We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars for location”
Review of The Crafts Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crafts Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“4 stars for location”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was an "extra vacation" week with our timeshare exchange so we weren't expecting much which was good. The inn is so lovely from the outside but the rooms were very outdated and small. We had a one bedroom and the bed was only double. The bath was in the kitchen - weird. The office people were helpful and very nice. We discovered a front room which had coffee, rocking chairs, and magazines for guests. Our room overlooked an indoor pool which was closed so it was quiet but in different seasons it could have been noisy.The grounds were lovely and Wilmington is special and quaint. It was a good location to tour Brattleboro and Bennington and drive to many covered bridges. Keene, NH, was close enough to visit relatives twice. After initial disappointment in old furnishings etc, I have to admit the inn grew on me. The restauant Dots across the street was very good for breakfast and lunch. We had a delicious and not expensive lobster dinner at Anchor Restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haleabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    36
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were looking forward to our stay in Vermont at the Crafts Inn. The building is beautiful and old, in a central location to downtown Wilmington. A small, quaint little town that has overcome devastating flooding after Hurricane Irene.

Our one bedroom unit was outdated in decor, which we expected after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor however it was clean (the carpet could have used a deep cleaning though). The kitchen had plenty of dishes and more kitchen equipment than other time shares we have stayed at (but bring your own sponge). We are lucky we stayed there a week after the New England heat wave since there is no a/c. They provided two box fans which we used daily to cool the room down. Wi-fi worked well albeit a little slow at times.

The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of towels. No hand towels though, only washcloths and bath towels. No toiletries minus dispensers filled with a mystery soap.

Sadly, the noise from the unit above us really hampered our stay. It sounded like a troupe of gymnastics constantly performing and we could hear every footstep. I do understand that there's not too much the Inn could do about misbehaved children but we made it clear the noise was bothering us and the staff was indifferent to it.

If we stay there again I will insist on an upper floor unit.

Wilmington has some cute shops and a lake closely. I'd recommend visiting Bennington and Manchester if you're there and need day trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonMeg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Crafts Inn is a beautiful old building in the heart of Wilmington, VT. We traded in via RCI. We stayed with our 3 year old granddaughter in the two bedroom unit which was extremely clean and well-stocked with kitchenware for our stay.

The staff was friendly and we used the pool every day. They state that it's a heated pool. Well, I guess it's heated by Vermont standards, because it was freezing. Even the hot tub was the temperature of a bathtub.

There is only one extremely slow elevator and the carts for luggage are tiny, not even three feet long. If your room is at the other side of the building then you're in for a long haul.

The biggest caveat for people staying in the summer months is that there is no a/c except in the reception area and office. It was unseasonably warm and humid while we were there and there are two fans to circulate the air, especially in the two bedroom located on the second floor. This should be something management should explore since the fans were woefully inadequate. Sleeping was hard -- we tried to prop the fans in the windows but we still were sweating and sleepless all night.

The town is cute but stay away from the Shaw's -- it's expensive. There are Price Choppers in Bennington and Brattleboro.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We obtained our room here from RCI as a last call vacation. This was our first experience staying in a resort through RCI. I was both disappointed and impressed. I expected more modern amenities and decore. but that's not the purpose of resorts. They are where they are so you can do what is there.

We had a one queen bedroom suite with a full kitchen including an oven. There was a breakfast bar and dinette table. The fact that the bathroom was just off the kitchen put us off a bit. I'm staying in my second resort right now and it has the same arrangement.

The best part for us was the indoor swimming pool and hot tub. We went there every day and in all that time we only ran into two other families or persons.

The worst part for us was the bar across the river which had a party every night it seems until midnight or later.

Most of the time was spent exploring the Vermont countryside in which my wife fell in love. I kept telling her they have any 80 of snow in the winter and we are definitely not snow birds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mageith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 2 young sons. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room which was actually a suite. There was a good sized living room with a couch and easy chair as well as a table that sits 4 and 2 stools to eat at the counter to the kitchen. There was a dishwasher and all the plates/cups/silverware you could need. there was also a coffee maker, microwave, toaster, cutting board and pots and pans. I was able to save some money by going to the Shaw's up the street and getting some food and making a few meals for the family instead of going out to eat.

I found the bed to be comfortable and despite the decore of the couches and rug being a tad out dated was happy with the room. We also went to the pool and while it was kind of small was more than adequate. they also have a sauna and raquetball court though we did not use these.

Some issues with the place were that the aminities were not clearly communicated- we had to go searching to see if they had coffee (they do but we found it after we had already bought some for our room and it would have been nice to know that before). Also, as someone else had stted, across the river there is a bar which gets very noisy. Since I gre up in a city it did not really bother me and my kids can sleep through anything. However, light sleepers would have a hard time as I could hear whole drunken conversations even with my windows closed.

The thing i liked least was that they want you to take out your own trash to the dumpster and stip the beds. I kind of feel like that should be included in price of the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naha, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay through the Armed Forces vacation club, it was space A, so we were unable to choose our room. Research online revealed mixed reviews, and little information. We got a 2 bedroom unit that had a full kitchen. After reading the reviews we were worried that our room would be outdated as some had said. While the decor may have seemed outdated to some, we were very happy with it and thought it fit in with the style of the area. Our room, a corner unit, was spacious and very clean. We went the week before Christmas, and for the first few days were the ONLY occupants! We really loved the quiet "home-like" atmosphere, and we felt lucky to have the hot tub and pool to ourselves. The inn was about a 20 minute drive from Mount Snow (the purpose of our trip). We walked to a few of the local restaurants for dinner, and other times we utilized the grocery store down the street to buy groceries for a few "home" cooked meals!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fam4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I am an RCI member and love to ski Vermont, so have booked last-minute weeks at this hotel 3 times. The first time in 2006 or thereabouts, was an eye-opener. The hallway sagged and creaked. The rooms were furnished circa 1970, the bath was tiny and spaces were badly lit. There was no elevator and next to no parking. However, it was clean and cheap and close to Mount Snow. We came back in 2010 to find new furniture and a new carpet! Now, here I am again. There's a flatscreen TV and a beautiful new coverlet on the bed. There's a slow, but working, elevator. The space is small, but imaculet (sp?). The bathroom is freshly painted. Yes, the hallway still slants, but what do you want from an inn that is on the historic registry? This is a place that is improving, continually.

And what a fantastic location! You can go south from here to the Mass and Conn Berkshires, west to Bennington and NY, north to myriad ski resorts and Green Mountain sight-seeing. And the statue of Molly Stark out front really tells you about the backbone of the people running things here. They are here to stay and time is relevant.

Room Tip: Be sure to call ahead and ask for an even-numbered room. Otherwise your window will look out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#3 of 10 in Wilmington
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vermont House
Vermont House
#7 of 10 in Wilmington
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viking Motel
Viking Motel
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crafts Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crafts Inn

Property: The Crafts Inn
Address: 10 West Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Crafts Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing