We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wilmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wilmington Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Milford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We just returned home from a long weekend at the Wilmington Inn and Tavern. Patrick, Danny and the Dogs were WONDERFUL Inn Keepers and hosts for our large Party of 20+. Everyone felt right at home and comfortable at the inn. Danny went above and beyond shoveling out a path on the hill for the kids to sled on, which my 5 year old is still talking about. Patrick served some of the best meals and catered every request we had. They bent over backwards to make sure nothing was left out to making the weekend the best it could be. My husband and I look forward to a weekend without the kids in the fall and returning for our annual family ski trip. Don't look anywhere else to stay in Wilmington!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    72
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
204
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the charming Wilmington Inn, which we chose for a last minute ski trip to Mount Snow. Patrick does a great job as the innkeeper, and you would hardly know that he's a new owner here. He helped us purchase lift tickets in advance of our stray, which we just needed to pick up at the mountain. The mountain is a less than 15 minute drive away but the inn is located in downtown Wilmington, so you can easily poke around in the village if you have free time.

Breakfast was delicious, as was the dinner we ate at the inn. Dinner selection was limited, but we would have been happy with any of the options and it was a great deal. When we checked out, we questioned the bill because we were sure that we had been undercharged! They also have a fully stocked bar, though beer and wine options could stand to be expanded.

The common areas are cozy and inviting with multiple fireplaces, but the decor in our room looked a bit in need of updating, and we had trouble with the heat in our room (even all the way up, it was still pretty chilly)...ultimately not a problem since we didn't spend any time there other than sleeping, and the comforter kept up cozy and warm. This is not the place if you're serious about making first tracks (we aren't) since breakfast isn't served until 8. If you aren't a dog lover, you may also want to avoid it as there are two resident pups. Both dogs are friendly though young kids might find the large malamute Rook a bit scary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our innkeepers were excellent! The Inn is so cozy & comfortable and our family loved the dogs:). The breakfast was amazing! The pancakes were the best ever! We had a wonderful ski weekend.

Thank you for a great weekend! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynbrook, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend of skiing...and had a great experience! Patrick was very welcoming (as were the dogs!), the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, and the downstairs was a great place to relax by the fire. Breakfast was amazing and was the perfect fuel for long days of skiing! I would definitely visit again, and would recommend the Wilmington to friends.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Snow , jacuzzi and homemade delicious breakfast.The room is comfy, snow fall on the outdoor jacuzzi made it perfect. There are adorable dogs on the property, one of them can dance, how cute.Cozy places to lounge and scrabble to borrow, we ran out and bought our own.
The town is adorable and in driving distance to other fun towns in VT and skiing.

My boyfriend is very allergic to dogs so it was a little difficult for him but we enjoyed our stay never the less and loved the outdoor jacuzzi, the owner, the town and the food!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swingdancers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place was awesome! The innkeepers were incredibly friendly. They offered to give my boyfriend and I a ride up to Mount Snow when the car wouldn't get up the mountain after a snow storm. They cook a mean breakfast. It's a full blown menu cooked to order and it's free of charge (but that doesn't mean you shouldn't tip!). The room itself was amazing, whirlpool bathtub, fireplace and tasteful decor. The inn was conveniently located in the middle of Wilmington which is a small town but you have access to restaurants, local shops and a liquor store. Overall a fantastic stay. The people who run it go above and beyond to make your stay amazing so be sure to treat them right!

Room Tip: No fitness center but they are only 8-9 miles to Mount Snow! No swimming pool but there is an outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvington, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the Wilmington Inn with our kids and had a wonderful experience. The innkeepers Patrick, Dan and Ashley, were friendly, attentive and accommodating. The breakfasts were excellent. They don't serve dinners, but they gave us recommendations for where to eat and we were delighted with them. Our room was clean, well maintained, comfortable and warm. The location was ideal to us because you have the convenience of being in town and while it's located on Main Street, the inn is set back far enough that you aren't right on the main road and we were able to walk to a great latte, to a couple of restaurants, and to visit the book and gift shops. Mount Snow is 10-15 minutes away and Stratton is about 25 mins.

Room Tip: Tell Patrick your needs - he was very responsive to ours when I called to make inquiries/reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Canning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
6.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
5.0 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn

Property: The Wilmington Inn
Address: 41 West Main Street, Route 9, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly The Wilmington Inn & Tavern)
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Wilmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing