We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood Restaurant in Wilmington, VT!”
Review of The Anchor

The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Restaurant in Wilmington, VT!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Looking for a seafood restaurant in the Mount Snow area on a Friday, we came across The Anchor restaurant in Wilmington, VT, and were pleasantly surprised. Our server treated us like regulars even though it was our first time (which he knew). We had a table right by the fireplace! The clam chowder was excellent and highly recommended. The salads come with a selection (brought to the table) of three dressings - I tried the cranberry vinaigrette which was delicious. We had the fried scallops and the fish & chips, and there was so much, we couldn't finish it. We will definitely return to the Anchor again when we are back in the area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MC Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    125
    24
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Everything about this restaurant was great. We sat in a quaint little dining room with a fireplace. For appetizers we ordered from the raw bar and we were pleasantly surprised how fresh the seafood was. We ordered salad to start as well and liked how they brought over an array of tasty dressings for us to choose from. The entrees were excellent, and the carrot cake was to die for! All in all, best restaurant in the area, and the service was great. The staff was excellent at timing food which is very important because it can be aggravating when all of your food comes at one time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahutchings91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience In Every Way”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We ate at The Anchor tonight and I couldn't have been more pleased. The people were very friendly and our server, Larry, could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The food was very good. It was fresh and nicely prepared - not too much sauce or spices. The atmosphere was relaxed and casual, warm and inviting. And the prices were very reasonable. We did have to wait about 20+ minutes to be seated and the hostess was conspicuously absent during that time. But other than that, I would highly recommend The Anchor. Just call ahead to be placed on the waiting list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFGMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very unexpected good food!!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After a day of skiing we were looking for a place to eat on our way home. I asked our shuttle driver at Mt.Snow and she suggested the Anchor. She was spot on!!! The place was located next door to (Poncho's Wreck) since closed...in Wilmington, Vt. The road traffic was crazy busy and we worried that the wait would be to long (with kids) but to our surprise they had a table ready. Our waiter, Larry, was superb! So funny and engaging. Very talkative and attentive. We ordered a few appetizers, escargots- garlicy and great! Steamers - clean and sweet! Our dinners were just as tasty, I had the Seafood Casserole - shrimp, lobster, haddock and salmon, very good, my husband had the Seafood sampler - fried yumminess of scallops, clams and haddock, also great, my son had the RibEye steak which I have to say was the best plate of the table - the meat was cooked to perfection and the flavor was to die for! It melted in your mouth.
I can not wait to go back and try new items on the menu. It's definitely a stop to make!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent menu,many choices,have to go at least twice to sample your second choice.Seafood is fresh and steaks are awesome.Great happy hour menu for cheap money.Service is excellent!You will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor also viewed

 

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing