We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I wanted”
Review of The Nutmeg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nutmeg
Ranked #2 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was looking for a nice winter weekend away. And I found it with Nutmeg Inn. The selling point for me was a wood burning fireplace. My two friends and I stayed in room 11. It was a two bedroom suite with a bathroom and living room. The first night a staffer lit the fireplace, the second night I did it myself as the kindling and logs were already in place.
There was wonderful heat at the Inn. There was also a fireplace in the main living room/bar area.
My friends and I bought a bottle of wine at the bar and took it up to our room.
There was interesting art all through the house including the most interesting chinese children rockers in the dining room. There were also some nice views throught the windows of the snowy landscape..
The breakfast was very delicious, although it was a bit limited in choices. Frittatas, French toast and waffles, all with sausage or bacon, orange juice and coffee- delicious coffee I might add.
But of course we know that the staff makes the vacation and every one of the staff (and owner) were lovely.They also sell maple syrup in case you need a gift. I definitely would come back.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a suite, with two bedrooms-wonderful beds, a bathroom and a living room with a wood burni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and wish it could have been longer! We first got a tour of the 18th century house before being escorted to cozy Room 7, which is perfect for two people. Other rooms are bigger with beautiful fireplaces. The lounge is cozy with a toasty fireplace and wine is $2.99. Breakfast was delicious and is included. Don't bother with overpriced mountain lodging; the nutmeg is 10minutes from mount snow and one minute from Wilmington and well worth the short drive.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mizzemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Doug and Gio are incredibly warm, engaging inn owners. Their love of old houses coupled with years of experience in the business make this little inn a true success! The inn is conveniently located walking distance to Wilmington and all its shops and restaurants (just need to walk up on the lawns around the first blind curve). It's also a great home base if you're hitting Mt Snow during the day.

The inn itself is an interesting mix of Gio's very modern paintings, old Mexican ceramics and a frilly, country style décor. It seems to work though, and the building itself is beautifully restored with low beamed ceilings and a big fireplace. I was the only one staying at the inn, but I could imagine this common room would be a great place to mingle and hang out. My room was small but comfortable with a wood burning fireplace. The tv in the room was tiny but worked well. Breakfast was excellent, and Doug and Gio were wonderful company while I ate.

The only reason I'm giving 4 starts and not 5, is that the woman at the front desk made a big deal of my traveling as a single woman. Having recently gone through a break-up, her comments seemed very unprofessional. Other than that, my stay was wonderful and I hope to be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a total JEM, wonderful owners and stuff. We did not want to leave this place, was so cozy and beautiful. Thank you for delicious wine near fireplace. Breakfast was amazing. We will be back for sure and hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NastyaSashaIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We felt welcome from the moment we walked in the front door on Christmas evening. (The inn was already inviting from the outside, beautifully lit, with plenty of parking to the side of the inn.) The interior could not have been more charming. Wendy (at the front desk) was friendly without being intrusive, with helpful advice and a warm smile. We met Doug, one of the co-owners, when we came down for our morning coffee the next day, and he could not have been nicer. Breakfast was terrific all three mornings we were there. Definitely a place to come back to!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edmund C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I returned to the Nutmeg Inn following a two year hiatus and wondered why we don't book a couple of trips a year in advance. This has to be the most relaxing, comfortable location in northern New England. Doug & Geo are very accommodating, the inn is absolutely charming and welcoming, and there is nothing to do but enjoy your time. ........and breakfast is delicious. We recommend the Nutmeg Country Inn without reservation, but we'll be sure to make one to be certain we don't miss out. It is a truly enjoyable experience from beginning to end.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 913FredB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 3 nights in early January. Couldn't have had a better experience! The Inn is stunning, very clean (and we are picky!), a wonderful, welcoming staff that we loved and the breakfast is amazing! Our thought when leaving was "Too bad we didn't have a Nutmeg Inn where ever our travels brought us (staff included!) because we would always want to stay there!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.7 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
459 reviews
5 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
172 reviews
6.5 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#7 of 12 in Dover
272 reviews
7 mi away
Cooper Hill Inn
Cooper Hill Inn
#9 of 12 in Dover
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nutmeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nutmeg

Address: 153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £93 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nutmeg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1777 boutique-style southern Vermont inn - old world charm with all the mod cons. The Nutmeg, is in Wilmington VT, about 15 minutes from Mt Snow. Perfect for ski weekends, fall get aways, and summer breaks. Snowmobile and hiking trails directly from the property and just a minute's drive from Lake Harriman and all the waterspouts that lake has to offer. Plenty of parking for boat or snowmobile trailers. All rooms have private baths, free WiFi, TVs and A/C. Evening dining in the summer is fireside along the banks of the river. The inn has a wonderful food truck offering rotisserie chicken, ribs and beer and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Nutmeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing