We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nutmeg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Nutmeg
Ranked #1 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The staff at Nutmeg Inn are very friendly and helpful. They all have great personalities. The food is delicious and the rooms are decorated very nicely to make you feel at home. The Wilmington area has so many things to offer. We will definitely go back to Nutmeg!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    31
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
151
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here this last weekend and it was a well maintained, convienently located country B&B in Southern Vermont. It had a very New England feel to it with a red farm looking property with a classical interior layout located in a wooded area of a small town. It had good bedrooms with a large bed provided, very nice common areas, and an excellent breakfast provided by the hosts. The only bad thing that happened during my stay here was I was unintentionally locked out of the property when I had left to go to the local town but it was a 10 minute problem that was fixed. This place was also much more reasonably priced and safer than other B&B's I'd researched in nearby Bennington and Brattleboro which this is halfway inbetween. I'd definitely recommend this place to people looking to get a New England feel at a B&B, as a location for a wedding, or as a place to stay during the fall as you will get the whole Vermont feel here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our second time at the Nutmeg Country Inn. We could not wait to go back!! The staff was so friendly and helpful. They made us feel right at home and welcome. The breakfast was a wonderful, great start of the day!! The Inn was so accommodating to us. We needed to cancel our reservations in February because of a problem with our home. The staff was so understanding. They were willing to move our reservation to another time when we could get up to VT. We cannot wait to go up again!!! Try to see the other rooms when you go, they are all so beautiful and unique!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our first time to a b & b. From the photos on the website, I wasn't expecting much; however, when we walked into our suite (room 12), we knew we made a great choice!! Blew the photos away! Just like a stay at grandma's country house, except with a large two person hot tub! Spent some time cozied up to the wine bar next to fireplace too! Very close to town. Gracious, fun and knowledgeable staff made us feel like family! Delicious breakfast next to bay window looking out over snowy hiking trails. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are going back in a couple of months with friends and staying in room 11!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend and had a great experience. The inn itself is very nicely decorated and well kept. The staff is excellent. They were welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived, and helped us find dinner spots and activities during our stay.

The only reason I have not given the Inn an Excellent rating is the location. The Inn, along with the rest of the town of Wilmington, is set along a busy highway with non-stop traffic buzzing by, including large semis and work trucks. I was looking for something a little less hectic when I picked the spot. But, if you are okay with the traffic, or Wilmington/ Mt. Snow is your preferred destination, then you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

From beginning to end, we were treated with such hospitality from the most warm and friendly people. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was amazing. We have zero complaints and couldn't have imagined a better stay. The Nutmeg Inn is truly the perfect Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation. The staff, Deb, Wendy, Tiffany and Mark, and the owners, Doug and Geo, go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The inn occupies a farmhouse dating to the 1770s and is beautifully furnished and decorated. Each guestroom has its own charm, and the downstairs has cozy areas to unwind by a fireplace, socialize and enjoy a glass of wine. The inn is near the restaurants in downtown Wilmington, and Mount Snow is just up the road. Be sure to take advantage of the terrific breakfast.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are pet-friendly. If you are bringing a dog, call the staff for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
6.4 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.0 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nutmeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nutmeg

Property: The Nutmeg
Address: 153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nutmeg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential southern Vermont inn - old world charm with all the mod cons. The Nutmeg, cr 1777 is in Wilmington VT, about 15 minutes from Mt Snow. Perfect for ski weekends, fall get aways, and summer breaks. Snowmobile and hiking trails directly from the property and just a minute's drive from Lake Harriman. Plenty of parking for boat or snowmobile trailers. All rooms have private baths, free WiFi, TVs and A/C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Nutmeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing