We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Most!”
Review of Viking Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viking Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Whenever I travel, I always look for the best value I can find. Being born in the country, I don't expect the Ritz when I go to Vermont. After staying at the Viking various times over the years, it makes me wonder if some of the other reviewers here forgot where they were (or maybe have some ax to grind).
The Viking is charming Vermont accomodations, the hosts are extremely friendly, the rooms have always been clean and the beds fresh, and the location is within walking distance of everything Wilmington has to offer, a step out the door to statewide snowmobile trails, and only a short drive to ski areas, lakes, and hiking trails.
In summary, if you expect Vermont you'll get it. If you expect big city luxury, stay home!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncognito66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2008

The Ritz Carlton, it is not. Hell, the Holiday Inn, it is not. But! For a quick weekend away, the Viking is perfectly fine. My hubby and I were in charming WIlmington for a friend's wedding and lured by 75$ a night, we got exactly what we paid for. Sure, the mattress was covered in vinyl, but somehow that made me feel better - and the multiple layers of sheets were clean and bug-free and muted that tell-tale crinkly sound when we shifted in our sleep. The list of laminate rules on the bedstand said 'this place has seen its fair share of rowdy skiiers and partiers.' My favorite? "No cooking in room. This includes microwave and hot plate." Neither of which the room was equipped with so enough people brought their own that this rule needed to be explicitly stated. Finally, the garden and flower boxes are beautiful and a hot dog truck makes its home in the parking lot. You can walk to town and stumble home, and if you've tried hard enough, by the end of a wedding, the crinkly sheets won't seem like that big of a deal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

This motel seemed OK to me and we certainly didn't experience any of the problems harkwark did below. The rooms were clean and comfortable but nothing to write home about.

The only issue we did have was that when we arrived the owner had no record of our booking. This wasn't a problem as she had an empty room, but it would have been in a busier period so I'd suggest getting written confirmation if you book by phone as we did.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2006

March 2006, we stayed at The Viking Motel. Like, The Old Red Mill Inn down the road, this offers affordable accomodations. However, unlike the Old Red Mill Inn, The Viking lacks on cleanliness. The bathroom had cob-webs on the ceiling, dirt on the floor and mold growing everywhere! The bed had some long black strands of hair; I am a blond and my husband has short hair. This place has so much potential. It's a cute motel with a front courtyard and it was quiet while we were there for two nights. It's just a shame that it is so filthy. I was unable to see anyone in the office as we were leaving, (a day earlier, I should add) so I e-mailed them. I received no acknowledgement. It's too bad, really, because this can be easily corrected, if someone paid attention. I would say to anyone looking for affordable lodging to bypass The Viking and stay at The Old Red Mill Inn where the rooms are much smaller, but they are very very clean! I might add that the locals rolled their eyes and laughed when we told them where we were staying.

2  Thank harkwark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelers1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank rochen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.4 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
6.9 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
176 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#13 of 17 in Manchester
79 reviews
15.6 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 88 E Main St, PO Box 236, Wilmington, VT 05363-9645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £64 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is a family-run business conveniently located on VT. Route 9 in the picturesque town of Wilmington, Vermont. We are within easy walking distance to the historic village of Wilmington, where a variety of shops and restaurants can satisfy your interests, from crafts and ski equipment, to lobster or a great bowl of home-made chili. Walk around and get a taste of New England friendliness or ride the free shuttle bus (The MOOver), which runs between Wilmington, Dover and the Mt. Snow ski area. Our comfortable rooms include queen or double beds, full bath, color-cable TV, air-conditioning, direct dial phones, refrigerators, and wireless Internet access. Coffee machines with complimentary pkgs. of coffee and tea are in each room. Newly reconstructed rooms include brand new furnishings and flat screen TVs.Extend your stay in one of our two spacious two bedroom suites, each furnished with desk/dining area, refrigerator, stove top, microwave, full bath and TV. Coffee machines with complimentary packages of coffee and tea are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing