pillows and towels need an upgrade. We explored the "downstairs" to check out the library/computer, exercise equipment and indoor pool/sauna facilities. It was kind of like exploring your grandparents old basement. It was dark and kind of musty and in need of a fresh coat of paint and new carpet. It was hard to stay down there for any length of time. I went down for coffee at 7:15 a.m. and found the lobby to be completely dark. They do provide a Kuerig coffee service but it was hard to manuever in the dark. Breakfast was the highlight of our stay - very tasty and filling. For every positive, there seemed to be two negatives. It is like an old house that just needs some TLC in the form of some remodeling and redecorating and she will be good as new. For the price, we were expecting something a little better than a two-star type hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina9193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have been to The White House Inn 3 times in 3 years and have loved it every time. Friendly and courteous staff, excellent meals and a beautiful, quiet setting make this our perfect long weekend getaway in the late summer .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rybal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Coming from Maine, we desired a short getaway that would relax my wife and I, but also provide a sense of elegance without any kind of "city life". We booked two nights at the White House Inn and were not disappointed. What a stately looking place as you travel on route 9 and come upon it!
We had one of the outside rooms(112?) and it was perfect-comfortable bed, nice shower - we even turned off the a/c and for the two nights in early August, it was very comfortable and quiet. I loved the atmosphere of the whole place, grounds and building, and was not disappointed that the outside pool was closed. (I guess the years had caught up and it started caving in? Anyway, major replacement work on that- but it doesn't matter to us. We grabbed horseshoes and pitched a game, which I'd rather do than lay beside a pool any day.)
Aaron and Kat, who manage the place, are sweethearts and are doing a commendable job! I found out that they have never run an inn before, Yet they dove in to this challenge early this year and are really getting the hang of this aspect of hospitality! Aaron is an EXCELLENT, professionally trained chef, and Kat has vast experience in waitstaff experience, management included bar tending and hostess-head of house responsibilities). They both have an infectious attitude of positive thinking and "can-do-it-tiveness" (I made that word up...) and are really a joy to interact with. (I assisted Kat in chasing a renegade squirrel out of the inn, twas kinda fun..) They are dealing with the problems of bears in the dumpsters (I think they may have licked that one, and pesky squirrels that find their way inside to the common areas-(not any rooms, mind you), but these things can't overshadow the history, ambiance and service that you experience here.
Just a couple of points to finish up=
-The lounge area is inviting due to the unique sunken bar and the bartender- we had Casey and she was engaging and fun. You have to try one of the house drinks-quite tasty.
-Breakfast should not be missed- Aaron prepares this, as well as dinner, and he truly is an expert in his field. Roger, the waiter, is entertaining and knowledgeable in what the area has to offer.
-If you are there when the night meal is closed, you could have the bar menu, but also consider listening to their suggestions of where to dine elsewhere, if you want to do that.- Excellent referral to other area dining.
All in all, a good trip- a trip to do all over again, thanks to Aaron, Kat and the staff for making it enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vintoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews