We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White House Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband & I both received amazing massages from the spa. Quiet, relaxing atmosphere & Laura is an excellent massage therapist! Several different types of massages are available. I've been getting monthly massages for more than 10 years & just loved the hot stone innovative treatment. We both would strongly recommend you give it a try! We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you so very much for your review of the Serenity Spa here at the White House Inn. I am a new manager here and so many guests have great things to say about the spa experience that Laura gives, I may have to try it myself sooner or later. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Held a family reunion at the property a year ago and had an outstanding experience working with the staff. We did an outside bbq for 35 and every detail was handled nicely. The food was excellent. The property itself is beautiful and comfortable and has a fabulous view. Massage and other spa services are available and the massage therapist is one of the best I've ever experienced.
There is lots to do in the area (antiquing, flea market, boating, swimming, kayaking, hiking, shopping, sking, camping) all four seasons.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The White House Inn was a great home base for us while we completed the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge in West Dover. The innkeepers were very friendly, helpful and responsive, and the inn was beautiful and clean. We were upgraded to a jacuzzi bath since we were doing a lot of hiking, and it was greatly appreciated! The food was fresh and delicious, and we really enjoyed the breakfasts and the Mexican dinner we had there. Some of the best pancakes I've ever had! If we return to Dover, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kovitvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My fiance and I spent the weekend here after purchasing a Groupon. We decided to upgrade our rooms by calling ahead and the manager was happy to change our room to a balcony for a nominal fee. It was well worth it. The inn keeper was busy when we arrived but friendly. I took the busyness as a good sign, but it would have been nice for the guests and for her (so she could have a break), to have extra help at the front desk area. Overall everything was clean save for a few cobwebs on the balcony but I chalk that up mostly to nature. We had a great time together and would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fan91685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We did not stay at the inn or eat at the restaurant, but we did see the Wilmington fireworks from the lawn. If you are in Wilmington on the 4th of July this is a perfect place for viewing the fireworks.The White House has ample parking and bar service. Baker's Field is fun, but this was so much better....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank TineMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My fiance (now wife) and I were looking for a weekend wedding venue with beautiful ceremony site, fine dining, and space for our reception. We found everything we were looking for at The White House Inn. An old sprawling house set in the hills of Vermont, The White House Inn has a great combo of charming appeal and plush accommodations.

The best part of having our wedding at The White House Inn was the innkeeper, Kathleen. No matter what we needed, I don't believe she ever said "no" to a single request. Although we can't say the entire weekend went perfectly, Kathleen took a huge amount of stress off of our shoulders by lending a hand whenever we needed it. In our initial visit to the Inn, we had made some suggestions for changes to the ceremony site. To our surprise, Kathleen took these requests very seriously and began renovating the space. An old outdoor pool that we weren't very fond of was filled and replaced with a brand new garden and a large fountain in the middle of the ceremony site was replaced with a small white bridge. Kathleen tended to our every whim, and it payed off on the day off the wedding.

The most talked about part of our wedding was definitely the food. Aaron, the all-star in-house chef roasted a pig for our rehearsal dinner! This wowed all of our guests. Appetizers served during cocktail hour were also a hit and were paired with a special spiked lemonade that fit our yellow themed event. Dinner featured a choice of steak, haddock, or mushroom ravioli. All of which received rave reviews.

As our event was in the late Spring (Vermont's slow season), we were able to get a great rate. The brunch we hosted the next morning was full of compliments from our guests, "Best wedding ever" and "Party of the year" to name a few. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we are now considering hosting a family reunion event here next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0TTiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We returned to the White House Inn in June. We were here 32 years ago for our honeymoon. I notice the reviews are all over the place on trip advisor. All are correct. The physical plant is dated and needs paint. The grounds need work and our room didn't have a phone or a TV. If you are looking for a sterile room with carpet please stay somewhere else. But if you want an inn with a secret stairwell and an indoor pool this may be the place for you. And, don't forget the food. The menu is limited but I would put any of the items up against any resturant in Atlanta and this place would win. The fisherman's stew is worth fighting over and my wife is having withdrawal from the lemon sorbet that is made on site. This was an exceptional weekend get away with excellent food, quaint ambience and warm welcoming hosts. We won't wait 32 years to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dogsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.9 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
423 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vermont House
Vermont House
#7 of 10 in Wilmington
6 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
124 reviews
5.2 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Inn

Address: 178 Route 9 E, Wilmington, VT 05363-9655
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £153 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a Victorian mansion offering you elegant yet relaxed surroundings in Southern Vermont located near the Mount Snow Resort. Set on the crest of a high, rolling hill, and surrounded by towering hardwoods and formal flower gardens, it is readily obvious why the Boston Herald and New York Times selected the White House Inn as "one of the ten most romantic places in the world." The White House Inn has established a superb reputation for providing gracious accommodation which is complimented by outstanding cuisine in the restaurant. Newly renovated in 2015, all rooms updated, brand new bathrooms, new wine cellar featuring a private dining room compliments the newly re-launched tavern/dining room menus. Rates start at $175. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing