We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Coming Home for Christmas”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shearer Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like Coming Home for Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Patti + Bill are an amazingly charming, welcoming and outgoing couple. The house is warm and inviting. The scenery is breathtaking. The breakfast is delicious. I dont think there is anything more you could ask for in a B+B. To top it off, its just about the most affordable lodging in VT.

I absolutely loved my stay at Shearer Hill and look forward to my next visit.

Oh, and the beds are soo comfortable!

xo

Caroline + Dan

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I really can't do more than reiterate what other reviewers have said. This is more than just a cozy B&B on a working farm in rural Vermont. It is also Patti and Bill's home, and you are received here with a warmth that really makes you feel at home straight away.
We stayed in a self-contained unit with a kitchenette just across the yard from the main house, which was very comfortable. However, with the tiny town of Wilmington just 15 minutes drive away, we had no need to prepare our own food, and tea and coffee was always available in the main house where the large living room provided comfortable chairs and sofas and a good wifi connection.
One of the charms of Shearer's Hill Farm is that although it is not far from Wilmington, it gives you the feeling of being right off the beaten track, and in the heart of the 'real Vermont'. For us Brits, it was a thrill to see a beaver checking his dam in the early evening and to know that at any moment a moose might jump out in front of our car. (To the people of Vermont these are probably both real irritations, but to us they were magic!). Also, don't do what I did, which was to buy some maple syrup by the roadside on our way down through Vermont. I should have waited and got it from Patti - stupidly I hadn't realised in advance that they make their own at Shearer's Hill.
The only disappointment was having to leave without being certain when we might return.

Room Tip: If you like a little independence, choose one of the rooms in the annexe across the yard - this migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix_redux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Thank you, Bill and Patti, for making our first night on our "color trip" so special. Coming from the west coast and not having been in the northeast since 1984, we were prepared to be surprised with accommodations. Well, we were surprised in a very positive way. What a wonderful start for a special trip it was. The upstairs room was perfect, the food was very good and so New England. More than all of that, you two made our brief stay so very memorable. You defiantly have the gift of hospitality. Our hope and prayer is that Sandy did no harm to your special farm. Please take good care of each other, as we plan to stay longer on our next visit... much sooner than last time.
PS Shirley sends her thank you also.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsont66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to Maine. Both Patti and Billy were very welcoming. The accommodations were adequate for the price and if guests were so inclined the unit we had was self efficient with a kitchenette--good for skiers who wanted to ski for several days. The breakfast room was fantastic with a lovely view of the farm even in the misty morning! Patti whipped up a delightful breakfast for us and several other guests.
The B and B is located down a county road (lane) and for some folk it would seem "remote"-get over it you are in Vermont--enjoy the experience! Especially with all the lovely fall colours.
Definitely give this B and B a try for a down home experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachglassgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Vermont is a very special place and Shearer Hill Farm is maybe the most special place in Vermont. Nothing pretentious here, just a working family farm tucked away on a Vermont backroad. But what makes this place so very special is the owner couple who make you feel right at home. Now, I know that statement is an old cliche, but in this case it really is true. Stay a couple of days and you will have a family for a lifetime. You can read great reviews here that give you all the details, but to get the true Vermont experience you'll just have to come here and see for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Have stayed with Patti and Bill several times. They are generous, caring and gracious. And Shearer Hill Farm B&B is a delightful place in the country, with that taste of reality, because it is a working farm. The rooms are lovely and warm in decor, and breakfast is a delight. This is the REAL country get-away, complete with comfy bed, cozy gathering area, culinary excellence, and live cows! (as another guest says, "a little heaven on earth"
We will be there next September.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-Jacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed at the Shearer Hill Farm for a weekend when my band was booked to play at the Honora Winery, which is only a couple minutes down the road. We loved the rustic setting of the farm and were blown away Bill and Patti's graciousness. They were honestly the best hosts I've ever met.

Our rooms were extremely comfortable and we always got a great night sleep, which was important because we had to be on top of our game for our performance at the wedding. Each morning was another wonderful breakfast ... our favorite was the french toast. So delicious!

If you are thinking of staying in this area, do yourself a favor and stay at the Shearer Hill Farm. It is absolutely gorgeous and allows you to get away from the hubbub of life and just enjoy the beauty of nature. You'll love meeting Bill and Patti and they'll treat you like family. I know many inn keepers are gregarious, but it's completely authentic with them. They'll treat you like family and you'll be sad to leave their little Brigadoon. It's heaven on earth!

Room Tip: Rooms in the carriage house are separate from the main house, which makes them more accessible. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
4.6 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
8.2 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
5.5 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearer Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearer Hill Farm B&B

Property: Shearer Hill Farm B&B
Address: 297 Shearer Hill Road, 5 miles Wilmington Ctr., Wilmington, VT 05358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shearer Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast is located in beautiful southern Vermont, just 5 miles from Wilmington Ctr., and just 17 minutes from Mount Snow Ski Resort. The B&B is a popular stay for spring and summer travelers who can enjoy the numerous events and activities throughout the area, from maple sugarhouse tours to music festivals and fall foliage chairlift rides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing