We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White House Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I have to say that although the website would lead you believe otherwise, this was the worst guest house/hotel i have ever stayed in.

When we arrived, we werent greeted at all, we had to hunt around to find anybody that looked like they worked there, who luckily did. The scruffily dressed teenager handed us our room key and pointed in the direction we should go to try to find our room. Shocking!!

The room was tatty, with what i can only describe as cling film on the windows because they were so poorly maintained. The bed linen was stained, the bed valances had clearly not been changed for months, the bedroom furniture was damaged and stained and the room was cold. The bathroom had wall paper peeling at every single joint, the toilet cystern was broken in three places and the shower head was so blocked up that you had to dance around the dirt stained bath tub to try to catch water droplets.

We were extremely tired on our arrival, and when we engaged in conversation that evening with what turned out to be one of the owners, who i have to say i honestly thought was the local handyman because he was dressed so scruffily, we did not bring our concerns to his attention.

However, the following morning, we decided that the hotel was way off what we was looking for and was way, way over priced for what was offered we decided to approach the owner, who happened to be English incidentally, and offered our explanation as to why we were leaving and cancelling our weeks booking. I understand that this would be a financial blow, but.....well, whatever!....however, rather than being disapointed but understanding he was rude, abusive and commented that he couldnt see what the problems were all about and that he was...
..."sick and tired of jumped up Brits coming here, finding fault and leaving thinking that they can get away with not paying"

We did pay for our one night, as that was the only money he was going to be getting out of us, and we paid our HUGE bar bill.....prices i have never seen anywhere before!! However, he did threaten that he had my credit card details and would get the $800 he thought he was owed, therefore necessitating me cancelling my credit card.

In short, i would not stay at this hotel every again, nor would i suggest it to anyone else. The owners have bought a property, with fantastic potential, however, you need to address the maintenance issues and your attitudes! Oh, and by the way, a wash and shave and a clean set of clothes would be a damned good start!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    44
    16
    14
    9
See reviews for
29
112
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

As we arrived from our long drive from NYC, we saw the White house inn on the hill and was amazed by how lovely it looked. We checked in and was showed to our room (room 6) which at a quick glance was lovely!!! Until I notice our sheets were dirty and that the wall paper was peeling off the Walls in the bathroom.... And for a $200 room a night this was simply shocking.. The next morning we decided to check out and find another place to stay... Beware of the manager he will argue the pants off with you. I'm thinking constructive criticism does not bode well with him
!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Last year, when we were married at the White House Inn, we decided it needed to be our anniversary destination as well. So, one year later, that's what we did. The Innkeepers were great, recommended the suite room and it was perfect. Dinner was wonderful :) as well. OH, and the breakfast....excellent, thank you Stacey!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We recently visited The White House Inn, for a two night stay. The accommodations were delightful, with antiques and period details in every room. Our two-room suite was cozy with a wood burning fire place, huge balcony and very comfortable king four-poster bed.

The staff - wonderful; food - delicious; atmosphere - amazing. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMThain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I needed a setting that would be perfect for our engagement. I asked the owners to have the room prepared upon our arrival in order for me to propose the moment that we walked in. It all hinged on them .... and they came through!!! It was perfect!!! The room was beautiful. Fireplace in the room, plenty of wood to keep it going and the view from the room .... looking down into the town and seeing the mountains in the background. The breakfast was included and great!!! We had dinner there one night, the price seemed high at first but after we tasted our food we would have paid more!!! Location is great right outside of Wilmington, a very cute town. A must try!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teach751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking surrey
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The White House has a commanding location and some beautiful rooms for guest use we were given a different room from the one we booked - this was an 'upgrade' it had a lovely view ,nice decor and a comfortable bed. Stacey,the owner, was helpful and even did some washing for us.Our biggest disappointment came from the restaurant - the waitress was cool,haughty and unfriendly to the point of rudeness, if there had been an alternative we may have walked out, our food was good, portion on the small side and expensive considering the area and other local dining options, the dining room was also freezing - the only other occupied table had to eat with their coats on!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We arrived and received a very cold glance. Actually had to chase someone down to help us. Our room was paid in advance so we stayed, the place was not really like the pictures. There were spiders all over the dusty rooms, bathrooms were not clean. We felt watched for the two days we were there. Not friendly to children. Drinks were sky high and everytime we ordered the amount went up by .50 cents. At most you had to wait for the sometimes barhelp. When the staff was quietly requested to help us, eyes began to roll. The only thing decent about the stay was the food. SO, DON"T DO IT!!! It's too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joop48713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.9 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
395 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
351 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hermitage Inn
The Hermitage Inn
#6 of 12 in Dover
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Inn

Property: The White House Inn
Address: 178 Route 9 E, Wilmington, VT 05363-9655
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a Victorian mansion offering you elegant yet relaxed surroundings in Southern Vermont located near the Mount Snow Resort. Set on the crest of a high, rolling hill, and surrounded by towering hardwoods and formal flower gardens, it is readily obvious why the Boston Herald and New York Times selected the White House Inn as "one of the ten most romantic places in the world." The White House Inn has established a superb reputation for providing gracious accommodation which is complimented by outstanding cuisine in the restaurant. Newly renovated in 2015, all rooms updated, brand new bathrooms, new wine cellar featuring a private dining room compliments the newly re-launched tavern/dining room menus. Rates start at $175. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your The White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing