We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience for our wedding weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White House Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful experience for our wedding weekend!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

my husband and I just hosted our small wedding at the inn this past weekend, and I cannot say enough positive things about our experience. Jill, the innkeeper, made it all possible. She is welcoming, resourceful, thoughtful, so sweet, and was willing to do whatever it took to make sure our wedding went well, and that our guests had a great stay. I can say the same for the entire staff at the inn. Chef Liz made truly delicious meals for us - from our wedding dinner, to brunch the next day, to packed lunches to bring out to the reservoir. The servers, bartenders, and even the maintenance guy all made us feel so welcome and took great care of us. The grounds are beautiful - some parts are aging but it is well maintained and I love the character. The weather cooperated so we were able to have our ceremony outside in the gardens. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The loft rooms aren't decorated quite as nicely as the other rooms. they are still comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisd0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    42
    15
    13
    9
See reviews for
28
107
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Jill Byarm the General Manager. She had delicious home made cookies for snacks as we checked in to get our key. She took us on a tour of the Inn. We had a massage scheduled for later that afternoon and Lynette was amazing. She set the tone for the start of our overnight stay in Room 6 with the Grand Balcony. The grounds are breathtaking with the beautiful landscaping and array of flowers. A full Breakfast the following morning (included in the price) was delicious. Everyone was extremely friendly and we felt right at home upon arrival. Jill was always making sure that we had everything we needed for our comfort. It was my 2nd time at the Inn and I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I recently came here on a deal w/ living social. I didn't know much about the area or the hotel when purchasing it, it was a great deal. We desperately needed some time away as a couple away from our young children. ;) we were pleasantly surprised. We were in the old part of the mansion in a very sunny room. There was a fireplace and TV. We did not have a spa tub in our room but the tub was large and old fashioned so relaxing was great w/out feeling cramped like tubs in most hotels today. The staff was great, friendly and courteous. The country breakfast included w/ our stay was fantastic. We will certainly be coming back again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a beautiful setting and the staff is wonderful. The building needs updating. It's showing it's age. The couches are saggy and the furniture is showing wear. Tvs in the rooms would be nice. The basement was chilly without the fireplace, so of course we used it. Basement needs to be cleaned too. Keurig coffee always available was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in the main part of the inn this time, rather than the downstairs, exterior rooms. The plumbing worked very well; lots of hot water for the spa tub. I was in the slightly newer section while my sister was in the original mansion. My sister's room had no television and a standard tub/shower combination, so if you have a tub and television preference, review the amenities carefully. The restaurant was not open on this Sunday evening as they'd hosted a Mother's Day brunch instead, so we were unable to sample the recent chef's menu. We were last here two years ago and it was really magnificent then. The breakfasts remain cooked-to-order and I'm willing to bet the orange juice was fresh-squeezed. I really like the Inn. The staff is very pleasant and the new manager is just as sweet as the one we met two years ago.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. The downstairs rooms with exterior entries would still be difficult to navig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We are still here at the inn. It is cold, however, Jill the manager, jan at the bar, Pam, the restaurant staff are keeping us warm, comfortable and extremely well fed. The serenity spa provides the best facial and massage ever. Our room, 111, is not cold. It is quite toasty with the fireplace. We are so relaxed that we are coming back in august. The inn is beautiful and we are looking forward to coming back in august and walking the grounds and enjoying the town

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sundancesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My fiance and I chose this location for a romantic getaway. The inn boasts on its website that it is great for romantic getaways. Upon arrival, we found it strange that the check in was on the opposite side of the inn from the parking area. There was no direction to the front desk, a closet, so we had to explore a little to find it. Check in was done with Pam. She was okay, but didnt seem overly enthusiastic about her job. We were guided to our room, 15. The room was extremely cold (in the 50's according to thermometer. It was clear that the baseboard heating did not work effectively, an electric heater provided slowly brought the room to a habitable temperature. The windows had plastic wrap on them due to the cold. The mattress was cheap and very hard to sleep on for two nights. We both tossed and turned all night. The bathroom, at first look, appeared to have been updated. The fan was extremely loud and could not be left on. The shower pressure was not very good. We had a jacuzzi tub that we did not use. The shower flooded the bathroom floor every morning we used it. The tile around the shower was pitched in a way that water followed the edge of the tub and went right onto the floor, making it a slip hazard. There were very few towels and toiletries in the room. The tissue box had two tissues left in it. We later heard from the maid that she knew about this, but only had one more box left that was crushed. We took the crushed box. The fireplace in the room was a nice feature, but they only gave us enough wood for a fire that lasted about an hour. Any additional wood had to be purchased from the hotel.
We took an intro to massage class from Laura. She was great and very knowledgable. Highly recommend her!
Dinner was excellent. The food was well cooked and seasoned. Good size portions as well. Dessert selection was a little lacking. Wait staff seemed overwelmed with every a small crowd. I would have preferred some louder music playing to drone out conversations being held at other tables.
Our first night of sleep was non-existent. Our romantic getaway spot was next to two rooms occupied by college age people. They were up until about 3am each night partying. Their conversations were easy to overhear due to the thin walls. Would have liked for staff to tell them to be quiet or leave, but I guess they didnt care enough to do that. In our room, we could feel the room shake when people ran up and down the exterior stairs adjacent to the room. It was very difficult to rest. Our second night was worse than the first.
The breakfast service was adequate in the morning. Good coffee and food. Eggs were not so great, but that was our only complaint. It was a sit down service so tip the waitress!
We paid for a dog sled tour at Husky Works, just north of Mt. Snow. Great couple running this tour. Highly highly recommended. It is a little pricey, but a once in a lifetime experience.
Overall, this inn is overpriced by about $100 per night. We enjoyed our weekend, but only despite the conditions of our room. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, go elsewhere! This hotel has too diverse of a crowd to ensure that you will only be surrounded by other couples trying to have a quiet romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaptorCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseInn178, Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a response to your stay here at the White House. We wished we knew how unhappy you were with your stay and the noise from the room next to you, we would have liked to have been able to address your complaints while you were here and at least been able to possibly make your stay more enjoyable. We do have signs for registration as you are driving in that bring you to the front door and to the office. Wood is always available if you need more than supplied a simple request and we would have brought some more to your room. We are very sorry that we did not accomplish a wonderful visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.6 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
5.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
6.0 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Inn

Property: The White House Inn
Address: 178 Route 9 E, Wilmington, VT 05363-9655
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a Victorian mansion offering you elegant yet relaxed surroundings in Southern Vermont located near the Mount Snow Resort. Set on the crest of a high, rolling hill, and surrounded by towering hardwoods and formal flower gardens, it is readily obvious why the Boston Herald and New York Times selected the White House Inn as "one of the ten most romantic places in the world." The White House Inn has established a superb reputation for providing gracious accommodation which is complimented by outstanding cuisine in the restaurant. Newly renovated in 2015, all rooms updated, brand new bathrooms, new wine cellar featuring a private dining room compliments the newly re-launched tavern/dining room menus. Rates start at $175. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing