We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B”
Review of The Wilmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wilmington Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Wilmington Inn and Tavern for a Mt. Snow Ski trip. First and foremost Patrick was an exceptional Innkeeper. He did everything he could to make our stay memorable. The quaint and comfortable Inn is quintessentially Vermont. It kind of looks like something out of a Norman Rockwell painting. It's nothing fancy, but it's what you would expect out of a B&B. Our room was cozy and comfortable, my wife and I slept well both nights. There's also some nice common areas with comfy furniture and fireplaces to relax by.

Breakfast was decadent. There are several options, but none better than the homemade banana bread french toast in my opinion; however, everything we ate came out delicious and fresh. Breakfast starts at 8, so if you're a turbo and need to be on the first chair, you might miss out. Since is was end of March, my wife and took our time enjoying breakfast and then made our way to the hill. It was a short ride (15 min at the most) to the slopes. Upon our return we walked into town where there were a couple of shops and restaurants. There was a small hot tub at the Inn, but after a filling meal and some beers my wife and I decided hit the sheets to do it all over again.

I will absolutely stay here again. It's walking distance to shops, a bar and restaurants. It has a bar in it, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. What really makes Wilmington nice is the Inn keepers. They take a lot of pride in their place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wellington room. It was great for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    86
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
242
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Wil,mington Inn and Tavern was our favorite palce for special occaions - relaxed atmosphere and delicious food - unfortunately, it is no longer open as a restaurant!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grammactp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA, connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were one of the elder couples in the 20+person/3 generation party. The facilities were pleasant and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and enjoyed by all. (I loved watching a 3 year old devour his carrot cake french toast). The dinner prepared for our party was great. There was a nice amount of community space to allow for adult conversations and children's games. While we have stayed at more elegantly appointed inns, we have never encountered more friendly, competent and accommodating innkeepers than Patrick and Danny. They worked tirelessly and enthusiastically to provide a great weekend for all. Special requests were enthusiastically fulfilled and they enjoyed seeing to the pleasure of their guests. This included shoveling out a sled run for the children....certainly above and beyond! We look forward to a return visit....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeklyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawling, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a long weekend at the Wilmington Inn and it was great. Our room was very nice and the breakfast that they serve is wonderful. Patrick the innkeeper there goes above and beyond what was expected. No is not in his vocabulary. We had a wonderful time and are planning a trip back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We just returned home from a long weekend at the Wilmington Inn and Tavern. Patrick, Danny and the Dogs were WONDERFUL Inn Keepers and hosts for our large Party of 20+. Everyone felt right at home and comfortable at the inn. Danny went above and beyond shoveling out a path on the hill for the kids to sled on, which my 5 year old is still talking about. Patrick served some of the best meals and catered every request we had. They bent over backwards to make sure nothing was left out to making the weekend the best it could be. My husband and I look forward to a weekend without the kids in the fall and returning for our annual family ski trip. Don't look anywhere else to stay in Wilmington!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the charming Wilmington Inn, which we chose for a last minute ski trip to Mount Snow. Patrick does a great job as the innkeeper, and you would hardly know that he's a new owner here. He helped us purchase lift tickets in advance of our stray, which we just needed to pick up at the mountain. The mountain is a less than 15 minute drive away but the inn is located in downtown Wilmington, so you can easily poke around in the village if you have free time.

Breakfast was delicious, as was the dinner we ate at the inn. Dinner selection was limited, but we would have been happy with any of the options and it was a great deal. When we checked out, we questioned the bill because we were sure that we had been undercharged! They also have a fully stocked bar, though beer and wine options could stand to be expanded.

The common areas are cozy and inviting with multiple fireplaces, but the decor in our room looked a bit in need of updating, and we had trouble with the heat in our room (even all the way up, it was still pretty chilly)...ultimately not a problem since we didn't spend any time there other than sleeping, and the comforter kept up cozy and warm. This is not the place if you're serious about making first tracks (we aren't) since breakfast isn't served until 8. If you aren't a dog lover, you may also want to avoid it as there are two resident pups. Both dogs are friendly though young kids might find the large malamute Rook a bit scary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our innkeepers were excellent! The Inn is so cozy & comfortable and our family loved the dogs:). The breakfast was amazing! The pancakes were the best ever! We had a wonderful ski weekend.

Thank you for a great weekend! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.3 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
40 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#3 of 10 in Wilmington
213 reviews
4.9 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vermont House
Vermont House
#7 of 10 in Wilmington
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn

Property: The Wilmington Inn
Address: 41 W Main St, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363-9686 (Formerly The Wilmington Inn & Tavern)
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Wilmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing