We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Top!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shearer Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Bill and Patti are among the best hosts I have ever encountered! They both went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and welcome. The accommodations were spacious and quiet. The setting was a perfect break from the noise and busyness of everyday life. Although they worked hard on the farm and in the kitchen, they always took time to stop and chat and to see if I needed anything. The breakfast was not only beautiful, but delicious, with plenty of maple syrup! I will definitely be back for another stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marline2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Shearer Hill Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent place to stay in Southern Vermont.
Highly recommend it. Rooms are very clean, beds are comfy, breakfast is delicious !!! Baked apples topped with ice cream :) is part of your breakfast.
Sip your tea in the front porch while enjoying the Vermont view.
Don't forget to get one of Patty's soy candles. My husband and daughter loves the pumpkin pie one.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bquillera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We are from the UK and stayed at Shearer Hill Farm for two nights in September 2013 as part of a three week tour of New England to celebrate our retirement. This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Bill and Patti are so welcoming and treat you as part of their family without being too intrusive. We had a large room which was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts are superb with home cooked, high quality food. Bill and Patti are very knowledgeable about the area and gave us lots of tips about how to make the best of our short stay and where to eat in the evening. Yes, this place is a little off the beaten track, but that is part of its charm. It is easy enough to find even in the dark. We would love to return and would definitely stay for longer next time!

Room Tip: We had a large room in the main house which had an extra bed and a foldaway bed so would be ideal fo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hi- We spent two nights at the Shearer Bed and Breakfast because we were attending a wedding at the Honora Winery. We were travelling with our 17 year old daughter. The location was idyllic. The inn keepers Bill and Patti were so warm and caring - they made us feel right at home. The room was spacious - King size bed and a day bed for my daughter. We actually weren't expecting a bathroom ensuite - but were presently surprised! The mild smell of maple syrup provided a preview for the fabulous breakfast-- baked apples, eggs in a nest, french toast! The other guests provided a nice conversation at breakfast - and Patti and Bill and Bill's niece provided advice for sight seeing that was incredibly helpful. This place is a gem - and we will be back when we can spend more time exploring the region.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klapane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at Shearer Hill Farm with my family for a couple of nights in August and had a terrific experience. The hosts - Bill and Patti - were super attentive and caring and made us delicious baked apples and a hearty breakfast each morning. Exactly what we needed to feel refreshed and energized.

In terms of the actual accommodations, our rooms were large, spacious, clean and comfortable. Could not have asked for more and look forward to our next Vermont getaway soon!

Room Tip: Note that there is no swimming pool or fitness center - so arrange to bring / rent a bike or go out...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed a single night at Shearer Hill farm after leaving Boston and heading through Vermont - and we really enjoyed out time there. It's in a somewhat secluded spot, so gives you a real feel of homely country living in the US (we are from the UK) - the hosts were very kind and friendly and the breakfast included they delicious home-made maple syrup (well worth a purchase). In all a hidden gem, which we would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nanfilod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A friend and I stayed at Shearer Hill Farm for a weekend in August and just had a wonderful experience. Patti and Bill are generous and gracious hosts, with years of experience and knowledge of the area. As other reviewers have said, you feel right at home in this casual and comfortable farmhouse. Wilmington is a cute little town and it's perfectly situated between Bennington and Brattleboro. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTCarolb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
4.7 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
40 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
409 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Cold Moon Farm Bed & Breakfast LLC
3.8 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
217 reviews
8.2 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearer Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearer Hill Farm B&B

Address: 297 Shearer Hill Road, 5 miles Wilmington Ctr., Wilmington, VT 05358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £66 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shearer Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast is located in beautiful southern Vermont, just 5 miles from Wilmington Ctr., and just 17 minutes from Mount Snow Ski Resort. The B&B is a popular stay for spring and summer travelers who can enjoy the numerous events and activities throughout the area, from maple sugarhouse tours to music festivals and fall foliage chairlift rides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing