We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont at its best: Quaint and familiar”
Review of The Wilmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wilmington Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berlin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Vermont at its best: Quaint and familiar”
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We came across The Wilmington Inn & Tavern by a happy coincidence. We were warmly welcomed by Rachel. It's a pity that we couldn't stay for more than 1 night. The rooms are small and cozy showing a passion for detail. The beds are rustic - and a bit short, but still comfy! We had an excellent dinner and they are offering a great variety of wine. The breakfast was typically New English - personally served by Innkeeper John who took the time to answer every question we had. The Wilmington Inn and its keepers are truly reflecting Wilmington's beautiful countryside. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stenaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    84
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
59
227
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vendee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We had a warm welcome from Rachel on a wet October evening for an overnight stay. It was Tapas night, and we filled up on lots of tasty and interesting but inexpensive dishes. Breakfast was equally good, copious, freshly cooked and served by John who gave us lots of helpful tips. Our room was not as we would have liked however. We were in Chimney Hill, which overlooked the chimney and was above the kitchen, with no soundproofing. The clatter of tidying away after dinner was bad enough, but then the washing machine started and went on till 10.30 pm. It sounded like it was in the room with us and there was no chance of sleeping till it stopped. Also there was a large gap around the doorway which allowed the sound of other guests passing to be heard very clearly. The room was very small -no room for a wardrobe. The only hanging space was four hooks behind the door and there was little room for a suitcase. The shower room was tiny and quite dated. It was fine for one night, but very restricted for a longer stay. Having said that , the room was clean and freshly decorated and we did eventally get a good night's sleep, but it needs more than just a lick of paint to bring it up to standard. John and Rachel are great hosts and are working hard to improve things, but there is still some way to go.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shutterbugs, Owner at The Wilmington Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Unfortunately the Chimney Hill is our smallest room and is located above the laundry room (not kitchen). I cannot deny that the room is small and does not have a closet, but it also is priced accordingly. We have nine rooms that are each different and unique, some of them are very large, however, Chimney Hill is not. Yet in spite of its diminutive nature, we get many requests specifically for that room and often offer guests a room upgrade when we have availability.

With respect to your complaints about the noise; we are very sorry! I don't know why laundry was being run that late at night and "yes" the kitchen can be a bit noisy for about an hour after dinner service, being that Chimney abuts the fire escape stairwell as does the dish room downstairs. However, since we read this review we have implemented strict rules that prevent any use of the laundry room at night and have reconfigured the kitchen and our clean up policy to limit noise altogether and to ensure we are finished by 9:30pm.

Thank you for your comments! We really appreciate it and frank reviews such as this one only help us get better!!!

John and Rachel Pilcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We had two different rooms in the carriage house attached by covered walk to the main home. Each room had one bed and were ensuite and very clean. The beds were so comfortable. The food in the tavern was outstanding and the breakfast was prepared for us from a menu. Lovely place, charming town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BGtravels95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Stayed here when it was the Red Shutter Inn and loved it. Came back to find new owners and was impressed by the level of care John brings to the inn. Didn't have dinner here (it was a Sunday and the restaurant was closed) but the inn, coupled with such a lovely little town, was the perfect Vermont getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogabear1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariffville, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Lovely, quaint and homey bed and breakfast inn. Wonderful and friendly owners/staff and the food was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan on returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at the Wilmington Inn for one night on our trip through Vermont and enjoyed a quiet evening in the nice lobby and a drink from the bar before we had a good sleep in the wonderful bed. The next morning breakfast was excellent - guests may choose from an abundant menue of cooked meals, and nobody has to leave the breakfast table hungry.
The innkeepers, Rachel and John, are very friendly. This inn is a nice place for all seasons.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed for just one night in the Wilmington Inn on our way back from a trip through Canada but were welcomed so well we'd recommend it to anyone!
One of the very few B&B to not only have an excellent restaurant with a great chef but also a very cosy bar. John is up to talking about beer or his great wine selection for a good part of the night...
Really not to be missed. Fantastic place!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikf0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Viking Motel
Viking Motel
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn

Property: The Wilmington Inn
Address: 41 W Main St, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363-9686 (Formerly The Wilmington Inn & Tavern)
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your The Wilmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing